Ultra Super in Diesel Tank

Submitted: Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 22:10
ThreadID: 12124 Views:1882 Replies:14 FollowUps:4
Help !! Dropped around 7 litres of Ultra Hi Super into my sub tank before I realised that I was on the wrong handle....the price woke me up.... Question : as I filled the tank with about 46 more litres of diesel .. wondering whether I should drop the lot out.. or what ? Anyone able to help... or would I still be able to trot about the city ( no loads) ... and empty the tank of mixture without any probs ???
All sounds a bit daft but as they say 'bleephappens'

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 22:19

Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 22:19
How much diesel is mixed with the 7 litres of petrol and have you started it since you did it?
AnswerID: 54625

Follow Up By: Steve - Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 22:42

Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 22:42
Sorry .. sub tank of 80 Series Landcruiser... 7 litres in total of 55 litres its still there as have switched to main tank...
FollowupID: 316290

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 23:02

Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 23:02
I think I would drop it just in case, I added 45l petrol to 85 l tank one day and ended up with 85 l cleaning fluid !!! Basket of a job too do on the side of the road next to the servo!

Cheers Steve
FollowupID: 316295

Reply By: Rossco100series - Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 22:26

Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 22:26
Steve it should be ok just take it gently.
Rossco
AnswerID: 54629

Reply By: Member - Rick - Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 22:34

Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 22:34
steve, drain it out mate.
there is a big difference between diesel and super, and even tho you have diluted it with diesel, the octane, sulpher etc will all be at different levels.
at best it will give the inside of your motor a good clean, at worse,,,,,,,detonate.!

rick.
p.s. saw a bloke in ceduna a few years ago do this, found him 300k's down the road.
AnswerID: 54632

Reply By: Member - Oskar(Bris) - Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 22:50

Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 22:50
Nissan sugest that you should not mix petrol and diesel EXCEPT in the following circumstances.
If the air temp is less than 0 degrees C you may add "regular gasoline but not more than 30% by volume". (Source - Nissan sevice manual for TD27 engines.)
Apparently to stop wax separation in the diesel.
7/45 = 15.6% V/V
I'll leave that one with you.
Oskar
AnswerID: 54636

Follow Up By: Nino & Kerry (VIC) - Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 22:59

Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 22:59
Oskar,
Its done to raise the "cold filter plugging point" (CFPP) and your dead right it stops the waxes in diesel congealling at low temps.

Nino.
FollowupID: 316294

Reply By: Nino & Kerry (VIC) - Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 22:51

Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 22:51
Steve,
drop it out.most likely it wont course a problem.....BUT for the sake of $60ish is it worth the trouble if it does course a detonation? Motor versus time and 60 bucks..... no contest
hope all goes well
Nino.
AnswerID: 54637

Reply By: Graham - Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 10:46

Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 10:46
We trekked through Eastern Turkey a few years ago via truck. The driver was mixing 10% petrol mix with the diesel to stop the diesel from freezing, apparantly it is the done thing through winter with no apparant side effects.
AnswerID: 54667

Reply By: Davoe - Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 12:23

Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 12:23
Dont worry bout it for that small amount I have done it myself and you wont find any problem. Some people actually put petrol in with their diesal as it is suposed to make them go better dont recomend that though
AnswerID: 54672

Reply By: David N. - Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 12:56

Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 12:56
Shouldn't be a problem at all.....
especially if you can pump some from the sub tank into your main every now and then to keep the percentage down.
My uncle ran his Patrol Diesel accidently a few years ago on about 50% petrol- no ill effects(other than gutless and smoke) but I would not recommend that!
AnswerID: 54674

Reply By: landcrusa - Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 18:40

Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 18:40
I've been stranded a few times in the UK in winter because of solidifying pure diesel . We used to add about 10% petrol to make the diesel flow. Never had a problem. If you're concerned about your mix you can always drain it and keep adding a little back into each new tankful of diesel. No need to waste it.
AnswerID: 54707

Reply By: lindsay - Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 20:13

Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 20:13
Steve drop it out. I had the same thing happen to me in 1988 in Alice , thought 4.5 litres of super in a 75 litre diesel tank would not hurt . drove out of alice very gently had a trailer on with a fuel tank and a fuel line & pump that could transfer diesel on the go. kept the tank topped up to dilute the petrol. Result slight knocking,
engine failed and got towed home to Victoria, had cracks in the tops of all pistons that you could put a hack saw down. In the end it will depend on the compression ratio of the engine. I was offered by the servo to drain the tank, but I thought it would be ok.
AnswerID: 54720

Follow Up By: Davoe - Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 13:40

Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 13:40
Your motor was already stuffed I have put petrol in instead of diesal for no ill effects there is no way 4.5l in 75l could have possibly have damaged your motor so dont beat yourself up over it
FollowupID: 316643

Reply By: Member - Royce- Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 21:24

Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 21:24
One sleepy afternoon I filled my Nissan 720 ute full with leaded........ damn... I was on empty at the time. I had to call the RACV... they towed me and drained me out and had fill again. The only way I found out was when I went inside and told the bloke "diesel thanks" he said "no petrol"............ "oh@#$%^&*()_" I said. Having said that.... drain it!
AnswerID: 54733

Reply By: Steve - Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 22:15

Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 22:15
Well i certainly got replies !! seems 2 me that if i be carefull i can burn the 'mixture' with out pouring it down th edarin.. if any thing happens that you should know of ....promise i will let you all know !!!
AnswerID: 54746

Reply By: Rick Blaine - Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 22:19

Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 22:19
I have done exactly this... I put 20 litres into about 80 of diesel by mistake... just drove sedatley till the tank was empty... engine was only new at the time and seems to have suffered no ill affects
AnswerID: 54749

Reply By: lindsay - Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 20:31

Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 20:31
Davoe, Don't know how you know my motor was stuffed. I would hardly leave home for a 7 thou. Ks trip with blue smoke everwhere and an 540 kpa oil pressure on the gauge as happened within 50 Ks of the fill. Only new pistons and rings. Not really stuffed.
AnswerID: 55025