arrived in Perth

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 19:56
ThreadID: 11492 Views:1687 Replies:14 FollowUps:16
Hi guys , Thanks for all the replies ill answer then as soon as i can. Ive just hooked up the computor and have about 285 e-mails to read. We love Perth and are still settling in with the move . We live on the north side in the Padbury area , the kids are at school. Anyway we would love to hook up with you guys asap, as we do not know anyone as yet.Thanks
regards uppy
...the school bus,still gets us there

Reply By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 20:42

Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 20:42
WELLCOME TO WA ! Let us know if your,e comeing out York way .
AnswerID: 51636

Follow Up By: uppy - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 13:59

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 13:59
Hi Errol thanks for the welcome.How far away is york .we could come up for a drive
regards uppy

FollowupID: 313498

Reply By: Member - Karl - Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 21:00

Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 21:00
Welcome to Perth. My family and I just moved here in Dec 03 and we love it. We live south of the river at Kardinya. Drop us a line sometime and perhaps we can show you around.

Karl.
AnswerID: 51640

Follow Up By: uppy - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 14:25

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 14:25
Hi Karl,thanks for the reply,We would like to very much to catch up and have you show us around.We have 3 small boys and 2 little dogs.We love the beaches here,and look forward to go camping around the area.Ive got a GQ Patrol (petrol).If you want we could go some where in the weekend and /or have a bbq at my place .If you are interested .I can be contacted on H 9402-0649 or 040-7275-220 any time .Looking forward to having a beer or 3 with you.
Regards uppy

FollowupID: 313502

Follow Up By: Member - Karl - Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 22:37

Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 22:37
Uppy,

I will call you tomorrow, Friday 26 Mar 04, for a chat. If I miss you drop us a line at karlandwendy@bigpond.com.

Catch you later.

Karl
FollowupID: 313804

Reply By: Bitsumishin - Mike A (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 21:09

Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 21:09
Just walking distance from our meeting rooms. Hope to see you soon
(Northside 4x4)
AnswerID: 51646

Follow Up By: Pluto - Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 22:14

Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 22:14
While Uppy's at the PC, he's already in our meeting room, at West Coast 4x4.

Welcome to the Sand Pit, Uppy. I'm sure you'll enjoy it.

Catch up with you soon.

Pluto
FollowupID: 313401

Follow Up By: uppy - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 14:30

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 14:30
Hi Mike A,thanks for the reply,ill like to contact you .My phone Nos are h9402-0649 m 0407275220 could go for a little drive and have a bbq at home
regaerds uppy

FollowupID: 313505

Follow Up By: uppy - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 15:10

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 15:10
Hi puto thanks for all your help ill ring you later on today Thinking of having a get together over the weekend ill ring you later on today.Any way my numbers are h9402-0649 w040-7275-220.Im looking having a beer or 8 with you
regaerds uppy

FollowupID: 313516

Reply By: Thommo - Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 23:44

Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 23:44
Uppy,
Welcome to Perth.
We arrived Sept 03, and have managed only to get to a few places.
Time is the issue, however the family and pets are settled in and the garden is nearly done. This Easter we are heading south to take a look at what’s on offer, as a bit of reconnaissance for latter trips. I get the feeling it’s very popular during the summer and Easter breaks, as are the close bush camping sites to Perth. However you have to put your foot in the water sometime.
One tip I offer, is get a good compressor if you haven’t got one, and get on the beach.

Enjoy WA,
Thommo
AnswerID: 51704

Follow Up By: uppy - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 14:39

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 14:39
Thanks Thommo.we are starting to settle into the new house .The kids are in school etc..,you know whats its like.Over the weekend we could look at having a get together bbq if you got the time.Ive got 3 boys 6 ,8 and 9.My phone numbers are h 9402-0649 m0407275-220 it would be great to have the families meet,and to have a beer or 4
regards uppy

FollowupID: 313507

Reply By: Member - Stephen (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 00:27

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 00:27
Hi Uppy,

Welcome to Perth. We moved from "over east" in Jan this year.

Make sure your compressor is A.OK 'cause you'll need it with all the beach/sand driving you'll be doing from now on.

We've settled north of the river in Ballajura (the river seems to be a bit of a benchmark here - from which everything is measured).

Maybe we can get a WA Forumites gathering happening here as well.

Stephen J.
VKS737 - Mobile 2735

AnswerID: 51711

Follow Up By: uppy - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 14:47

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 14:47
Hi Stephen J.Thanks for the welcome.You know whats it like to move .Im still unpacking boxes.I got a air compressor for Christmas,so ill be able to check it out .Any way we could have a get together maybe over the weekend for a bbq. My numbers are h 9402-0649 m 040-7275-220,looking forward from hearing from you and having a beer or 5
regards uppy

FollowupID: 313510

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen (WA) - Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 01:24

Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 01:24
Uppy,

Thanks for the invite, but I'll have to decline. I'm off this weekend to go and climb Peak Charles near Norseman and Mt Ragged near Cape Arid.

This has been my first opportunity to get out and about for some time.

Stephen J.
VKS737 - Mobile 2735

FollowupID: 313644

Reply By: Michelle from ExplorOz - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 01:26

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 01:26
Ah good to see another ExplorOz user in the north of WA. Maybe I'll spot you at the local shops (Whitfords) by your ExplorOz wheel cover!!
ExplorOz

Business Member
My Profile  My Blog

AnswerID: 51716

Follow Up By: uppy - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 14:56

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 14:56
Hi Michelle,thanks for the reply.i went to Whitfords on Tuesday and got lost.the mall is as big as the whole of Leeton nsw!!!!.Any way ill be able to be come a member in a few months (still paying for the move)We are thinking of having a get together over the week end .If you guys are interested give me a call.h94020649 m040-7275-220.looking forward having a beer or 6 with you
regards uppy

FollowupID: 313512

Follow Up By: Michelle from ExplorOz - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 15:02

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 15:02
I'll contact you off forum.
ExplorOz

Business Member
My Profile  My Blog

FollowupID: 313514

Reply By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 02:23

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 02:23
Here's back at ya Uppy. A warm welcome to Perth.

We live just south of you in Sorrento. Heading up to Monkey Mia with the kids and Mrs at Easter break.

You'll have heaps of fun exploring WA - plenty to see.

Alltracks 4WD club is another with a northern suburbs focus (but still with folks from all over).

Hugh
AnswerID: 51719

Follow Up By: uppy - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 15:03

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 15:03
Hi Hugh thanks for the reply. we are thinking of having a get together over the weekend,so if you are free give me a ring on 9402-0649 or m040-7275-220 .How old are your kids my are 3 boys 6,8 and 9,Any way mate i need to go and unpack some more boxes ,Looking forward to hearing from you and having a beer or 7
regards uppy

FollowupID: 313515

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 16:40

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 16:40
Welcome Uppy and co.!
We live in wanneroo which is not real far from Padbury! My brother lives in Padbury. If you are having a get together we would be happy to come!
All the best.
AnswerID: 51791

Follow Up By: uppy - Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 10:01

Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 10:01
Hi Jeff .Thats for the reply.We are thinking of having a beer on Saturday if you are interested, give me a call h 9402-0649 m040-7275-220,we can organize a trip soon some where.Also do they have a rugby club over your way
regards uppy

FollowupID: 313684

Reply By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 17:36

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 17:36
No worries Uppy . York is about 120 to 130 ks from Pabbury . Give eather Peter from york or me a call befor you come . Look forward to meating you and family .
AnswerID: 51804

Follow Up By: uppy - Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 10:11

Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 10:11
Hi Errol ,We will get up your way in a few weeks ,Where can we camp,we have 2 small dogs.What is there to do in York,I have 3 small boys and a wife ,who likes to drink wine.Also if poss,can you send me your phone number .My e-mail in terryupston@yahoo.com.au Thanks im looking forward to having a beer or 3 with you and Peter.
regards uppy

FollowupID: 313689

Reply By: Member - Melissa - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 17:52

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 17:52
Welcome to the Uppy family and all the other recent Sandgropers. I've been over here since Nov '96 and love it. Great place, great lifestyle and plenty of opportunities. Anyway, we're in Mandurah. If any of you are ever down this way I'd be happy to show you around and have a drink or two (or more LOL).

:o) Melissa
AnswerID: 51808

Follow Up By: uppy - Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 10:20

Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 10:20
Hi Melissa,thanks for the reply.Yes we would be interested in coming down your way .How far away are you,and what is there to do there? As ive mention weve 3 boys and 2 small dogs.We could look that way around Easter.Looking forward to meeting you and having a beer or 7
regards uppy

FollowupID: 313690

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 17:19

Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 17:19
Uppy,

Mandurah is about 70km's south of Perth CBD. It's one of WA's favourite holiday destinations although these days it has also become a satellite suburb with many, many people commuting into Perth for work (including my hubby and myself). Check out our family website to see just what a great place it is:
Where We Live
Re Easter we are still debating whether or not to go away. If not we'd be happy to catch up, otherwise we'll have to take a raincheck. Anyway, my email is flatdog@westnet.com.au

:o) Melissa
FollowupID: 313737

Reply By: PerthGQ - Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 15:32

Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 15:32
Hi Uppy. A very warm welcome to Perth for you and the tribe. I've lived here all my life and travel all over the world for work and I can assure you you're in the best place in the world. By the way we're just north of you in Kinross. Regards..K&J
AnswerID: 51920

Reply By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 23:46

Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 23:46
Hi Uppy,

Thanks for the reply. I'll give you a call later on. This w/e might work out but need to check with the boss.

We have 3 kids too - 10, 8 & 6. Two girls and a boy in that order. There's plenty of sport around for the kids. Auskick is pretty big for the boys but you may find Aussie Rules a hard pill to swallow being a Rugby man. North Beach is a league club, but I think there's a Union club around.

If you get caught short with the furniture lifting, etc give us a call on 92467024.

Hugh
AnswerID: 52004

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 19:16

Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 19:16
Can't make it this weekend mate, bummer! We have a 6 year old son and another one thats -6 months so far! ;-)
Gotta a bit of a car busy bee this weekend, doing some mods to the surf (yes more darling...) and fixing my bro's and mates cars and doing and oil/filter change and fixing my fan selecto, new battery isolator,turbo timer and and and and, then having a few beers (and possibly a few more).

any maybe just one more.

oh what the hell. I'll hafe anoter....

But in all seriousness (spelling??) we should catch up, should get some perthies together!!
AnswerID: 52104

Reply By: Rod W - Friday, Apr 02, 2004 at 12:38

Friday, Apr 02, 2004 at 12:38
Uppy, you must be well and truly bugger by now what with the move and then all the places to go and things to do.

Welcome to the West Coast.

When you get a minute to come up for air (no presure) checkout http://bushcamping.bigpondhosting.com/

See ya
Rod
AnswerID: 52929