Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 15, 2015 at 04:51
ThreadID: 117489 Views:3225 Replies:4 FollowUps:10
G'day,

Just come from Corner Country, FYI diesel prices were:
Tibooburra $1.46/lt
Cameron Corner $2.20
Innamincka $1.80
Birdsville - after a few detours (digtree etc) I didn't feel I had enough fuel to make it so went East to Windorah $1.56
Tony
"For the Rover's life has pleasures, that the townsfolk will never know" - sort of from Banjo Paterson

Reply By: OBJ - Wednesday, Apr 15, 2015 at 08:58

Wednesday, Apr 15, 2015 at 08:58
... and no doubt the people in the General Store were as happy and as friendly as ever ... I've never met more miserable people in my life, and myself and others have vowed to keep our purchases to an absolute minimum in future visits.
You reap what you sow :)
OBJ
AnswerID: 552473

Follow Up By: Member - Sanantone - Wednesday, Apr 15, 2015 at 12:48

Wednesday, Apr 15, 2015 at 12:48
Yes, I agree, we brought one drink at the bar, threw a $5 note into the ceiling, then stayed at our van and drank our own booze and cooked our own meal, I usually like to spend with the locals but some there made it very hard.
Tony
"For the Rover's life has pleasures, that the townsfolk will never know" - sort of from Banjo Paterson

FollowupID: 838063

Reply By: wombat100 - Wednesday, Apr 15, 2015 at 09:04

Wednesday, Apr 15, 2015 at 09:04
I hope you visited Milparinka !!!

AnswerID: 552474

Follow Up By: grant t1 - Wednesday, Apr 15, 2015 at 10:12

Wednesday, Apr 15, 2015 at 10:12
those prices are cheap,try travelling along the melb-adelaide road and see what you have to pay.
FollowupID: 838049

Follow Up By: Australian Landscape Jewellery - Wednesday, Apr 15, 2015 at 11:37

Wednesday, Apr 15, 2015 at 11:37
grant t1
I am not sure where you fill Grant but I find some of the lowest fuel prices in Oz are along the Melbourne/Adelaide road. We always time our run so we fill up in Tintinara a bit west of Bordertown. There has been a seriously cheap price war on fuel operating in that area for some time. I recently filed up at the Liberty there for $1.23 a litre, diesel. They are generally around 10c a litre better than Adelaide/Melbourne prices.
FollowupID: 838057

Follow Up By: Member - Sanantone - Wednesday, Apr 15, 2015 at 12:52

Wednesday, Apr 15, 2015 at 12:52
Yes, we climbed the hill to Sturts Cairn, a good climb on a hot day??
Tony

FollowupID: 838064

Follow Up By: Member - Sanantone - Wednesday, Apr 15, 2015 at 12:58

Wednesday, Apr 15, 2015 at 12:58
As for fuel prices, I would have paid whatever price, to get me to Birdsville, but there are just no servo's in between. Gives me an excuse to go there again:)
Tony

FollowupID: 838065

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 15, 2015 at 20:31

Wednesday, Apr 15, 2015 at 20:31
I dont want to start a war of words here but whilst it's great to know what fuel prices are in the outback, you obviously have to pay the stated price on the bowser anyway. If budgeting is that tight and fuel prices are important to meet a set budget then one small breakdown or unforeseen situation will bring you undone. Having said that, any saving is a good saving, so if you have a few price options and its convenient, the lower price is always the best. regards, Michael

AnswerID: 552504

Follow Up By: wooody - Wednesday, Apr 15, 2015 at 22:13

Wednesday, Apr 15, 2015 at 22:13
And your point is ????
FollowupID: 838099

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Apr 16, 2015 at 07:35

Thursday, Apr 16, 2015 at 07:35
Hi Paul

Not quite so. It can pay to look around and there are many cases where the main servo in a town that may look the biggest and best can at times be a lot dearer, by knowing that they will attract the business.

A very good example of this is in Coober Pedy. That main servo coming into town attracts lots of business, yet drive into the Main Street and you can find some sellers more than 10 cents a litre cheaper.

FollowupID: 838109

Follow Up By: Member - Sanantone - Thursday, Apr 16, 2015 at 21:25

Thursday, Apr 16, 2015 at 21:25
I'm not sure what you are on about either, it is not only about budgeting but fuel management as well.
E.g. If you wanted to go to Birdsville from say the Broken Hill end, you may have reasonably planned to purchase your fuel at Cameron Corner, but I would think this type of info would make you think to have enough fuel to get to and purchase at Innamincka instead. It's not rocket science to know that 100lts of diesel, with a $0.40/lt saving would be $40. Certainly worth thinking about.
Tony

FollowupID: 838141

Reply By: Les - PK Ranger - Wednesday, Apr 15, 2015 at 22:02

Wednesday, Apr 15, 2015 at 22:02
Ta mate, will soon be driving to BV from Brissy, and planned filling up in Charleville, then Windorah, have heard those 2 places best value . . . then a little top off in BV before hitting the desert :)
Can't wait, been nearly a year since out there last.
AnswerID: 552510

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Apr 16, 2015 at 07:30

Thursday, Apr 16, 2015 at 07:30
Hi Les

When in Birdsville, we usually get fuel at the Mobil, rather than the big Roadhouse.

Was put on to the Mobil when the great and fantadtic Ruth and Ian used to run the caravan park in Birdsville.

FollowupID: 838105

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Friday, Apr 17, 2015 at 19:59

Friday, Apr 17, 2015 at 19:59
Thanks will check them out, they might be open this time.
Thir signage indicated same as each other last time, but more than likely we'll hit the bakery and pub first anyway, and can take a look at both.
FollowupID: 838200