Nissan 3.0 Diesal

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 15:07
ThreadID: 11679 Views:1998 Replies:15 FollowUps:27
Hoping I can get some advice before purchasing a pre loved GUII.
When did NISSAN sort out the engine and gear box problems, ie from what month on wards are they OK ?

Reply By: Pesty - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 15:13

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 15:13
John@com
dont touch one of those with a barge pole get a 4.2 or something else plenty of threads on the forum with a continuing amount of problems.

Cheers Steve
AnswerID: 52560

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 15:24

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 15:24
I have found the series III Nissan GU 3.0TD a great replacement for my aging 1HZ 4.2 standard cruiser. But I would avoid the series II as its only the series III that has the upgraded engine. The series II gearbox 5th gear issue was fixed after a few months, but do not have the exact timeframe at hand. It affected all GU's, not just the 3.0TD.

While you will most likely not have a problem with a series II engine (only a very small percentage do) the series III has been upgraded and to my knowledge there has been no problems (heat/oil related failure of engine/pistons) reported to date.

The easiest way to tell at a glance the series of the 3.0TD is the rear tail lights. Series II are all red/orange while the series III have a large clear/white section.

AnswerID: 52561

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 15:44

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 15:44
Wasn't it during the GUII that the engine was upgraded? There is a thread either on here or on the Overlander forum with dates etc.

Leroy
FollowupID: 314374

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 16:27

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 16:27
I may be wrong, but was pretty certain that the series III coincided with the engine upgrade (not the sump increase, that was series II). The series II is the first of the 3.0TD, when they changed from the 2.8TD (series I).

The 3.0TD is certainly one engine that provokes extreme reactions. People either luve em or hate em, with very few in the middle ground. Just funny how virtually all owners luv em while its the non-owners who hate em.

FollowupID: 314377

Reply By: Roachie - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 16:01

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 16:01
John,
I'm a Nissan bloke thru & thru, but I gotta be honest and say that I wouldn't have a 3L jobbie if I could get it at half price!!!
Even an older GQ 4.2L Diesel would be a better option IMHO.
I'm very pleased with my 4.2GU and I'm stuffed if I can see how Nissan can justify the bigger price tag when (on paper) the 3L is supposed to be a better vehicle.
AnswerID: 52564

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 16:29

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 16:29
Hi Roachie

Bet you luved the response from 4WD Monthly about your over heating problem!! Especially combined with the great wrap they gave the 3.0TD. Enough to make one cancel their subscription ;-)

FollowupID: 314378

Follow Up By: Roachie - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 16:37

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 16:37
Captain,
You'll have to refresh my memory (old age has set in); I can't recall 4WD Monthly saying anything about my "over-warming issue" (hahaha). Was that in the new (May) issue? I only got it yesterday and haven't finished it yet.
They certainly gave the 3L jobbie a great wrap in the new May issue. It'd make you wonder why anybody would bother doing ANYTHING to their Patrol at all. No snorkel, bullbar; not even aftermarket tyres (although they did manage to shred one of these condom-thickness-like Bridgestones.
FollowupID: 314379

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 18:14

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 18:14
Man! thats a thick condom

FollowupID: 314392

Follow Up By: Member - Slim - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 20:44

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 20:44
Roachie,
It's obvious the tag cannot be justified but they want to steer buyers in the direction of the 3.00 l because they can produce them much cheaper. 4.2 buyers pay a premium. I'm with you, the 4.2 will keep me happy for a few more years. If magazines want to take test vehicles through extreme country dragging 3 tonne trailers that's fine also.
Mine pulls a camper trailer and the temperature needle has never been over about 40% !!!
FollowupID: 314413

Reply By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 17:09

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 17:09
Hay Roachie, watch what you say about the Bridgestones. Mine got 60000 & only 2 punctures & no chipping not like the new Coopers or BFG
AnswerID: 52568

Reply By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 17:13

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 17:13
John, we have a 2000 3.0ltd Auto & only problem has been a crook air flow meter replaced under warienty 60000 k's ago & no trouble since, now has 75000 & going strong . At least half that off road & 15000 towing the camper
AnswerID: 52570

Reply By: Stuart - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 17:29

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 17:29
There is no substitute for cubic inches get a 4.2! They are supposed to have better economy than the 4.2's, but l own a 4.2 deisel cruiser and a mate has a very unreliable 3L patrol(he regrets buying it) and on a trip we decided to see which used more fuel, over a distance of about 250k's the cruiser used exactly 4.7 litres less than the not so mighty patrol, and both cars have exact tyre brands and sizes, but it your choise
AnswerID: 52573

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 18:33

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 18:33
Hi Stuart

I had the 4.2 diesel and while it was a great beast, there is no comparison power wise. I even had a 2 1/2" system and extractors and while it went well for a non-turbo, was s- l- o- w. The 3.0TD GU has a heap more power (except just off idle). When towing my 1.6T van, the cruise control maintains 100 kmhr / 5th gear on small hills where the cruiser would need to drop to 4th and struggle at 80 km/hr.

As for consumption, nothing beats a comparison by the same driver - evens out the different driving styles. My GU now gets 11.9 l/100km vs 12.5 l/100km for the cruiser (speedo corrected by Garmin GPS V).

When towing, the difference is 15.7 for the GU and 17.5 for the cruiser - and thats with the extra power, far more relaxed towing having extra power on hand. I have recorded every drop of fuel I have ever purchased (I know - a bit pedantic, but us engineers love numbers) and my fuel figures are from a cruiser that has done 300,000 while the GU has now clocked over 11,500kms.

As for "no substitute for cubic inches", please check out how an F1 racing car of 1.5 litres with turbo has some 1,000HP while only 750 HP for the 3.0 litre non-turbo engine. Might be a nice catch phrase, but not really true these days with technology.

And that is perhaps the fundermental difference of the 3.0TD. It is a high tech engine that produces far more power per litre than most diesels. Yes, its had a few teething problems but thats the price of progress.

Remember the first cruiser 1HZ turbo, dropped big ends all the time and was finally repalced in 1994 with the 4 valve per cylinder turbo. Took Toyota some time to "admit" to the problem and then fix it. Nissan is in a similair boat now.

Like most new models, there are always teething problems that should have been ironed out before release, but cheaper for the manufacturer to use the buying public as their R & D and cop a few warranty claims. Hence my comment that the series III is a more sorted engine.

I will get off my soap box now.

FollowupID: 314394

Follow Up By: Member - Kim (mr) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 19:55

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 19:55
Well said Captain, that was good to read. Now I must say I'm the mate that Stuart refers to above and for one there is no regrets in buying it, and as for the very unreliable bit, the few times it has had a problem it was my own fault (driving through very deep mud holes etc.). Now for the fuel bit what Stuart fails to mention is that over the 250 kms that we did I had a roofrack up on top and my tyres were at 35 psi while Stuart had his at 45 psi. But the choice is yours...
FollowupID: 314406

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 20:25

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 20:25
Gees Mr Kim, with mates like that, who needs enemies!!! Just another cruiser driver trying to justify his over-inflated choice.

Hey, I reckon cruisers are great, just that Nissans offer better value for dollar. I don't need to knock other vehicles to justify why I prefer my Nissan.

Funny how, once again, all the 3.0TD owners luv their vehicles and only non-owners bag them. Got my head bitten off last time when i reckoned non 3.0TD owners were just jealous, but hey, if the shoe fits....

FollowupID: 314410

Follow Up By: Mick - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 20:58

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 20:58
It's not the price of progress Captain, it's the result of poor R&D. Landrover and Nissan are renowned for high fault rates because of using their customers to test their products!
FollowupID: 314415

Follow Up By: Mick - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 20:59

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 20:59
It's not the price of progress Captain, it's the result of poor R&D. Landrover and Nissan are renowned for high fault rates because of using their customers to test their products!
FollowupID: 314416

Follow Up By: Member - Slim - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 21:05

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 21:05
Captain,

your argument has a few gaping holes in it!! Firstly F1 engines have not been turbo 1.5s for many years and whilst those years had them producing arguably 750 bhp, the normally aspirated engines of today are once again a maximum 3.0 litre displacement and are actually producing better power than the old 1.5 + hairdryer (claims of 1000 hp). The other issue which I believe you are conveniently overlooking is the fact that these engines only have to last about 2 hours. I doubt many 4wd enthusiasts are prepared to suffer that type of longevity for the horsepower bonus.
FollowupID: 314417

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 21:53

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 21:53
Hi Slim,

F1 went to 3.0 non-turbo in 1989 season, but I think you missed the point. It was about technology and that cubic inches is (not) the only way to get extra power. Even though the 3.0 are now developing more power, thats still twice the capacity of the turbo, hence my statement.

The engine life is also another case of you missing the point. Both the 1.5 turbo and the 3.0 non-turbo last about the same time - 2 hours. But don't worry slim, I accept your apology ;-)

The bit that gets up my nose is that non-owners bag the 3.0TD yet have never owned one. I don't mind cruiser/nissan/ford/whatever owners passionately supporting their vehicle, I rekon thats great.

But please, do it by promoting whats good about your vehicle, not by putting down the other vehicle, especially with factual incorrect statements (not refering to your comments here Slim). I luv my Nissan and I also luved my 80 series 1HZ. Both are great vehicles.

The 4.2TD cruiser motor is now also a great reliable motor. But tell that to owners of 1990-94 1HZ turbos who had to replace the big ends at their own cost (toyota did not always come to the party here - just like others including nissan). But Toyota learnt their lesson, same as Nissan has done. Have you heard of a single holed piston/blown motor on a series III GU 3.0TD ?

Anyway, gotta stop letting non-3.0TD owners getting under my skin. Remember, I was a cruiser owner for many years (and a diahatsu and a - god forbid - a NIVA!!!) so I cannot be all bad hey!!!

Here's to ALL4WD owners, regardless of make...Cheers

FollowupID: 314422

Follow Up By: Stuart - Wednesday, Mar 31, 2004 at 17:22

Wednesday, Mar 31, 2004 at 17:22
Kim, you sound like a very sore loser!!!!!!! and l quote you as saying "if l had my time again, I'd buy a 4.2" and l believe that was 40 pounds of pressure in my tyres (not that it would make much difference!) Captain, l will agree that the 3L has more driving power, l drove it to Queensland and it went like a dream, but for how long? but they do have more power and a much higher fuel bill..........ha ha ha, go the cruiser!
FollowupID: 314509

Follow Up By: Stuart - Wednesday, Mar 31, 2004 at 17:28

Wednesday, Mar 31, 2004 at 17:28
Did l mention that the cruiser is 9 years older than the patrol, no l don't think l did, well it is, the cruiser has stood the test of time and we didn't have to leave it out in the bush until we got more help to recover it, but that is another story! ha ha ha
FollowupID: 314510

Did l mention that the cruiser is 9 years older than the patrol, no l don't think l did, well it is, the cruiser has stood the test of time and we didn't have to leave it out in the bush until we got more help to recover it, but that is another story! ha ha ha
FollowupID: 314511

FollowupID: 314512

Reply By: Billy - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 17:57

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 17:57
Can't let the Captain fight this out on his own!!!

I'm not going to slag the 4.2 or the 'yota 100 'cos I've never owned one. But I can tell you the GUIII 3.0Di is a damn fine vehicle, particularly as a tourer in Auto, which I have. It's cheap and easy to modify etc etc. The GUIII had other upgrades besides the engine, like better dust sealing for instance. Go a GUIII if it fits the budget. You really have to live with one for a bit to appreciate how good this engine/gearbox combo is, particularly towing.

Regds

AnswerID: 52578

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 18:17

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 18:17
Ask Nissan for their history on the vehicle, then you will be able to tell whats been done/not been done to it. The 3.0l came out with series 1 GU's and the series II had a lot less problems than the series 1

AnswerID: 52581

Reply By: joshinthecity - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 18:46

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 18:46
There should be a rule that only people who actually OWN one of the vehicles in question should be able to reply.
So sick of the ignorance.

For what it's worth. again.
2003 GU III 3.0 5-speed.

Just clicked over 40,000klm. Plenty of serious off-road ( Wattagans on Saterday, and not just the fire-trails ! )
Still absolutely perfect in every way.
Never had a warranty claim on anything. I go to Robinson Nissan for my servicing and would recommend them to anyone. ( ask for Adrian )

For $47,600 they would have to be just about the best value car / truck / whatever on the market in Australia today.

Josh.

AnswerID: 52585

Follow Up By: Davoe - Wednesday, Mar 31, 2004 at 09:48

Wednesday, Mar 31, 2004 at 09:48
40,000 is nothing I clocked up 50,ooo in my 1978 nissan camper with a stuffed motor and it was still going just as well when I sold it. Same for my camry except that was 170,000 Sorry but I get annoyed when people make claims such as yours. If a vehicle with 40,000 had problems that would be worth mentioniing post us back when you are getting closer to 200,000
FollowupID: 314465

Follow Up By: joshinthecity - Wednesday, Mar 31, 2004 at 12:58

Wednesday, Mar 31, 2004 at 12:58
I'll be more than happy to do that for you Davoe.

However,at the moment I can only post truthfully about experiences I have had so far in my own vehicle. I know a guy with a 2001 model with lots and lots of K's on it, but true to my own form, will NOT be posting heresay.
FollowupID: 314489

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 20:17

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 20:17
I WANT ONE OH SO MUCH....

Would that Como be in the Shire in Sydney??

If so, I hear they rebuilt the Como Hilton down on the cricket ovals since it burnt down, any chance of some photos, spent years down there playin cricket, 18 years actually!
AnswerID: 52593

Follow Up By: vuduguru - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 21:59

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 21:59
Truckster,

Didnt go to Jannali boys High, did you?

Shane
FollowupID: 314424

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 22:09

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 22:09
na, De La, and Port Hackin High

Played for De La, St Pats, Gymea Bay, Cronulla RSL, Cronulla Seagulls, Port Hacking, Caringbah Hotel (that was an interesting time!) and Sylvania Heights Youth..
FollowupID: 314431

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Wednesday, Mar 31, 2004 at 06:34

Wednesday, Mar 31, 2004 at 06:34
I am a Jannali boys high boy left in 1975 .
lived in oyster bay for 22 years.

FollowupID: 314457

Follow Up By: joshinthecity - Wednesday, Mar 31, 2004 at 13:00

Wednesday, Mar 31, 2004 at 13:00
Jeeeze.
More locals.
I went to Endeavour, and lived accross the river from you in Oatley.

Small world..

J.

FollowupID: 314491

Reply By: Member - Andrew(WA) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 22:10

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 22:10
Have a look at thread 10292
AnswerID: 52598

Reply By: Moneypit - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 23:53

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 23:53
John,

Don't quite fit the bill but close. I have a Series 3 GU 3.0TD, auto.

Got it in November and travelled 12, 500 K's.

Car is fitted with a roof rack, steel bull bar, a couple of minor home made drawers in the back [about 50KGs], carry 2 adults and 2 adult sized kids for most of the time.

Of that 12 500 Kms about 6-7 K has been long distance [NW of WA to Perth]

Fitted with cruise control and sit on 100 or 105 all day towing a Bushranger camper loaded with gear for 4 [ and two of them is girls what don't understand load restrictions]

I am averaging 14 litres per 100 K's. That includes one trip of 650 K's going relatively quick into a cyclonic headwind trying to beat Cyclone Monty home from a holiday spot. Made it with about 3 hours to spare before a main bridge got torn apart on the highway which would have meant 3 or 4 days stranded and then an additional 1000K's on the trip. Averaged 22.5 litres per 100 for that trip.

Only problem to date was an airconditioner that cut in and out when it felt like it. Got it fixed about 3000Km ago [just a required update to the pressure setting for a switch, something to do with the radiator and heat up here in the north]. Took about 15 minutes to correct and seems to have worked.

Lot like Captain I graduated from a 4.2 but mine was 100 series. Gutless by comparison to what the Nissan does although I would agree that the build quality of a Toyota seems "tougher". Just a feeling I guess but for what I use the car for [medium type offroading, nothing extreme and highway driving over long distances] I am more than happy with it.

A mate of mine has the Series 2 manual. he is a reporter and travels everywhere at Mach One. Did the gearbox [fixed by Nissan out of warranty] and I reckon the clutch is almost buggered as well. He's done 120, 000 K's in 2 years and intends to update it in the near future to another 3.0 TD but I reckon his missus will get her way and it will be an auto.

Listen to the owners, not the doomsday grim reapers. As has already been demonstrated in this thread [and I don't say it was deliberate or untruthful] what some people percieve to be a huge issue is actually a serious misrepresentation of the reality. The involved owner has already identified that the perception was incorrectly interpreted by his friend. Or maybe he just heard his mate going off on a bad day.

We all have them.

AnswerID: 52603

Reply By: sensei - Wednesday, Mar 31, 2004 at 00:37

Wednesday, Mar 31, 2004 at 00:37
Correct me if Im wrong Please, thought I would throw in some info.
The problem in the gearboxs started when they released the 3.0 ltr motor right through too 1 November 2001, this includes the 4.2 ltr in that time frame.

Is this correct?

That would be series II and some series III, i have a october 2001 Patrol 4.2 TD and I know Im in that time frame. Will just wait and see what happens, check the gearbox every 10K since new but have only done 30k in it so far....early days yet. I keep waiting for the oil colour to show signs.
Me..well Im sorry but I wasnt going to be the lab rat while Nissan test out new models, yes its a good thing as change canbe and they are on the right track. Give them time and Im sure the 3.0ltr will be a good thing.

AnswerID: 52604

Reply By: ThePublican - Wednesday, Mar 31, 2004 at 16:57

Wednesday, Mar 31, 2004 at 16:57
Just to throw the proverbial cat amongst the pidgons,, go the ford explorer,now 180,000 and never a spanner needed in anger.
AnswerID: 52670

Follow Up By: David N. - Wednesday, Mar 31, 2004 at 22:05

Wednesday, Mar 31, 2004 at 22:05
Just to throw the proverbial cat amongst the pidgEons,....
'90 Patrol TD 42, owned since new, lots of k's (well, not for fourteen years old I guess) lots of HEAVY towing, lots of 4WDing, only problem EVER is the bloody clock- resets itself to 12:00 whenever it feels like it.
Never went back to the dealer, never claimed anything on warranty...zero, zilch zip.
Have lots of friends with Cruisers, and Patrols (both 3.0's and 4.2's) and none have had major problems...except "self inflicted" eg:drowned!
My next vehicle..... will definitely be a 3.0 Patrol. Cost, fuel economy etc... it's no contest.
Cheers all.
PS, spoke to a bloke the other day with 300,000k on a two year old 3.0- (don't know how he clocked up so many klms) -zero problems! He's about to trade it on a new one.
FollowupID: 314554

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 22:49

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 22:49
"PS, spoke to a bloke the other day with 300,000k on a two year old 3.0- (don't know how he clocked up so many klms) -zero problems! He's about to trade it on a new one."

yea..
FollowupID: 314677

Follow Up By: David N. - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 19:18

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 19:18
"yea..." Truckster.
For a commercially used vehicle that is not impossible, as it's about 400k's a day. My cousin in Perth does very nearly that many on his courier van, 120-130,000 a year and that's with only one driver....
Get two drivers involved for a commercially used vehicle (which the Patrol was) and 150,000 a year is nothing!
FollowupID: 315273

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Apr 12, 2004 at 21:12

Monday, Apr 12, 2004 at 21:12
Yea... Its bullbleep.

I drove trailers for 8 years and yes 1000klms a day is nowhere near impossible.

But I think that we both know that nowhere in your post you mentioned a courier, or commercial use.. You yourself disbelieve it in your comment " ...don't know how he clocked up so many klms"

I'll just stick with .. Yea.
FollowupID: 315618

Reply By: angler - Sunday, Apr 04, 2004 at 21:15

Sunday, Apr 04, 2004 at 21:15
I am currently in the market for a replacement truck and was considering a 3.0 patrol however the stories in lots of places must have some grain of truth in them. They can't all be porkies. Is there a listing of whats been done to what in the engine. The thing has been used in europe in the renaults for some time with apparently few failures. If nissan has listed anything then where is it. I have been told by some owners of engine failures that have been fixed by nissan free of charge however all were under warranty, and the owners therefore were extremely happy with nissan. I have also been told by some owners that the 3.0 is the best thing to ever hit the 4WD market. Personaly I am a little bit scared to spend that much money on a possible lemon. I realise the failure rate is small but its still a failure rate.
The 100 series cruiser now has an extremely good record with few failures, My last cruiser had 385,000 on the clock, a gutless wonder, the old 2H engine was slow but it proved to be fairly unbreakable. I have had two disco's since then with zero faults, thats probably a record in itself. The lousy towbar downward weight has me worried and that has prompted the change to a vehicle that has supposedly better weight capabilities. (Toyota and nissan change them to suit/match the other ones specs). I wish LR would do the same but they have idiots for engineers in both england and australia.
Meanwhile I am still in somewhat of a quandry as to what to spend my dwindling dollars on to continue my travelling bug. I should have stayed with my smaller van.
AnswerID: 53184