All New Hilux

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 03, 2015 at 20:56
ThreadID: 119076 Views:2836 Replies:6 FollowUps:9
Finally up on Toyota Australia's web site however only preliminary details released. 3.5 Tonne Towing, Six Speed Trannies, 140KW - 450NM 2.8 Litre TD Diesel (Approximate Specs), Daytime Running Lights, High Lift Versions, Claimed all new rugged chassis and suspension. I personally like the lines, but I suspect some people might not.

All New Hilux - Express Your Interest

Reply By: Dennis Ellery - Wednesday, Jun 03, 2015 at 21:45

Wednesday, Jun 03, 2015 at 21:45
Beats me why they use low profile tyres with alloy rims on a 4WD they promote as a rugged off roader.
Appearance wise looks like a clone of about a dozen other 4 WD utes on the market at the moment.
But then again I’m an old 70 series fossil.
AnswerID: 554545

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Wednesday, Jun 03, 2015 at 22:01

Wednesday, Jun 03, 2015 at 22:01
Like all the other manufacturers they are selling a dream.
People like the image of being a rugged outdoors type but the reality is that for most of the vehicles sold the car park speed humps are as extreme as they go
FollowupID: 840666

Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, Jun 04, 2015 at 07:34

Thursday, Jun 04, 2015 at 07:34
This article appearing in the SMH yesterday highlights the trend to this type of vehicle and the reason vehicle manufacturers' are making them appear to all, not just the off-road fraternity.

From the article...

"I think what's happening in this market is that it's changing. Traditionally the ute was a tool of trade vehicle, that is changing over time. What the customer base is looking for is a more family oriented vehicle as well as a working utility vehicle".

Australian Ute Sales Surge in May.

Cheers, Baz - The Landy
FollowupID: 840672

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Jun 04, 2015 at 11:53

Thursday, Jun 04, 2015 at 11:53
Yes spot on Landy. Personally the Hilux is the perfect vehicle for me but I don't take it 4WD'ing. I need to tow I need to carry stuff and as I get older I'd like it to be comfortable. Tradies love it to and they don't go off road. You can't get the versatility out of a 2wd Holden or Ford. What I find funny is the new look gets criticised for being modern, you can still put 4WD wheels and tyres on this and go off road, probably better than ever?
FollowupID: 840678

Reply By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Jun 03, 2015 at 22:06

Wednesday, Jun 03, 2015 at 22:06
Interestingly enough was the current Hilux, over 10 years old in design now, topped the sales charts for May 2015. Not bad for an old girl. Reckon the new model will bust the sales charts right open.
AnswerID: 554546

Follow Up By: D-MaxerWA - Wednesday, Jun 03, 2015 at 23:35

Wednesday, Jun 03, 2015 at 23:35
Ah yes, the get rid of them cheap before the new model gets here trick. All the manufacturers do that. I bet none went to the mining companies and I pity the poor souls who bought a 4 star safety rated vehicle.
D-MaxerWA

FollowupID: 840668

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Jun 04, 2015 at 03:40

Thursday, Jun 04, 2015 at 03:40
4 Star Safety? Nar mate you obviously haven't seen them go off a cliff into the ocean and then driven off again by their surprised owner?
How lucky was this Bloke?
FollowupID: 840670

Reply By: Bigfish - Thursday, Jun 04, 2015 at 09:39

Thursday, Jun 04, 2015 at 09:39
Like all the modern SUV,s and many "rugged 4wd"..they are chasing the café-lattee and metrosexual man (man?..I use that term lightly)...It is now a case of the vehicle manufacturer telling us what we will have and need....not the other way around. They all just look so boring and gay....
AnswerID: 554552

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Thursday, Jun 04, 2015 at 09:58

Thursday, Jun 04, 2015 at 09:58
I know where you are coming from but if you look at the growing sales figures in this category I think it shows that us "rugged he-men" LOL are the minority consumer in the category now and they are more interested in appealing to the wider consumer audience.
FollowupID: 840675

Reply By: cruiser 3 - Thursday, Jun 04, 2015 at 10:55

Thursday, Jun 04, 2015 at 10:55
Hi Alby
Rugged he man, look at old photos of our servicemen of WE2 era they were rugged he men without any doubt.
Look now at Australia we see a push for gay marriage, idiots protesting for the rights of people who want to come here illegally, politicians who who pander to these groups and if someone of the he man generation speaks out about this they are howled down.
So yes manufacturers have to cater for the majority
AnswerID: 554555

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Jun 04, 2015 at 11:46

Thursday, Jun 04, 2015 at 11:46
WTF does the new Lux have to do with Gay Marriage, protesters and illegal immigrants? I have heard it all. LOL

FollowupID: 840677

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Sunday, Jun 07, 2015 at 18:23

Sunday, Jun 07, 2015 at 18:23
The he-man generation didn't pass on the genes very well. They spawned a generation of latte sippers intent on feminising our utes. It's the he-man generation that is at fault.
FollowupID: 840787

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Sunday, Jun 07, 2015 at 21:19

Sunday, Jun 07, 2015 at 21:19
The He-men generation drove what they pleased. So does today's generation. The cars are getting better, times change, the world moves on. What do you drive!
FollowupID: 840791

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 04, 2015 at 11:10

Thursday, Jun 04, 2015 at 11:10
Toyota lost the plot on the Hilux about 10 years ago when they started pumping them full of steriods. What was a good medium off-road working vehicle became a bloated undersprung clone of a 70 series.....
AnswerID: 554556

Reply By: Member - Odog - Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 17:15

Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 17:15
G'day all, they have all had big changes across most brands... Toyota, Nissan, Mitsubishi... New top range triton now comes with sun roof, and paddle shift.. The Nissan now has twin turbo... All of them have gone smaller capacity too.. Also Mercedes is bringing out a dual cab as well, based on the Nissan rumour has it... Think we are going to end up going down the disposable vehicle thing, like everything else.. When it breaks, chuck it and go buy a new one... Built to last a certain number of years and that's it!
See how it pans out... Have a safe n happy long weekend... Cheers Odog
Some people want it to happen, some people wish it could happen, others make it happen!

AnswerID: 554616