Finding cost of Toyota parts online

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 17, 2015 at 19:57
ThreadID: 117105 Views:2614 Replies:4 FollowUps:8
Hello all ,
wonder if anyone else has trouble finding the price of Toyota parts online ??
It was only an oil filter that i was looking for a price for . For my HJ61 with 12HT motor , Autoban quoted me $31.99 for a Z161X Ryco . Went online to Toyota sites but no luck , plenty on ebay where you can buy 10 for quite a reasonable price but i didnt want that as i wanted it yesterday and not waiting up to 30 days !!

Reply By: Fab72 - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2015 at 20:43

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2015 at 20:43
G'day Brian.
In my experience and with a garage full of different makes/models, genuine part prices are never listed by the dealerships/spare parts departments.

I own a Mitsubishi Pajero io (very SWB 1.8L 4 cylinder petrol Australian delievered but not many around). Part prices are a rip off to say the least and 9 times out of ten, I'm waiting for them to come from overseas anyway.

I was put on to this site (link below) who ship fast and reliably to Australia. You can chose where you want your part dispatched from and the savings are massive.

On a low cost item like a gearbox gasket, Mitsi dealer wants $6.80. Same genuine part through this mob is $2.28. Larger items like front struts were something like $400 local vs. $180 delivered to my door (going from memory).

Covers most imported vehicles.
http://www.amayama.com/

Fab.
AnswerID: 551136

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2015 at 20:54

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2015 at 20:54
Brian,

I've bought a lot of Toyota parts over the years, and I'd be surprised if they post their prices anywhere, except on your invoice. There used to prices on ToyoDIY, but don't know how relevant they were for Australia?

Reckon by the time you source a Toyota filter, the Autobarn one will be competitive. The only filters for Toyota ie: Hilux, that are cheap are a Z9, same as Falcons, and cheap as.

I got Sakura oil and fuel filters from an online supplier, quick turn around, for my 79 series ute. Good buying for the future servicing.

AnswerID: 551137

Follow Up By: john m85 - Wednesday, Mar 18, 2015 at 08:31

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2015 at 08:31
i brought a pack of 10 sakura oil filters for my 84 cruiser cost me $110 i thought that was cheap
FollowupID: 836592

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Mar 18, 2015 at 11:18

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2015 at 11:18
Check out this mob, Brian. Seem to have competitive pricing, and the turn around was very quick, maybe a little slower for where you are.

Auto Parts

FollowupID: 836601

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Mar 18, 2015 at 22:51

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2015 at 22:51
Meant to say that there's nothing wrong with Sakura filters either.

In my past life, I was using them on Hino gensets. New oil 'n filter every 250 hours, and easily got 40K hours out of each genset, before requiring a rebuild, or replacement.

FollowupID: 836646

Reply By: aboutfivebucks (Pilbara) - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2015 at 22:51

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2015 at 22:51
Ring them. They will give you the price over the phone.
AnswerID: 551142

Follow Up By: Member - Brian - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2015 at 23:09

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2015 at 23:09
Should be about $5 then ! Seriously thanks and yes it looks like a phone call is the go
FollowupID: 836581

Follow Up By: Member - Brian - Wednesday, Mar 18, 2015 at 08:44

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2015 at 08:44
Actually where i am living atm the phone reception is poor but internet is good thats why i was trying to find out online !
FollowupID: 836593

Follow Up By: Member - Trouper (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2015 at 11:54

Thursday, Mar 19, 2015 at 11:54
Bob Y.... Thanks for that Link to Auto Parts. Recently purchased a primary fuel filter for the Troopy HZJ 78 series cost with a mates discount was $17. (Super bleep Auto $24) Auto Parts quoted $8.50ea if 4 were purchased which included postage Brissy to South coast NSW. Bought them straight away in case they made a mistake Ha Ha
What a bargain, have included the site in my favourites list.

Thanks again Bob
FollowupID: 836663

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Mar 19, 2015 at 14:36

Thursday, Mar 19, 2015 at 14:36
No worries, Trouper.

Here's another one, if you have a sedan in the family?

Carsrus

FollowupID: 836664

Reply By: Crusier 91 - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2015 at 22:51

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2015 at 22:51
Brian,
I purchase genuine Toyota parts only. Before you buy a Ryco oil filter have a look at the holes at the top of the filter then have a look at a genuine Toyota filter. Toyota filter allows better oil flow.
I have experienced this with my Cruiser though its petrol, can see why it would be any different for diesel.
You will be surprised that Toyota's prices can be cheaper than fleebay, eg: headlight and bonnet protectors.
AnswerID: 551143

Follow Up By: Member - Brian - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2015 at 23:12

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2015 at 23:12
Thanks to everyone who replied , youre a half decent lot !!
FollowupID: 836582