GOOD NEWS

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 12:12
ThreadID: 11512 Views:2004 Replies:9 FollowUps:28
Having a feed of YABBIES from the Diamantina tonight! Zillions of 2-3inch fish on the old causeway. Went down yesterday with a landing net and just scopped them up. Going to secret fish hole today for their big brothers.

Reply By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 12:38

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 12:38
Hi Ruth, I wish I could share your enthusiasm for Yabbies, but a houseboat trip a number of years ago with Mr. & Mrs. Wombat sort of put me off....I may have to give them another go....enjoy your feast...and I hope you get their big brothers

Lyn
AnswerID: 51743

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 15:32

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 15:32
What!! Put you off the Wombats...or the Yabbies?????? :-)))
FollowupID: 313524

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 15:36

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 15:36
having yabbies with the Wombies...lol...
FollowupID: 313527

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 15:41

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 15:41
Yeah......I thought Wombats only ate roots, shoots and leaves...here we go again.......but yabbies! they must have been desperate..hahahahaha
FollowupID: 313529

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 15:44

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 15:44
it was a memorable holiday Willie :-)))
FollowupID: 313531

Follow Up By: Member - Des Lexik(SA) - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 15:50

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 15:50
Can we expand on why it was such a memorable holiday.
FollowupID: 313532

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 16:22

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 16:22
perhaps over a couple of drinks in a couple of weeks... :))
FollowupID: 313535

Follow Up By: Member - Eskimo - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 19:01

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 19:01
I like mine done with garlic Ruth.....keep em frozen for me till i get there
FollowupID: 313557

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 09:40

Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 09:40
Toonfish - you coming up too? Gawd it'll be busy - have to start collecting the firewood this weekend by the looks of it. You know don't you, that the Simpson Desert used to be the Simpson Forest until blokes started cutting down the trees for firewood for the camps.
FollowupID: 313676

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 09:41

Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 09:41
Sorry Toonfish - it was really Mr Eskimo that was aimed at. (Too much champagne last night)
FollowupID: 313677

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 09:44

Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 09:44
Ruth you can never have too many bubbles
FollowupID: 313681

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 17:18

Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 17:18
Correct me if I am wrong Aunty Ruth....but wasn't there a logging company by the name of DOYLE who cut down all the trees in the Simpson?????..................:-)
FollowupID: 313735

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 18:13

Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 18:13
Sorry Willem you are wrong - the Doyle Earthmoving Company only desecrated good fertile land by pulling large chains across acres of beautiful trees between two large D9s. I think the logging took place some years ago when you were scooting around the Desert in the 'zuki and had to make so many repairs to the 'zuki that it was a bit like that ABC program "Bush Mechanics" - gosh, that was the funniest program I've seen for ages. Hahaha. You want to behave - thre are so many visitors coming before you get here that they might drink your Liquer Muscat around the cmapfire one night after eating the yabbies.
Campfire Menu: Yabbies - in whatever for Entree, Road Kill Oxtail with fresh vegies in the camp over for Main Course, Ice Cream & Prickly Pear Sauce for Pud, then short black espressos with Liquer Muscat for afters (and choc mints). Whadda ya say to that then?
FollowupID: 313743

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 19:41

Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 19:41
Bugger....And I am stuck here till the end of next month. Might have to bring some supplies up to share.

Winter is coming up..the cat would make a good beanie......:-)
FollowupID: 313753

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 09:27

Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 09:27
Willem, I'm very disappointed - gave you heaps you could whinge about in that last post and all you are worried about is your Liquer Muscat - don't worry, I've hidden it (it's in the sideboard and I've hidden the key - somewhere). Dinner last night was Yabbies in Thai Green Curry, Lamb in Rogan Josh, Butter Chicken at Blue the Plumber's house to farewell Ronnie the Rat. Old fellow is crook as chook this a.m. (unable to drink tea even) Bruce might be right it may well be the cholesterol in the Yabbies but I secretly think it was the Shiraz and the beers!
FollowupID: 313829

Follow Up By: Member - Eskimo - Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 10:32

Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 10:32
Been there and suffered too after devouring too many wild yabbies and so from my experience it must be the cholesterol that makes one very crook......certainly not the nectar and the amber fluid

FollowupID: 313830

Reply By: Member - Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 13:46

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 13:46
I am gunna do a pinch test on you Ruth (and Ian) when I get there - better not eat all those yabbies. I am at my ideal weight - just about one foot too short! See you in about 10 days!
AnswerID: 51754

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 15:37

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 15:37
If you are going to be in Birdsville in 10 days time then I presume you will not be stopping for icecream and prickly pear juice?
FollowupID: 313528

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 20:35

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 20:35
I reckon that we will be passing your neck of the woods on Saturday week some time about mid afternoon - estimate 14:26:37
Might call in for a leak and a bit of a prickly pear and icecream - now remember there is five of us. Guess we dont have to worry about nuts on our icecream with Lachie being allergic!

And while we are there........ hahahaha ...... only joking.

FollowupID: 313579

Reply By: Member - Des Lexik(SA) - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 14:40

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 14:40
No Yabbies down here. Grumble Grumble Mumble Mumble Grumble GRRRRRRRRRRRRRR
AnswerID: 51763

Reply By: Member - Cocka - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 16:46

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 16:46
Ruth the only thing I wont eat from the water is Carp. So the Yabbies will be even a little bigger by the time I get there, Yeaaahhhhh. I'm bringing the baitcaster and lures and want to see the secret spot (promise I wont tell anyone)

How do you cook the yabbies ?? Do you use fresh fennel in the cooking water ?
AnswerID: 51793

Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 18:39

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 18:39
Hey Cocka, the yabbies just got here! Question - what's fresh fennell, come to think of it - what's fresh any vegetable!!! Hmmmm, like the sound of the fresh fennell in the water though. In 97 when we got sick of eating yabbies - we had them plain, battered, beer battered, garlic & rosemary, garlic (couldn't stand anyone in the park after that lot), plain, baked, fried, deep fried, sauteed even cooked eaten cold covered in flies (that was our honeymoon at Big Red with all the wedding guests - we'd drunk enough bubbly not to notice the flies). No carp here I'm pleased to report. Old fellow didn't get to the secret hole today - too many customers (yes!). (Got little ones for bail too, Cocka, yellow belly like them).
AnswerID: 51816

Follow Up By: Member - Toonfish - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 23:50

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 23:50
I wondered where al the yabbies got too!!!
none in my families dams or rivers here they must have commited a mass exodus to birdsville?

picled yabbies now they kep good and taste great (maybe even with PP juice too Willem.

lol
enjoy
FollowupID: 313634

Reply By: Member - Anne - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 19:08

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 19:08
Hi Ruth,

YUMMMMMM!!!! We love yabbies! Hope there are still some there in May! Looking forward to getting up there.
Anne
AnswerID: 51823

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 19:47

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 19:47
G'Day Ruth

Have tried yabbies from dams on heaps of occasions .. pretty bloody ordinary.

How do you get them to purge out all the muddy taste? I've tried putting them in salty water etc ... all to no avail.

Any secret women's business tips??

AnswerID: 51828

Follow Up By: Member - Des Lexik(SA) - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 23:08

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 23:08
Rosco, Yabbies come a close second to crayfish and are better than prawns. Your not cooking them right or else your taste buds are similar to your choice of vehicle. Pretty Crappy (Just Jokin) but yabbies do taste great. Just wish we could get a decent water flow down here and at least have a yabbie season.
PS You don't cook them in sea water but add the salt to the water, about a handfull per gallon and bring to the boil. Add the yabbies and when it is boiling again, cook for about another 7 minutes. You should have finished your third glass of chardoney by then. Tip the yabbies on a piece of wire mesh to cool down, grab anothe chardy and start scoffing. You have to eat them as quickly as possible or else your damn mates will beat you too them.
FollowupID: 313620

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 08:26

Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 08:26
Des, is it your name or did you get a bump on the head lately ??? ;-)

The dams I'm speaking of are a long way from the ocean, so we're not talking about sea water here. I'm very partial to those from running water but those from dams are very muddy.

What I'd like to know is if there's any way to purge the mud prior to cooking.

Much the same as Ugarie (Pippies) spit out the sand and crap when you put them in fresh water.
FollowupID: 313658

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 09:39

Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 09:39
Hey Rosco - up here our fish (particularly the yellow belly - everyone goes oh yuk freshwater fish tastes so muddy) and yabbies donot have a mud taste. Why, because you sillies, they are not growing in mud here but sand-filtered water. We do not have soil to cause mud, only sand, in our gardens, shoes, cars, hair, air conditioners pads, dog coats when they lie on the carpet etc. Me love Pippies, Rosco - whiting love pippies Rosco. Remember those days 'up the beach' when you didn't need to take bait, just stood in the water the wriggled your feet and you chose the right sized pippie for your hook then caught another whiting or bream?
Anyone noticied the other day if Des Lexik got a knock on the head?
FollowupID: 313675

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 13:25

Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 13:25
G'Day Ruth

Ugarie are still very plentiful at the mo .... zillions of the critters in fact.

We were over at Straddie in January and again the other weekend.
Almost like standing on ball bearings when the waves recede from your tootsies.

Good tucker tossed whole onto the barby ... garlic butter sounds like a top accompaniment too.
FollowupID: 313701

Follow Up By: bruce - Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 14:44

Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 14:44
To get rid of the muddy taste..drown them...yes drown them ..in fresh water for 2-3 hrs....and remember Ruth they are full of cholesterol...not real good for weight watchers or those who have or have had heart problems...but...I still just love em....gotta die of some thing..
FollowupID: 313713

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 15:30

Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 15:30
Hey Bruce, life's too short to worry about cholesterol, heart things, then there's gout, migranes - all because we like red wine, fortified wine, bubbly wine, white wine, yabbies, avocados, prawns, pippies, garlic (that's good for you), blue vein cheese, dips, beer, gin and tonic, scotch & dry, oxtail stew cooked in wine, fresh mushrooms in ground coriander with port sauce, compote of fruit (that's good for you) in mulled wine. It's tough up here in the bush - someone's got to do it.
FollowupID: 313720

Follow Up By: bruce - Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 16:00

Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 16:00
When you have had a bypass operation you do worry about cholesterol Ruth..because that is what causes those viens and arteries to block up in the first place....the beer , wine , mushrooms , etc and all that I do enjoy..but I also do enjoy it in moderation as I have to ...I really am just envious of you having a good feed of yabbies...down here in Vic there is not much water left in which we can catch them...you lucky people
FollowupID: 313726

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 17:56

Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 17:56
Just finished typing this reply to you Bruce and the bl...y cat who sleeps all day between the computer and the keyboard pushed the Esc button and lost the lot. He's now pushed the files off the desk and is trying his hardest to get rid of the keyboard - already broken one little foot off and have to use the highlighter under the left side of the keyboard, but he's taken a dislike to that and pushed it to the floor. That got rid of him, he didn't like the noise of the keyboard hitting the desk. Bl...y cat. He'd go well in the yabbie pot.
OK you are excused for getting up us Bruce seeing as you've had a bypass and do not want another one (two, three four of them). One good feed of anything like that is enough for me otherwise you get liver, gout, upsets arthritis, asthma, gall bladder, ulcers, especially if taken with copious wines etc.
Mail day today - very exciting going up to see if I received any more brochures from the new boat companies - got a Stacer one on Monday. I've already picked out an expensive one - not the most expensive but o.k.
FollowupID: 313742

Reply By: David O - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 20:09

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 20:09
Ruth,

Stop taunting and teasing us with these culinary delights :-)
It is still 18 days or so before we get there!

AnswerID: 51830

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 09:43

Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 09:43
What if Andrew & Jenelle eat them before you get here - they're here in 8 days.
Amazing how when I put a post on - I get the most dribbles?
FollowupID: 313679

Follow Up By: Member - Des Lexik(SA) - Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 11:00

Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 11:00
Aunty Ruth, that depends on How, Where, Why and When wer'e dribbling. You must have a certain reaction on us. Andrew will bring some yabbies back for us.
FollowupID: 313833

Reply By: bruce - Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 15:17

Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 15:17
No ..not getting up you Ruth..just a little envious about the yabbies...we leave early Sunday morning for a trip to the Murray river..just hope we can find a few there among the fish that also are hopefully there...cheers
AnswerID: 52058