OZ PIG

Submitted: Monday, May 18, 2015 at 15:45
ThreadID: 117899 Views:2474 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
Thinking of buying an OZ PIG Cooker with diffuzer, Char Grill Plate, & adjustable chimney.
Cost is a bit frightening around $395 plus carry bag extra $40.00, etc etc, Any comments on pros and cons of this item would be appreciated.

Reply By: Notso - Monday, May 18, 2015 at 16:13

Monday, May 18, 2015 at 16:13
They're made in China now. A few good home made designs around and don't cost an arm and a leg.
AnswerID: 553922

Reply By: Bushranger1 - Monday, May 18, 2015 at 16:20

Monday, May 18, 2015 at 16:20
Had one for years & we love it.
Made a hard box with lid for ours. Worthwhile to make or buy bbq tool holder & 1 extra chimmney extension to keep the smoke out of your eyes.

Make sure you use nice dry timber & they work really well. Cooked everything from cakes to roasts on ours.
Stu
AnswerID: 553924

Reply By: Shaker - Monday, May 18, 2015 at 16:52

Monday, May 18, 2015 at 16:52
I had one, found it to be a waste of time, not much heat & got sick of cutting up little bits of wood to feed it, filthy to pack up too.
Sold it after a few trips!

AnswerID: 553930

Follow Up By: Grumblebum and the Dragon - Wednesday, May 20, 2015 at 10:19

Wednesday, May 20, 2015 at 10:19
I agree 100% - just a Dinky Toy. If you want the best - all stainless steel, get a Snow Peak fire pit.

Perfect as both a fire pit and BBQ - you could even operate it on a Champion Standard Bowling Green and leave no evidence of your use.

Not cheap but far better value than the average choofer

FollowupID: 839932

Reply By: wholehog - Monday, May 18, 2015 at 18:23

Monday, May 18, 2015 at 18:23
Made my own similar device from a free 9kg LPG cylinder..does camp ovens inside and on top, bakes, fries, cooks, heats, its dirty and a pain to carry, though comes apart and travels within a milk crate.

Much prefer my baby webber.. ;O)
AnswerID: 553938

Follow Up By: racinrob - Tuesday, May 19, 2015 at 15:22

Tuesday, May 19, 2015 at 15:22
You got that right wholehog, I'm a welder and have made many Ozpigs and variations of over the years, now I carry a Baby Q and find it hard to beat.
Also carry a cast iron camp oven for when fires are permissible.

Rob.
FollowupID: 839867

Reply By: Warren B - Monday, May 18, 2015 at 19:04

Monday, May 18, 2015 at 19:04
Best thing we ever bought for camping, get it out and all the families put money on the table. the kids can have the money for maccas on way home if they can get the pig to light and stay lit. Keeps the kids amused all weekend and we get to keep the money. I can understand why its approved by the national parks ( wont stay alight long enough to set a leaf on fire ). but does make a very nice pot plant holder mate has one looks good, bit of a vine climbing up chiminey.

Cheers warren
AnswerID: 553939

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Monday, May 18, 2015 at 19:31

Monday, May 18, 2015 at 19:31
G'day Warren,
Works fine if you use dry wood & keep the door slightly jar just to get the fire going.
Also a slight extension on the chimney helps the fire draw better.

Stu
FollowupID: 839836

Reply By: Flighty ( WA ) - Tuesday, May 19, 2015 at 10:47

Tuesday, May 19, 2015 at 10:47
Macka
Don't have the oz-pig but got a "hoffy" and works quite well, without as much messy clean up as it seems.
Might be worth a look at with price difference.
Flighty

AnswerID: 553950

Reply By: Member - Colin E - Tuesday, May 19, 2015 at 11:22

Tuesday, May 19, 2015 at 11:22
Love my Ozpig very economical on wood they now have an adjustable vented door with s/s gauze in it burns very well plenty of heat No problems with it going out until I close the vent. To start it 4 pages from the local rag and it is going.
The leg extensions are a must don't have to bend down so much. Also the full chimney extension takes the top above awning and pig under cover. Wear a pair of gloves while sweeping it out and if you can fit all the bits back in once it is in the vehicle.
I intend to make a bracket to put it on my second spare wheel holder
Colin
AnswerID: 553953

Follow Up By: Member - Colin E - Tuesday, May 19, 2015 at 11:25

Tuesday, May 19, 2015 at 11:25
Yes they are expensive but well finished.
The tool holder is something really good and easy to make
FollowupID: 839864