$30 dick smith power shower

Submitted: Monday, Apr 05, 2004 at 15:24
ThreadID: 11837 Views:1945 Replies:14 FollowUps:4
Hi all, Has anyone had a pump failure on those Dick smith, auto bahn, type $30 showers, the yellow one. Used mine a few times and now the impeller is loose on the shaft and wont pump. Typical chinese junk i guess?? '

Reply By: flappan - Monday, Apr 05, 2004 at 15:47

Monday, Apr 05, 2004 at 15:47
Mines a bit hit and miss . . .

Was trying to use it with a Heat exchanger and gave up. Bought a proper pump instead.
AnswerID: 53253

Reply By: Trol - Monday, Apr 05, 2004 at 15:47

Monday, Apr 05, 2004 at 15:47
Hi Michael,

I had one before installing a Glind and I found it to be a cheap alternative. I used mine probably 6 weeks of the year, for 2 years and had no probs, take it back to Tricky Dicky's and see what they reckon, I guess for $30.00 you can't really complain, least if you bought another one, you'd have spare parts!

Good luck mate,

Trol.
AnswerID: 53255

Follow Up By: Member - Mike (SA) - Monday, Apr 05, 2004 at 16:20

Monday, Apr 05, 2004 at 16:20
KMart have a good for around that price. Had no problems with mine and economical on 4 'D' Cells.

Too little time in the bush!
VKS 737 Mobile 0230

FollowupID: 314984

Reply By: Member - Peter (York) - Monday, Apr 05, 2004 at 16:33

Monday, Apr 05, 2004 at 16:33
Had the same type but it was blue ,,lasted 3 showers . Water got in the seals , I have gone to the canvas bag on a rope so for no electrical problems
AnswerID: 53260

Reply By: Patroleum - Monday, Apr 05, 2004 at 19:00

Monday, Apr 05, 2004 at 19:00
Also Had the same type but blue (Primus Labled). Failed first use.
Returned and bought "The Outback Shower" for $80.00. Uses a bilge pump and is fantastic.

AnswerID: 53278

Follow Up By: Michael - Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 09:11

Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 09:11
Gday Greg, Where did you buy your Outback Shower from?
FollowupID: 315059

Reply By: Dunedigger - Monday, Apr 05, 2004 at 20:48

Monday, Apr 05, 2004 at 20:48
Yep . . me toooo, Cost about $30.00 different color, used once, then stored for 18 months, completey stuffed, siezed . . .Probably should ee left hanging uo for a few days after use to ensure there is no moisture in the thing !

Just more junk . . . . .. . .. . .

Dunedigger
AnswerID: 53298

Reply By: paul - Monday, Apr 05, 2004 at 21:13

Monday, Apr 05, 2004 at 21:13
yup, i used a few for my line marker made up from a pram and stuff for my football (soccer) field, they are total cr#p. Didn't want to use a bilge pump cause i wanted to keep at the around 9L per minute rate. Went to a caravan shop and found the units that the cheap ones are based on. Look the same but a tad bigger and weigh twice as much. They hang them down into water containers to provide low pressure through taps inside caravans. Cost about $65 but way better quality and i might hook one up for my own shower.
AnswerID: 53304

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Apr 05, 2004 at 21:24

Monday, Apr 05, 2004 at 21:24
$30 and you expect it to last?

Seriously?
AnswerID: 53306

Follow Up By: Roachie - Monday, Apr 05, 2004 at 22:14

Monday, Apr 05, 2004 at 22:14
Truckster,

You break me up mate.........LOLOLOL

When my Twine chucks the towel in, I reckon I might head off to Smithy's shop and get hold of one of these yu-beaut $30- jobbies...

FollowupID: 315026

Reply By: rosco - Monday, Apr 05, 2004 at 23:43

Monday, Apr 05, 2004 at 23:43
Michael,
Been there done that and the pump failed. Plumbing is good for the amount of times I get to use it so went to www.bla.com.au and bought a $19.95 submersable marine pump and fitted that up. Works a treat.
Rosco
AnswerID: 53326

Reply By: tim_s - Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 08:17

Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 08:17
Micheal

Had the same problem, but had to replace mine in Armidale so it cost me $50!! I think it is slightly better quality though. I too will be going for the bilge pump. For ~$20-25 you can get one that outputs 450 gallon/hour (28l/min) compared to the standard pump that only does 4-6l/min. You can even use the hoses and shower head from the old one. Be warned though, you may want to put a restricter on teh flow or SWMBO will use ALOT more water.

Tim
AnswerID: 53345

Reply By: Michael - Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 09:00

Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 09:00
Hi Guys , thanks for your replies guys, I figured that might be the case, just junk. But you would think that after going to all that trouble to manufacture the complete thing, all the injection moulding tooling and the packaging, the moulding that they would spend a few cents more and possibly have a square shaft for the impeller instead of round to drive the impeller, and fix the other inherent faults,some so minor its really defies logic,,,,, but then,, it comes out of china where its probably assembled on someones kitchen table after dinner.... Thanks for the replies. Best regards Michael

Ps Truckster, when you really think about it, If you buy something, it really should perform for a reasonable time, we dont set the price. But i suppose we all know the reality, "YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR".
AnswerID: 53351

Follow Up By: Member - Liz- Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 14:42

Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 14:42
FANTASTIC! We just bought one via ebay,haven't even received it. Oh well, you win some you lose some!
FollowupID: 315090

Reply By: joc45 - Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 17:35

Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 17:35
My $25 Jaycar shower has been running fine now for about 6 years, including using it with sea water. About 6 months ago, I took it apart and gave it a birthday; oiled the bearings, etc after the motor started chattering. Works a treat again.
Gerry
AnswerID: 53436

Reply By: Patroleum - Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 19:21

Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 19:21
Micheal. We bought "The Outback Shower" from Nerang Disposals on the Gold Coast Qld.

AnswerID: 53450

Reply By: Member - Rohan K - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 16:14

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 16:14
I have the Jaycar one - same as joc. Used it twice and it stopped. Pulled it apart, the rotor was slipping. Fixed it (added a touch of Areldite for good measure) and now it works better than it did when I bought it.

If it does fail again, I'll go the "bilge" pump route and keep the rest as it's actually not that bad, quality-wise.
AnswerID: 53560

Reply By: David N. - Thursday, Apr 08, 2004 at 07:18

Thursday, Apr 08, 2004 at 07:18
We've had the $30 variety for about two or three years-
Lots if use and no problems.
AnswerID: 53652