No Troopy or GQ

Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 13:34
ThreadID: 11898 Views:2042 Replies:12 FollowUps:25
After researching all possible options over the past twelve months and asking numerous questions on the forum I have decided to shelve my plans to buy a newer 4by. Instead I may give my reliable old truck a new coat of paint and maybe a set of fats. For the money I have available at the moment I cannot find a decent truck and if I buy one I will be saddled with a vehicle which will be 15 to 20 years of age and I have to start all over again fitting it out. Not necessary. Will have to put up with the rattles, draughts and dust for a while longe. Maybe next year we can trade our road car in on a soft roader whilst keeping the G60 for bush trips.

Thanks to all those contributors who helped along the way with advice and ideas.

Reply By: Roachie - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 13:44

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 13:44
Willem ,

That must have been a difficult decision to come to after such a long time of research and frustration. I empathise with you. The G60, if it's still going okay, will/should last you a fair while yet I suppose.

As you say.....don't worry, be happy,

AnswerID: 53543

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 18:14

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 18:14
Roachie,

The G60 is running sweetly. Only problem is a leaking rear output shaft seal. Has been leaking for 6 years so I don't really care. Fitted a speedy sleeve once but it did not last. I am not doing great distances these days..about 10,000km a year. She will last a while yet.

FollowupID: 315263

Reply By: Davoe - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 13:59

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 13:59
Thought about putting a diesal into your old truck? no idea bout cost or practicality but it is just a thought
AnswerID: 53544

Follow Up By: paul - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 14:33

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 14:33
Friend recently investigated this option, Linquip in brisbane said "bout $18,000" to do change a petrol G60 to diesel (chev 6 cylinder diesel) - clearly they have to change everything.

Ouch.
FollowupID: 315235

Follow Up By: Davoe - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 15:11

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 15:11
Chevy diesal ah wouldnt that be nice! If you were going that way the 6.2 would be the go. The only person I know of who has done a diesal petrol swap was in a nissan e20 van and he reckoned it was quite easy. I think putting a nissan diesal in place of nissan petrol would be relitivly easy(relative to what I dont know) but of course to make it cost effective as compared to just buying a diesal you would need to pick up a decent motor at a decent price
FollowupID: 315241

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 15:38

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 15:38
That would be a Chev V8 Diesel, 6.2 ltr not a 6 cyl!
FollowupID: 315243

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 18:18

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 18:18
Yes I have though about fitting a diesel but only briefly. Here is SA they go for the jugular when you do a changeover like that and nitpick on even the smallest thing. Anyway, it would not save me too much in the long run.

FollowupID: 315265

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 15:39

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 15:39
Give it a new set of bushes, and bearings all round and go for another 400,000! Some Good Jap Import Bucket seats for comfort and go...

Theres been numerous G60's for cheap recently, few in the backyard for spares and go for another 1,000,000!!!

What sort of budget were you working on for your update?
AnswerID: 53550

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce (San Diego) - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 16:30

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 16:30
Can I ask what may seem a dumb question,

Why does everyone seem to hold up the GM 6.2 as the diesel motor of choice?

Here in the USA it seems to be the motor of last resort with a terrible reputation. the #1 choice in a "truck" or "pickup" is the Cummins Turbo used by Dodge and then the 7.3 Ford (Navistar) motor.

Just wondering?

Bruce
FollowupID: 315249

Follow Up By: Baldrick - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 16:55

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 16:55
I think people just see *big V8* and get all starry eyed. No-one wonders just why there are so many available second hand. A lot of people in the UK have problems with them.
FollowupID: 315253

Follow Up By: Davoe - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 17:04

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 17:04
Bruce, There is a company over here called brunswick diesals that specialize in fitting the afformentioned moter to patrols, cruisers and f trucks so they have all the correct adaption kits (I assume) and make the swap easily I havnt heard of any company doing this for other motors so it is possibly for no other reason and baldrick I think the biggest problem they have with any motor in the uk is affording the fuel!
FollowupID: 315254

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Apr 08, 2004 at 07:40

Thursday, Apr 08, 2004 at 07:40
G'day Truckster

I did the motor up 70,000 clicks ago. New pistons, rings, slippers and had the head redone with unleaded valve inserts. Crank was OK as was the bore with no top lip after 380,000Km. Job cost $895 but I did a lot of the work myself.

Yes, will probably find a G60 for spares somewhere. But my yard is full of vehicles already. Recently sanded the aircleaner body down to bare metal and painted it......brilliant Orange. Almost blinds you when you open the bonnet...hahahaha

I had put 10K aside for an updated vehicle. Will be re-investing and will put it with some other funds to buy a softroader for Judith(and me of course), maybe next year.

FollowupID: 315327

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Apr 12, 2004 at 21:08

Monday, Apr 12, 2004 at 21:08
Bruce, interesting point.

The Navistar over here is rare as rockinghorse dung.. literally... The chevs are the best option in a large diesel that is here.

New import laws that came in a last year, that I dont think that even the 6.2 or 6.5 can be imported anymore either.

Ive been in a GQ with a 6.2 in it, went VERY well... I would have one in a flash over a petrol V8... And it sounded quite good too :-)~
FollowupID: 315617

Reply By: cokeaddict - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 17:16

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 17:16
Hi Willem,
Sorry to hear that mate. I am sure you will eventually get a new toy. In the mean time, I havea question for you.
Where was that picture taken ?
i know its not but it reminds me of a hut i stayed in over night in the High Country last year. Ahhh what id give to head back in there.
Take care and Happy easter mate.
Angelo
AnswerID: 53568

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 18:07

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 18:07
Hi Angelo,

The pic was taken last October at Cockatoo Hut Camp, Warraweena Station, Flinders Ranges. A beaut spot and only $10pppn with wood supplied and bush toilets. LOts of good 4x4 tracks on the station which are included in the price.

Have a good Easter.

FollowupID: 315261

Reply By: rolande- Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 19:23

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 19:23
Willem,
I had 10.5R15's mounted on steel rims on my G60 ute, couldn't get the thing to go round bends without pulling like hell on the steering wheel, Ahhh, the joys of no power steering.
Changed them for 7.50X16's and could go round corners with one hand, found the ride a lot better with the skinnier tyres also. Have you tried the G60 with the wider tyres? Just asking?
Rolande
AnswerID: 53587

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 19:34

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 19:34
Rolande,

Thanks for telling me about the widies. I have always run splits. Was looking at getting a set of 33x12.5x15 Motorway Mongrels. Will have to do some more research. My 7.50x16's are only hard to manoeuvre in parking areas otherwise they handle quite well.
FollowupID: 315275

Follow Up By: rolande- Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 19:43

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 19:43
Willem,
Just while I think of it, I fitted a pair of XE Fairmont Bucket seats in as well, great match for the layout of the ute, felt like you were sitting in a seat that was custom made.
Rolande
FollowupID: 315278

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 20:04

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 20:04
Rolande,

I have a pair of Datsun Bluebird seats. Had to swap them 'round to get them to fit. Then I butchered the back rest of the drivers seat to get more space so that I can fit my 6'3' frame in. It works OK. Truck rides OK except in realy bumpy country where it tends to pitch a bit.

FollowupID: 315283

Reply By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 19:29

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 19:29
Sorry to hear this Willem , I just got a turbo diesel GQ 1994 with lift kit rear draws , front rear diff locks , 2 air compressors , long range tank , 1500 watt inverter , stainless water tank , shower , snorkel , bull bar winch for $9,000 . O well will need to find another buyer

AnswerID: 53592

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 19:37

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 19:37
Yeah and a fan under the dashboard to blow a breeze up your pants....hahahaha....In that case Eric, I'll have two......Thanks mate!

FollowupID: 315276

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 19:39

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 19:39
I betcha it had no engine, gearbox or wheels........:-)
FollowupID: 315277

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 19:44

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 19:44
hahahhaha had ya for a sec anyway lol
FollowupID: 315279

Reply By: Baldrick - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 20:06

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 20:06
Keep the old classic and be richer!

Every time I get a new vehicle I regret not keeping the old one. If I had kept my original Landie I would probably be $100k better off!
AnswerID: 53600

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 20:16

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 20:16
Yeah I know..there are a few cars I wished that I had kept....like a Chev Caprice Pillarless, Lancia Fulvia, Alfa Guilietta, Mini Cooper S, and so on. Hve blown about 1 million smakeroos in 40 years of motoring. Its been fun thoug....!
FollowupID: 315285

Reply By: Member - Cocka - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 20:47

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 20:47
Hey Willem
We have all put a lot of time into this research so we are not going to give up on it just yet. Old Confusian saying - you never fail until you stop tying. It's all a matter of being "in the market", if your always looking something it will eventually turn up. Deceased estates, quick sales etc. You have the money in the bank and somebody wants cash, it's just a matter of finding the right trade.
If you see something you like make an offer, they can only say no, but then they may say OK.

Best of luck.
AnswerID: 53608

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 21:12

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 21:12
No Cocka....I(we) have spent too much time chasing our tail on this one. The project is extinct. Spending some of the money on a Satphone and a digi camera.

Maybe next year we will look at upgrading Mum's bush taxi(Commodore wagon) to a softroader if we can find one with similar space.

FollowupID: 315293

Reply By: Jen & Geoff - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 20:52

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 20:52
There you go Willem, thought you were wise enough to make up your own mind, good thikin, in 12 months or more you'll be richer and be able to pick up just want you want at the price you want to pay. Have a safe lovely chocolatey easter!! We are now off to the bush, heading away from everyone and everything.
AnswerID: 53611

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 21:07

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 21:07
Thanks Jen and Geoff. You have a good one out bush.....I'll be working all Easter doing the bidding of SWMBO at our Art Exhibition........chocolates..yes I'll go look for the bunny with the money. Can ill afford more kilos..hahahahaha

FollowupID: 315289

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 22:21

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 22:21
Could be worse Willem, you could have an Explorer,( did i say that ) plenty of life left in the old girl yet, still look's good, a work of art so to speak !!!

FollowupID: 315303

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Apr 08, 2004 at 07:28

Thursday, Apr 08, 2004 at 07:28
Yes Baz...It definitely is a work of art seeing as I painted it myself....with a brush. It is a 5 metre paint job...stand 5 metres away and it looks real good...hahahahaha
FollowupID: 315325

Reply By: ianmc - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 22:10

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 22:10
Rolande, maybe your widies on the g60 had far too much offset from the hub face.
Nissans of old do not seem to run as much offset with standard rims as do Toyotas
and the widies could be run many psi below the 750's.
There is usually a ride & cornering benewfit with them but they use more fuel!!
AnswerID: 53632

Follow Up By: rolande- Thursday, Apr 08, 2004 at 06:35

Thursday, Apr 08, 2004 at 06:35
Purchased the vehicle with the wide rims on, only lasted 1 week before I changed to split rims so I don't know the history other than they are Peco Star rims, and the 7.50X16's were about half the price per tyre at that time. Hadn't thought about the offset before though.
Rolande
FollowupID: 315322

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 22:27

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2004 at 22:27
Congratulations Willem, on your decision. You know what you have with the G60 and is one of the toughest you could go with. I gues you have already investigated a power steering pump for a pressie for yourself.

Go with it
AnswerID: 53635

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Apr 08, 2004 at 07:25

Thursday, Apr 08, 2004 at 07:25
G'day John,

Yes I contemplated the Power Steer bit but have not gone to a professional to have it checked out. I rang a bloke in Adelaide once who is a specialst at P/S but he said "A what?"........I think that it will end up costing a couple of grand as there will be quite a bit of cutting and welding and re-inventing and fitting new pulleys and I think that it is not worth the effort. Anyway the truck wasn't designed to incorporate P/S.

I would rather spend the money on a trip to somewhere.

FollowupID: 315324

Reply By: rolande- Thursday, Apr 08, 2004 at 07:50

Thursday, Apr 08, 2004 at 07:50
Willem,
Just in case you are interested, there is a genuine G60 repair manual on EBAY at the moment
Rolande
AnswerID: 53654

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Apr 08, 2004 at 08:05

Thursday, Apr 08, 2004 at 08:05
Rolande,

Thanks for that mate but I do have a genuine Nissan workshop manual for the G60 which I think was printed in 1977/78. It is slightly moth eaten around the edges with greasy finger marks here and there but it still works

FollowupID: 315333