Off road caravans

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 21:43
ThreadID: 12086 Views:6509 Replies:7 FollowUps:10
Hi Guys I am about to order a new off road pop top, and have narrowed it down to a Trakmaster or a Kedron. Any comments good or bad about these 2 brands
Thanks in advance . Stan

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 22:14

Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 22:14
Never owned either and never seen a Kedron but mate don't those Trakmasters look great, look damn heavy as well. The owners I've spoken with are over the moon with them.
AnswerID: 54449

Reply By: thomo - Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 22:38

Thursday, Apr 15, 2004 at 22:38
Royal flair,I bought one last year very happy with it i looked at a lot of brands and the royal flair was the best built of the lot in my opinion anyway and a damm sight cheaper.
AnswerID: 54456

Follow Up By: Big Dog - Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 20:54

Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 20:54
thommo

Just retruned tonight 16 April from Royal Flair in Melbourne after discussing our new Royal Flair Tuff Roader which is due for delivery next month. Has been on order since November. Very excited about it. Can you drop me your email so that I can quiz you about a couple of things and discuss the van

Big Dog
FollowupID: 316262

Follow Up By: thomo - Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 22:14

Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 22:14
Hi big dog i would like to send you my email adress but i dont really want to put it on here.
FollowupID: 316283

Follow Up By: Big Dog - Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 22:30

Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 22:30
thommo

trry
jcumberl at bigpond.net.auu

(put the two together as usual andremove the last u... reduces SPAM I am told)
FollowupID: 316285

Follow Up By: thomo - Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 17:33

Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 17:33
hi big dog im trying to send you a email but it says the address dosent exist is the address right.
FollowupID: 316353

Reply By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 08:05

Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 08:05
Hi Stan

I've looked at both Kedron and Trakmaster, both pretty impressive, though of the 2 I preferred the Trakmaster one...matter of choice I think and what you think is right for you.....if you can get your hands on Caravan and Motor Home magazine they do write up's on most new vans, I'm pretty sure they did the Trakmaster not so long ago...their reviews are pretty honest...

Lyn
AnswerID: 54470

Reply By: Member - Chris O (VIC) - Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 08:17

Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 08:17
I am the very happy owner of a Trakmaster 'Kimberley' van.
I can't comment on the Kedron as I haven't seen one.
If you are from Victoria I would definitely go the Trakmaster. The guuys at the factory are verly good to deal with.
AnswerID: 54474

Follow Up By: STAN - Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 19:21

Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 19:21
Hi Chris O What size van is your kimberley ? and did you get the Trakair suspension or the sugerglider coil suspension and how does it handle the corrogations ? Many thanks Stan
FollowupID: 316234

Follow Up By: HJ61 - Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 12:19

Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 12:19
G'day Stan,

My Van is 15ft x 7ft
The suspension is the coil spings & shockers.
I have had no problems on dirt roads so far but will be giving it a real test on the Gibb River Road in the next few months.
FollowupID: 316627

Reply By: Dazmit - Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 10:05

Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 10:05
We picked up our Kedron van approx 4 weeks ago & are very pleased with it - fantastic fit & finish & lots of little touches which add up to a very good package.

I myself prefer aluminium frames over timber but not sure if Trakmaster have moved to aluminium.

Probably both are very good packages & comes down to personal preferance over looks, finish etc etc.

Since I live in Brisbane I enjoyed being able to watch the van being built & enjoyed chatting to Dave, Peter , Glen etc etc.

I assume you have seen their videos?

Darryl
AnswerID: 54496

Reply By: thomo - Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 18:56

Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 18:56
Ive seen those videos and what a joke they are.
AnswerID: 54578

Follow Up By: Dazmit - Sunday, Apr 18, 2004 at 06:23

Sunday, Apr 18, 2004 at 06:23
Great comment Thommo - obviously the Royal Flair ones are heaps better Huh ????

Taken as a general travel video I thought they were quite entertaining - depends what you were looking for in them I guess.

Darryl
FollowupID: 316471

Follow Up By: thomo - Sunday, Apr 18, 2004 at 09:45

Sunday, Apr 18, 2004 at 09:45
I never said the royal flair was a better van the kedron seems like a decent van but the fact is you could tow any van thru what they did if you owned the company and didnt care about destroing it as they did.Did not prove a thing about the van and thats what they were trying to do.And if i was one of the many people that was waiting behind them at that log crossing i would not have been happy especialy if i fell thru it after they cracked it.If you liked it im happy for you it just seemed like a wank to me.
FollowupID: 316486

Follow Up By: Dazmit - Sunday, Apr 18, 2004 at 21:04

Sunday, Apr 18, 2004 at 21:04
Fair enough - you're right in that you wouldn't have wanted to be right behind them.
FollowupID: 316549

Follow Up By: thomo - Sunday, Apr 18, 2004 at 21:29

Sunday, Apr 18, 2004 at 21:29
A little painful waiting there all day.Could have been in a worse spot i suppose.
FollowupID: 316560

Reply By: bluehealer - Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 20:16

Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 20:16
head honcho at a caravan manafacturer in bayswater used to be a builder,built a friends house in healesville ,what a mess,lots of problems with workmanship and with the guarantee,have seen all the paperwork submitted to the housing guarantee fund in victoria, very interesting,their advice to him was to sack him and to get another builder in to rectify all faults,and they would pick up the tab,this was carried out,love to put some names on,but i also go to church to make my image look good too,will be heading too queensland for my caravan,either a bushtrakker or a kedron,best of luck
AnswerID: 54590