Chescold RC1180 Fault

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 18:32
ThreadID: 11877 Views:2521 Replies:4 FollowUps:1
Hi, I am having trouble with ny RC1180, it won't work on 240v but works fine on gas or 12v.

Any ideas? Thanks DB...

Reply By: Member - Eskimo - Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 18:38

Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 18:38
Get an electrician to look at it ...wont be too hard
could be a heater or continuity problem ie broken wire....240 volt kills so its advisable to somebody who knows what their doing to look at it.

Wont be too hard for lecky or a fridgie...that is to say Its not a refrigeration problem!
AnswerID: 53444

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 18:58

Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 18:58
Most likely the heater element is cactus.

A mongrel of a job, but not too difficult. If it's stuffed it will be obvious. Grab a new one and you're on your way. Not much different from changing a light bulb.
AnswerID: 53447

Reply By: The Banjo - Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 21:01

Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 21:01
Had the very same issue.......the 240 element had blown......after a BIT of use over 10 years, can't complain I suppose......Mine is fixed into the rear of the Jack for trips.....12 volts while mobile (runs well) and onto gas while stopped. The element plus labour was about $95 I think - Dario's (St Mary's) in Adelaide......any place that specialises in caravan accessories, service and repairs will be right into it - heaps of 3 ways in caravans all over Oz. I'm into home repair to a degree, but 240 is a safety issue AND I was damned if I could see how to get the bugger out !
AnswerID: 53467

Reply By: stubby - Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 21:11

Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 21:11
I had the same problem with mine last week,bought a new 240v element and fitted it myself. Cost $89, is held in by 1 screw and has 2 wires,simple to change and my fridge is ready for easter.(ice cold beer)
AnswerID: 53468

Follow Up By: aka_db - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 17:19

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 17:19
Hi Guys,

Thanks for your post's. I have found a local caravan service centre who agreed the problem is probably what you have said. They have the part in stock and have suggested that I can fit it myself, all I have to do is try and find where it goes....

Thanks, DB...
FollowupID: 315256