Long Weekend - What are you up to?

Submitted: Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 08:18
ThreadID: 119090 Views:2454 Replies:13 FollowUps:12
As we head into a long weekend, well for most, are you heading off somewhere, or is the cold keeping you in?

We are off to Gundagai for a “bit of a sticky-beak” around the area. We’ve passed it a couple of times recently going to and from Melbourne along the Hume, but decided there is more to the area than meets the eye.

So what are you up to, where will you be rugged up around the fire; at home or Out and About?

Enjoy, Baz – The Landy

Reply By: Robin Miller - Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 09:31

Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 09:31
For long weekends I try and stay home Landy - got more than enough little fixes that need doing after last weeks romp in the bush !

Still if theres snow nearby .................

AnswerID: 554587

Reply By: MUZBRY- Life member(Vic) - Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 09:32

Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 09:32
Gday Baz
Darling and I are off to pier 35 to watch the ships come and go , and eat of course.

AnswerID: 554588

Reply By: vk1dx - Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 09:33

Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 09:33
A good time to stay home for us. We avoid these things; crowds, school holidays, Easter/Christmas and long weekends. The bush is much quieter and safe.

Ahhh - the privileges of being retired. Sleep in on Mondays. Bugger that - sleep in whenever you want. But always up early when out bush. Love it.
AnswerID: 554589

Reply By: Frank P (NSW) - Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 10:13

Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 10:13
Baz,

We're just back from a month away in red dirt country in outback NSW and NW Victoria so this weekend is clean-up and maintenance.

Our route home took us via Jugiong, which has re-invented itself since being by-passed by the freeway. The Long Track cafe is an absolute must for lunch, and next door is an outlet for some excellent local wines (which you can also enjoy in the cafe). Been there a few times, always good.Free camp on the banks of the Murrumbidgee over the road if the wine tasting gets the better of you :-)

From there we headed to Wee Jasper via some back roads. The drive along the Murrumbidgee is just stunning. All private property right down to the water, with stock troughs etc on the grassy flats so no bush camping unfortunately. We thought of asking property owners for permission - there are a number just off the road - but Wee Jasper was our preferred destination for the day so we kept going.

When I say "road" it's more a track. In some places it has a grassy crown. Local traffic only and just the most magnificent scenery.

Heaps of camping choices around Wee Jasper on the Goodradigbee R.Link.

Blowering dam (fishing, paddling) and campsites both sides of the Tumut R (western side accessible via Batlow) are worth a look.

You can go off on all sorts of tangents in this area. If you go to Tumut you can get through to Wee Jasper and then make a circuit of it through to Jugiong. The drive from Wee Jasper to Yass is pretty and there's a turn-off to Canberra for an off-the-beaten track access to the national capital. Or take forest roads down to the Brindabellas. So much to do, so little time .... It's a great part of the world.

I used Hema's SE NSW map and EO Topo 200k, both in OziExplorer, to find my way around.

Cheers and enjoy

AnswerID: 554590

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 10:18

Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 10:18
Hi Frank

Jugiong as always looked great from the Highway, but we have never stopped, but intending to do so tomorrow. Will check out the camping there!

We will be up and around the Tumut, Wee Jasper way, so sounds like plenty we can do!

Baz
FollowupID: 840716

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 10:30

Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 10:30
Frank I was going to say a similar thing

Last trip to the High Country we came home via the back roads along Batlow rd etc, it is a beautiful run.
Bowning is worth a coffee stop too.

Baz a run home from Goulburn out through Robinson and down Maquarie Pass is a good option as well
FollowupID: 840718

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 10:33

Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 10:33
On second thoughts it is not that good Baz and I don't think it is worth going.

You would have a much more fulfilling weekend at my place helping to paint the house :(
FollowupID: 840719

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 11:42

Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 11:42
Stopped there a boiled the billy next to the river. Lovely spot and shared a few "giddays" with a group judst drifting down the river in canoes.

The Long Track Cafe has also been recommended to us by my niece from Wagga.

Should stop there but it is so close to Canberra that we are either just starting a long drive or just getting near home after a long drive.

Thanks for the reminder.
FollowupID: 840723

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 17:21

Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 17:21
vk1dx,

I think you said in another thread that you're retired :-)

Mate, after one of those sleep-ins that we lucky ones can enjoy any day of the week, if you wake up and are at a loss as to what you might do, why not take the bride to lunch at Jugiong?

I gather you're in or near Canberra, so it's only about 120km or so.

Yeah, a long way for a lunch, but not so bad in terms of time. We travel a long way just for fun, so why not?

If it's too far for one day the Jugiong Motor Inn gets reasonable write-ups. It was excellent 40 years ago when we last stayed there :-). Since then I think it has been down in the doldrums but maybe is now up again. Or maybe there's a nice B&B not too far away.

Enjoy!

FollowupID: 840734

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 17:38

Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 17:38
For a weekend "little" drive.

We were sitting inthe lounge room after dinner mucking around with the kids (3 boys). One of them said they would like a milk shake. 14 hours later we arrived in Surfers. Got the milk shake and despite m,y hate of american take aways, we headed into Maccas for a big mac. "Sorry sir" they are not on the breakfast menu. Sobs from the boys and thank God from me. Back into the car and got home in time for a nap before mass on Sunday.

Oh I forgot. We then lived in Prospect in western Sydney.

Got something better to do. Play with this:

Trains anyone!!! My layout. Click here to follow one on a part of my layout

FollowupID: 840735

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 19:01

Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 19:01
Very, veRY, VERY cool!! I watched more than one. I dips me lid.

Should you ever have time between switching signals and pushing points, Jugiong awaits ..... :-)

FollowupID: 840738

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 11:31

Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 11:31
No long weekend in the state of WA - we had our long weekend last week!
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

AnswerID: 554596

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 12:22

Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 12:22
No rest for the wicked!!

Cheers, Baz
FollowupID: 840726

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 14:11

Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 14:11
Local show is on here Sat & Sunday, Baz, and then the drags are going Sunday arvo. Have the job driving a courtesy bus on Sunday afternoon.....should be fun?

AnswerID: 554608

Reply By: Sigmund - Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 14:38

Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 14:38
Get out on the big chook chaser if the sun pokes through.

Stay safe on the roads everyone.
AnswerID: 554610

Reply By: Hewy54 - Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 16:50

Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 16:50
We too look forward to weekends and long weekends. Time to watch some footy and catch up with family and friends. Look forward to Mondays more when it is time to check the weather to find out where to go this week. LOVE RETIREMENT!!!!!
AnswerID: 554613

Reply By: Member-Heather MG NSW - Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 17:03

Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 17:03
We are in Denmark WA for the weekend or maybe longer...only arrived today and yet to have a good look around town, although we have been through here a couple of times before.

The long weekend was last weekend in WA, and we were in Bremer Bay, although it made no difference to the numbers in the park. Lots of space and few people.

It is very quiet along the South Coast...and the weather has been surprisingly good so far. Unfortunately the fishing has been a bit ordinary, although we have had a few fish dinners!

regards,
Heather

Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

AnswerID: 554615

Reply By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 17:31

Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 17:31
got the kids and grandkids visitingover the weekend while we do the final pack before heading off first thing tuesday to north QLD and the NT enroute to the national gathering at alice springs
just did the oil change only food and clothes to go- you beauty
howard
Resigned to Retirement

AnswerID: 554618

Reply By: Mick O - Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 17:34

Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 17:34
Painting the new front fence......and anything else she tells me to do!!!!

I need to get into the good books for the upcoming trip ;-)

AnswerID: 554619

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 21:39

Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 21:39
Fair enough too. Mind you 5 hours later you could be swanning around the Murrumbidgee!

Cheers, Baz
FollowupID: 840741

Reply By: gbc - Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 18:26

Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 18:26
My kayak only fits one, and it's taking me up the upper Noosa river for three days of peace and quiet. Buried 2 mates this week so I reckon I deserve it.
AnswerID: 554620

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 21:41

Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 21:41
I'm sold on that one. What are the lakes up around that way, was always a good paddle!

Cheers, and enjoy...Baz, The Landy
FollowupID: 840742

Follow Up By: gbc - Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 22:41

Friday, Jun 05, 2015 at 22:41
Cooroiba and cootharaba. I leave from cootharaba and head up 35 odd Kays.
FollowupID: 840744

Reply By: Member - Russler - Saturday, Jun 06, 2015 at 08:56

Saturday, Jun 06, 2015 at 08:56
A friend and I are heading to Tasmania for two weeks, for a week of hiking on The Overland Track, and a week of playing tourist. No 4WDing this trip.
AnswerID: 554630

Follow Up By: rumpig - Sunday, Jun 07, 2015 at 08:27

Sunday, Jun 07, 2015 at 08:27
Make sure you visit The Wall at Derwent Bridge once you finish the walk, it's truely amazing to look at. Go have dinner at the Derwent Bridge Hotel also, not a cheap place for a feed, but so much nicer atmosphere there then back at Lake St Clair accommodation IMHO.
FollowupID: 840772