Sydney to Perth driving

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 30, 2015 at 09:15
ThreadID: 117672 Views:2291 Replies:6 FollowUps:3
This Thread has been Archived
Newbie here. Wanting to drive from sydney to Perth in September via the Nullarbor and back again. Any advice for a different way on the way back. Doesn't look like we can get from Kalgoorlie to Coober pedy without a major detour.
Any advice gratefully accepted.
Thanks.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: vk1dx - Thursday, Apr 30, 2015 at 09:38

Thursday, Apr 30, 2015 at 09:38
Just a couple of questions that will help us answer you.

Why and what are you looking for?

Also on you and the vehicle:
What type of car and caravan etc? Are you interested in dirt roads that may be corrugated or do you just want to stick to the bitumen etc.

Any outback or remote travel experience?

AnswerID: 553088

Follow Up By: Catherine K - Thursday, Apr 30, 2015 at 13:31

Thursday, Apr 30, 2015 at 13:31
I'm going because I have always wanted to drive to Perth. I'm driving a Mitsubishi asx. No caravan/trailer. Hoping to take 12-14 days round trip. Need to drive back only because putting the car in the train is so expensive. I have no outback driving experience.
FollowupID: 838845

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Friday, May 01, 2015 at 13:22

Friday, May 01, 2015 at 13:22
You could use the Great Central Road from Laverton to The Rock and come down the centre. However I would not recommend you do that if you have no off road experience. It also requires obtaining permits to transverse it. The direct road across and back is around 4k km each way that will be 8 days out of your time so it does not give you much look around time. If you go via the Great Central Road that will take up most of that spare time.
PeterD
Retired radio and electronics technician

Lifetime Member
My Profile  Send Message

FollowupID: 838909

Reply By: Member - KBAD - Thursday, Apr 30, 2015 at 09:56

Thursday, Apr 30, 2015 at 09:56