Egr blanking plate 4.2 non turbo cruiser ,

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 15, 2015 at 12:19
ThreadID: 117074 Views:11480 Replies:5 FollowUps:13
Want to no if it will be usefull

Reply By: garrycol - Sunday, Mar 15, 2015 at 13:12

Sunday, Mar 15, 2015 at 13:12
I cannot speak to a Toyota engine but generally speaking blanking any EGR will be beneficial for the engine as it will stop exhaust gas soot and oily carbon deposits clogging the inlet system etc.

Egrs relate to improving emissions on trailing throttle rather than improving engine efficiencies. May be technically an illegal mod as it changes the engines emissions but is definitely worthwhile. My own Rover TDV6 is blanked and the engine has never looked back - no gunk in the inlet system and the MAP sensor no longer gets blocked.

Note that blanking a serviceable EGR makes no improvement to engine performance but does stop oily deposits in the inlet manifold.

Garry

AnswerID: 550004

Follow Up By: Member - Cuppa - Sunday, Mar 15, 2015 at 17:12

Sunday, Mar 15, 2015 at 17:12
“May be technically illegal”

No maybe about it, it is definitely illegal & something to fail a roadworthy on. If a car is fitted with the anti polution gear from new you are not allowed to remove it or disable it........ possibly unless the vehicle is for use off road only I believe.

If so why it’s ok to pollute our planet when not travelling on a gazetted road I don’t know.

My car is of course for off road use only, is a turbo diesel & recently had it’s EGR valve blocked & I’m a hypocrite.

Unlike others here, I have found, that it further enhanced the improvements in smoothness & drivability that were gained by fitting a 3” exhaust a few weeks before the egr block. Makes sense because the cylinders are now filled with a higher proportion of combustible air (oxygen), rather than semi combustible exhaust gases.

See 'My Profile' (below) for link to our Aussie travel blog, now in it's 6th year.

FollowupID: 835414

Reply By: hiluxcab - Sunday, Mar 15, 2015 at 13:35

Sunday, Mar 15, 2015 at 13:35
you can also put a catch can on. it will catch the oil fumes before they go back to the engine and leave the erg alone
AnswerID: 550005

Reply By: gbc - Sunday, Mar 15, 2015 at 14:06

Sunday, Mar 15, 2015 at 14:06
Haha. The only thing a blanking plate or catch can are good for on a 1hz is for cooking with when you get to camp.
There is nowhere on your car these things will go mate. Egr valves are anti pollution gear on turbo engines, and catch cans are in the same system.
AnswerID: 550008

Follow Up By: jamesw - Sunday, Mar 15, 2015 at 14:21

Sunday, Mar 15, 2015 at 14:21
Totally useful information. Not!
FollowupID: 835405

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Sunday, Mar 15, 2015 at 15:41

Sunday, Mar 15, 2015 at 15:41
So gbc your telling everyone on here that you cannot fit a catch can to a 1 hz motor ? Yet others have fitted them.....

How does that work?
FollowupID: 835410

Follow Up By: gbc - Monday, Mar 16, 2015 at 06:33

Monday, Mar 16, 2015 at 06:33
My apologies. So toyota put an egr system in for the last 4 years of a 17 year production run? No surprises there I suppose. Last 1hz I had was 1995. This one is evidently post 2003.
FollowupID: 835449

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Monday, Mar 16, 2015 at 08:08

Monday, Mar 16, 2015 at 08:08
GBC..You can bet it was a result of the greenie laws. I have it in my Pajero and immediately bought an electronic device to negate its operation. The amount of trouble and expense involved in maintain this ridiculous piece of gadgetry is insane.
Catch can works well on any vehicle with breather to air intake.
FollowupID: 835452

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Monday, Mar 16, 2015 at 21:23

Monday, Mar 16, 2015 at 21:23
As I understand it, the primary role of a catch can is to keep the oil and crud out of your intercooler, thereby keeping it clean and maintaining its efficiency.
May be wrong, but can't really see a use for it on a non intercooled engine.
FollowupID: 835513

Reply By: jamesw - Sunday, Mar 15, 2015 at 14:20

Sunday, Mar 15, 2015 at 14:20
A 1HZ does not have an EGR system fitted, forget it. A catch can can be fitted in between to rocker cover breather and the airfilter, and it's not too hard to fit. Heaps of info on Landcruiser Club Online A Provent 200 is the preferred catch can.

James
AnswerID: 550009

Follow Up By: wholehog - Sunday, Mar 15, 2015 at 21:27

Sunday, Mar 15, 2015 at 21:27
It did from 09/2002,jamesw...the update model. Changed pump, inlet manifold, more fuel consumption..and an EGR system.

Use of an oil catch can is more beneficial in a positive atmosphere crankcase, a turbo engine, particularly a post manufacture turbo-ed 1HZ. Its gunna die an early death anyway..but limiting the rebreathing of crankcase mist helps a little bit.
FollowupID: 835436

Follow Up By: jamesw - Monday, Mar 16, 2015 at 07:41

Monday, Mar 16, 2015 at 07:41
I was unaware that a EGR system was fitted to newer 1HZ engines, so thanks for the info. As they are not a power house anyway, it could only be detrimental to the small amount of performance they have. I have a factory turbo 1HDT with a hi flow turbo fitted plus a Provent 200. It works very well and I would consider it a must on newer turbo engines to cut down on the build up. Another product to consider is Cost Effective Maintainance I use it and can verify it really works.

James
FollowupID: 835451

Reply By: Jonesy1 - Sunday, Mar 15, 2015 at 15:09

Sunday, Mar 15, 2015 at 15:09
Thanks guys ,been busy pulling the EGR apart and putting a blanking plate in today
The engine is HZJ 2005 cruiser and the oily soot was unbelievable 10mm thick
Can only be a good thing I reckon
AnswerID: 550011

Follow Up By: garrycol - Sunday, Mar 15, 2015 at 16:11

Sunday, Mar 15, 2015 at 16:11
You can see what I was talking about with the development of goo in the system - doesn't actually hurt the engine itself but has got to upset breathing and any sensors in the inlet system.

So a lot of supposed experts on the forum say you do not have egrs on your engine but here you are playing around with them on your engine.

If your EGRs have been playing up and not opening and closing when they should - eg open when power is required - you might even find a bit of extra zoom zoom but if they were working fine then there will not be any difference.

Garry
FollowupID: 835412

Follow Up By: Jonesy1 - Sunday, Mar 15, 2015 at 16:28

Sunday, Mar 15, 2015 at 16:28
All good mate ,been doing a lot of research ,and I hope I get rid of a few issues etc blacksmoke under load,flat spots,done the injectors a few months ago,might go for a exhaust next well see how this goes.
Thanks again Garry ,
FollowupID: 835413

Follow Up By: wholehog - Sunday, Mar 15, 2015 at 21:33

Sunday, Mar 15, 2015 at 21:33
Jonesy1, sounds like yours is a post 09/2002 1HZ.

Good luck eliminating the black soot under load. The only way you will do that is to flip the anti tamper cap and wind back the fuel pump fuel stop...and in the process restrict your very mediocre performance as well.

They are a dog in the 105 or 79/78 Landcruiser, and Toyota should have been taken out the back and shot like a mangy dog for having introduced the update 1HZ, and not just fitted the 1HDFTE to all models.

Your wasting your time mate, just eliminate the EGR, and enjoy your miniature performance post 09/2002 1HZ, excessive fuel consumption and sooted back doors.
FollowupID: 835437

Follow Up By: Jonesy1 - Sunday, Mar 15, 2015 at 22:08

Sunday, Mar 15, 2015 at 22:08
Don't mince ya words ol wholehog sounds like you've had a bad experience ,thanks for the positive comments ,,,,,mine is a 2005 ,not sure if that means much to you though,
FollowupID: 835444

Follow Up By: get outmore - Sunday, Mar 15, 2015 at 22:47

Sunday, Mar 15, 2015 at 22:47
Wholehogs right. I drove more than enough of those late model 79s on the highway. They went faster in 4th than 5th. Many couldnt top 120kph.
at the time the v8 was introduced the 1hz was the slowest mass produced vehicle on sale in Australia
FollowupID: 835447