Finally got an Engel fridge...

Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 14, 2004 at 22:58
ThreadID: 12060 Views:2740 Replies:8 FollowUps:19
After years of battling with keeping the esky cold and fighting with the ice...we got ourselves an 40th Anniversary Engel 40L fridge/freezer. We took it away camping with us to Washpool National Park (northern NSW - btwn Glen Innes and Grafton - very wet but beautiful) and Girrawean National Park (a top spot with some great walks) and it worked like a dream. No more empting out the esky, no more fretting if the food/milk/drinks are cold enough, just nice and icey cold. Sat still for 3 days (running on the dual battery) and didn't need to touch the system (or charge the battery) and it stayed on 2*C all day/night long. Gee life's tough...

Now I know some of you will argue that there are better brands out there, be it Waeco or RF Evercool or Chescol...but hey...I'm a happy camper and it appears many others are too...and really, who gives a toss...my drinks are cold!

Reply By: Member - Cruisin (QLD) - Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 06:58

Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 06:58
Well said !

Seems to me lots of people get tied up in which brand to buy. I think all of the main line fridges do the job of keeping stuff cold pretty damn well !! and if treated well will last a long time.

AnswerID: 54306

Follow Up By: Member - Sparky - Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 20:28

Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 20:28
True - but I did want something sturdy and up to the chal;lenge...some were a bit too plasticy...if you know what I mean...
FollowupID: 316058

Reply By: jiarna - Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 08:12

Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 08:12
Well done! I'm still at the esky and ice stage, but I'm hoping the other 98% will let me buy a fridge soon. She says the esky works fine, which is true if we stop for ice every day or so. Like to see how she plans to buy ice when we go across the Simpson or the Canning!

As for the brand, as long as you're happy with it, that's what matters. Once you pay the money, you stop looking.
AnswerID: 54318

Follow Up By: Member - Sparky - Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 20:23

Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 20:23
Nothing wrong with the esky...as I said...got sick and tired of buying ice and all that ho ha. My better half would have nothing of it until we borrowed one from a mate...she was bugging me to get one after that!
FollowupID: 316053

Follow Up By: jiarna - Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 20:34

Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 20:34
So all I need is someone to lend me a good 12V fridge for the weekend ... I'll look into that. Thanks Sparky.
FollowupID: 316060

Follow Up By: Member - Sparky - Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 20:38

Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 20:38
We actually borrowed a Chescol gas fridge when we camping up @ DI and Harry's Hut (Cooloola National Pk) just north of Noosa (on the river). As mentioned...she didn't care what I got, she just wanted one...did my homework and it was as easy as 1, 2, 3...
FollowupID: 316063

Follow Up By: Member - Sparky - Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 20:46

Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 20:46
I see you are now a member...good onya and welcome. It's a great forum to swap ideas and ask advice...now work on borrowing a fridge!
FollowupID: 316071

Reply By: Leroy - Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 09:19

Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 09:19
Brand? Isn't 4wd an image thing? Does it matter if your drinks don't get cold? lol

Leroy
AnswerID: 54327

Follow Up By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 18:27

Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 18:27
of course it matters unless you are a Pom who likes warm beer
FollowupID: 316042

Follow Up By: Member - Sparky - Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 20:25

Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 20:25
Ther are brands and there are brands...I just went for the one that looked and felt the toughest, last the longest (with a proven track record), didn't mind being @ 30* angles and drew the less amps...and of course...hate warm drink when it's meant to be icey cold!!
FollowupID: 316055

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 22:27

Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 22:27
just a bit of a tongue in cheek reply guys. I know how important it is to have ice cold beer when guests visit the camp site.

Leroy (Engle luva)
FollowupID: 316117

Follow Up By: Member - Sparky - Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 22:30

Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 22:30
Certainly right there!
FollowupID: 316118

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 11:42

Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 11:42
I bought my first Engel(15lt) in 1986 and it is still running and has never been serviced or repaired. Bought my second Engel(32lt) in 2002 and it too works without a hassle despite getting bumped around in me old truck. You could say I am happy with Engels.

Cold water is the nicest thing out in the bush!
AnswerID: 54350

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 13:25

Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 13:25
The reason I bought my Engle was because people like you bought one in the 80's and have not had a prob. Pretty good performance in my view.

Leroy
FollowupID: 316009

Follow Up By: Member - Sparky - Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 20:27

Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 20:27
Do you run one as a fridge and the other as a freezer?

Also, what is the best way to store @ home...some say should always run at home and others say off and on...
FollowupID: 316057

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 20:40

Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 20:40
Sparky,

I use the two Engels in separate cars. One in the truck and another in the road car. Both vehciles are set up permanently so I do not take the fridges out.

I only turn the fridges on when I need them. Have never had a problem.
In fact we have a Kelvinator house fridge which we carted around in the caravan for 5 years. Running it on power when it was available or running on the gennie when needed. It is now 13 years old and has never missed a beat.
FollowupID: 316064

Follow Up By: Member - Sparky - Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 20:44

Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 20:44
Hmmm...do you ever get mold in the fridge if it is not on for a while?
FollowupID: 316068

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 20:57

Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 20:57
No never...on account we use the fridges regularly. But you could just leave the lid open. Remember to wipe the fridge out with Vanilla Essence after each use. Makes the fridge smell nice and keeps it fresh
FollowupID: 316077

Reply By: Roachie - Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 17:00

Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 17:00
Leroy,
My advice is to keep it running all the time. If you can't justify leaving it in your vehicle full time and running off 2nd battery, just leave it in your shed and use as a beer fridge etc.
JMHO
AnswerID: 54392

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 21:03

Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 21:03
Why? Roachie....Why use power when you don't have to??
FollowupID: 316082

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 22:24

Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 22:24
Roachie,

I think your reply may be directed at the wrong poster! (But I do use it on 240v in the shed as a beer fridge, just quietly) Keeps the compressor lubed etc.

Leroy
FollowupID: 316115

Follow Up By: Roachie - Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 14:35

Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 14:35
Leroy,
Sorry, I meant that comment for Sparky, not you.....

Willem,
I'm one of those who believes that it's better to keep something running than to be forever switching it on and off. eg: I used to prefer to leave my diesel motor running for up to 15 minutes at idle (like a morning tea stop etc) rather than turn it off, because I believed it was better for the motor (ie: the oil does not settle into the sump and cause the motor to have yet another "dry" start when you crank it over again). I've now been informed that if I leave it idling too long glazing could occur, so I tend not to do it so much now (maybe only for up to 3 minutes).
You're probably right in what you say, but I'll keep my head in the sand for the time being.
Cheers blokes
FollowupID: 316176

Reply By: Member - Ed. C.- Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 17:05

Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 17:05
May as well "throw my hat into the ring" here....

My (29 L.) Engel has been used (and abused!!) since 1978, and I got it
second-hand !! ... From memory, cost me less than $200... (previous owner had it a few months, decided it wasn't big enough, & "upgraded" to a 40 L.)...
26 y.o. (and looks it !!), and still works as well as the day I got it ! ..
and never been near a "service technician"...

Sparky, if my experience (& that of others) is anything to go by, many years from now, I believe you'll be well pleased you bought an Engel...

BTW, I am by no means "bagging" the competition (I'm sure they are all good!)...

Regards, Ed. C.
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 54393

Follow Up By: Member - Sparky - Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 20:30

Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 20:30
My thoughts exactly. A good friend has a RF Evacool...works great but as you said...Engel has been around and has proven itself...
FollowupID: 316059

Reply By: Member - Ed. C.- Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 21:29

Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 21:29
Sparky,
On the subject of storage....
While there is no doubt that running the 'fridge continuously will do it no harm at all (indeed, what better way to get "value for money"... use it as a drinks fridge, or even as extra freezer space), from my experience, it is by no means necessary....
As previously mentioned, mine is 26 y.o., and during that time, there have been many, many occasions (when I simply haven't had the time to be "gallivanting about") that it has sat for several months at a time in a dark corner in the shed gathering dust.. When I go to use it again after such inactivity, I give it a good "going over" with compressed air...
Any time it is not in use, we make sure that it's dry inside, & leave a folded handtowel (or similar) under the lid so that it's not sealed, & have never had a problem with mould or "bad smells", and it still works perfectly...

Regards, Ed. C.

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 54437

Reply By: DiesAl - Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 10:03

Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 10:03
Gday Sparky, also on the subject of storage you might want to read post 11921. There are a fair few opinions offered, some I believe are from a fridgie (eskimo I think???)

Al
AnswerID: 54495

Follow Up By: Member - Sparky - Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 22:20

Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 22:20
Thanks DiesAl
FollowupID: 316432