new steed

Submitted: Monday, Mar 29, 2004 at 22:01
ThreadID: 11668 Views:1447 Replies:2 FollowUps:11
Willem this is for you, my neightbour has recently traded his 88 cruiser in at well known dealer in laura and today I was talking to him about it. Its in pretty good nick and not a lot needs doing to it, if you want to know more email me at cspest@capri.net.au

Cheers Steve

Reply By: Roachie - Monday, Mar 29, 2004 at 22:11

Monday, Mar 29, 2004 at 22:11
Hey Steve,
Careful putting your email address on the forum in the normal format....that seems to be how "web crawlers" pick them up from and start sending you spam.
Better to do it as "cspestATcapriDOTnetDOTau".......just something I've seen others do....
What's the idea of trying to saddle poor Willem with a bloody old bucket of bolts like an 88 cruiser, anyway. What's he ever done to upset you? I thought you said the other day that he sounded like a nice bloke???? LOLOLOL

Cheers mate....
AnswerID: 52505

Follow Up By: Pesty - Monday, Mar 29, 2004 at 22:20

Monday, Mar 29, 2004 at 22:20
Roachie you would be amazed what can be produced if you have a good foundation to work with, something you are yet to learn. hahaha

FollowupID: 314302

Follow Up By: rolande- Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 07:49

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 07:49
Of course once you fix the sagging suspension, fuel tank leaks, rusty doors etc, you might then have a vehicle to START working on, LOL. Still miss my G60 ute sometimes, most reliable vehicle I ever owned.
Rolande
FollowupID: 314333

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 18:38

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 18:38
G'day Steve,

I took that one for a test drive. It performed reasonably but peaked its revs very quickly. I guess I am used to a petrol with grunt. When I put it into 4x4 up a dirt track some 'orrible noises emanated from below. Sounded like a stuffed diff or transferbox output bearing. That truck has also done a lot of towing but otherwise it looked OK. The selling price is over the limit as well but one can always make an offer. I have bought a couple of vehicles from that dealer and told him about the noises.
AnswerID: 52583

Follow Up By: Pesty - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 23:21

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 23:21
Hi willem,
When I asked what needed doing to it he said the transfer brgs needed attention, but i wasnt sure if the dealer had done anything. The diff is new not long ago, the motor is original ks. I dont know what price they have on it i mentioned it to you because it was sort of what you are looking for. If you need to get exact info i can get the previous owners phone number. Always a shell shock when getting out of a petrol inte a basic deisel, I drive one of each.

Cheers Steve
FollowupID: 314448

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 23:29

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 23:29
Got a GQ TI in today willem for 12.5 K , when I saw the leather trip I thought you might give it a mis lol
FollowupID: 314450

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 23:38

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 23:38
I could be in to leather Eric :-) Will that spoil my image then?

Send me an email on the particulars unless it has found a home already.

FollowupID: 314452

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 23:41

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 23:41
Steve,

They wanted $10.9K for it....too much. About $8K retail I would say but Eric might think different.
FollowupID: 314453

Follow Up By: Pesty - Wednesday, Mar 31, 2004 at 00:03

Wednesday, Mar 31, 2004 at 00:03
Willem
Apparently ford dealer at Balaklava has a good gq in the yard, have not seen it might be worth a phone call.

Cheers Steve
FollowupID: 314454

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Mar 31, 2004 at 00:10

Wednesday, Mar 31, 2004 at 00:10
Thanks Steve...I will chase it up in the morning.

FollowupID: 314455

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Mar 31, 2004 at 18:28

Wednesday, Mar 31, 2004 at 18:28
G'day Steve,

I rang Balaclava Ford and no one was home except the mature aged switchboard chick(chook).....but she had the details

1989 Maverick Diesel LWB 170,000k's....$13,999 Of course one can always make an offer but I shudder at a Ford badge.

Hmmm.. ..Yes... OK... Well...I think not.

Thanks for the tip anyway. One has to chase all possibilities up.

FollowupID: 314520

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Mar 31, 2004 at 18:40

Wednesday, Mar 31, 2004 at 18:40
Willem , if you go and have a look at it , make sure the screw in the dash that cover the cluster havent been removed before and also check the condition of the steering wheel . If the steering wheel is very shiny or worn , it probably has done alot more than 170,000. @ 15 yrs , this works out at 11,300 kms a year lol . If the car is there for another 3 weeks give them a offer of 9.5 k
FollowupID: 314526

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Mar 31, 2004 at 18:52

Wednesday, Mar 31, 2004 at 18:52
Thanks Eric.....I can't get to Balaclava this week as it is about 200km from here and we are in the throes of an Art Exhibition and I am the chied dogsbody, but will give them another ring to get more details.

FollowupID: 314527