5 year old oil

Submitted: Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 18:32
ThreadID: 12139 Views:1335 Replies:6 FollowUps:12
Well, today was abeautiful Autumn day here in the Southern Flinders......
And so I finally got around to dropping the oil out of the gearbox and replacing it with some clean stuff. It had been in the box since July 1998 and was a tad black but the viscosity still looked good. There were quite a few metal shavings stuck to the magnet on the drain plug. Checked the transfercase oil but it was clean on account there is a major leak at the output shaft and I just fill the box up from time to time. It loses about a litre in 10,000km( It always looks more when it drips in to the concrete). There were also afew shaving stuck to the magnet.

Maybe now gearchanges will be a bit more fluid :-)

Reply By: William - Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 19:09

Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 19:09
forking interesting useless post
AnswerID: 54710

Follow Up By: Member - Sparky - Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 21:45

Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 21:45
William
You really do have your panties in a knot! Fair dink...what is with you?

Good on ya Willem...hows the Flinders?

Sparky
FollowupID: 316416

Reply By: Member - Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 19:39

Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 19:39
You must be pretty upset that you did not have enough visitors to get out of those sort of jobs. What did Mr Lexic think of your Prickly nuts and pears
AnswerID: 54716

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 19:52

Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 19:52
I think that he was quietly saying to himself "How the hell are we going to eat all these nuts?"......They were in a rush and there wasn't time for the Prickly's...just a quick cuppa.

We still got plenty of nuts!!!!!!!! Haven't harvested this years crop yet.
FollowupID: 316387

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Karen - Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 20:14

Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 20:14
Willem, Andrew & Jen told us all about your famous"nuts" when they called in for a coffee on Friday. We might have to call in for a test taste in July when we go through.....................I love nuts...............LOL
Karen & Geoff
FollowupID: 316394

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 20:23

Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 20:23
Geoff and Karen...If you are as nice as Andrew and Jen and family you are most welcome. If not, just come anyway. Our house is always open and we have many visitors staying over or passing through.....that is, if we are home. Just don't flash your Exploroz Card here like one cheeky bugger did !!!!

Should still have some nuts left over by July.

FollowupID: 316398

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Karen - Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 20:54

Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 20:54
Well Willem, between you and me,(don't tell Andrew) Andrew & Jen & kids are lovley people, so friendly and polite. But can I just say, we are even nicer people again..................LOL. mmmmmmmmm well actually, no we are probably about equal, but don't tell Andrew, OK! LOL.
Karen
FollowupID: 316403

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Sunday, Apr 18, 2004 at 08:33

Sunday, Apr 18, 2004 at 08:33
I was only friendly and polite because I was sooooo tired from driving 1500 k's in about 30 hours. I am not normally like that. After meeting Karen, I would have to assume that Geoff is a special guy.......(now what way do you take that..... hahahaha)
FollowupID: 316476

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Karen - Sunday, Apr 18, 2004 at 18:47

Sunday, Apr 18, 2004 at 18:47
Yes Andrew, which way do I take that................LOL. Yeah he would have to be special to put up with me.........Bloody special.............LOL
Karen
FollowupID: 316528

Reply By: Member - Eskimo - Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 20:58

Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 20:58
hey willem!
never heard of maintenance. And for that matter taking oil samples once a year and have them analysed for wear metals???
ppm (parts per million) tells a lot after a couple of years
AnswerID: 54727

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 21:16

Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 21:16
Hey Richard!

Oil samples...hahahahaha.....maybe for those softie trucks you drive but my truck is a real machine made from steel and not plastic and silicone like yours. I doubt if the G60 gearboxes will ever wear out.

The ppm on the drain plug magnet was about 3mm thick and stood up like a punk hairstyle. Stuck my finger inside the box and it felt clean on the floor. The truck will probably outlive me!!!
FollowupID: 316408

Follow Up By: Member - Eskimo - Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 08:34

Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 08:34
Geez willem
if they can build houses and Ocean Going Pure Luxurious Yachts with silicone and plastic then its good enough for me....call me a softie if you will but i dont mind comfort!!!

Get with the times willem...regular oil analysis will show up wear up tear....which can prevent a more severe breakdown and hence keep repair costs to a minimum, not to mention the increased assurance when travelling remote areas....sounds good doesnt it hehehe

But honestly we use them in our industy for the larger compressors and the analysis is very accurate once a rew regular samples are plotted onto a graph. Larger trucking companies use them as well.

As for the 3mm of gunk....are you sure it wasnt some of your hair
FollowupID: 316598

Reply By: rolande- Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 21:38

Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 21:38
Willem,
For crunch box changes to be more fluid shouldn't the carbon-based control mechanism, (you), also be lubricated occasionally. Nothing like timing down changes in a G60, arms and legs everywhere.
Rolande
AnswerID: 54737

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 22:13

Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 22:13
Ahhhhh.......rolande...we can but dream....my lubrication days are over alas..............the gearbox is a Datto Truck 5 speed built by Marks Conversions. The old G60 doesn't need so many gearchanges and can idle around town in 4th gear.
FollowupID: 316427

Follow Up By: rolande- Sunday, Apr 18, 2004 at 20:49

Sunday, Apr 18, 2004 at 20:49
And to think, I used to dream about an all-synchro Celica 5 speed in the G60!
Rolande
FollowupID: 316544

Reply By: Bilbo - Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 21:59

Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 21:59
I'm with Willem on this one. My old 1989 Ford Mav ute never had a gearbox or diff oil change since I bought it - back in 1990. Since done 200,000 kms and changes gear like silk - better in fact than my current Toyota TD100 deisel cruiser (chnages gear worse than any truck I ever drove. Mind you the Mav is a Nissan, with what I reckon is the strongest trans ever put into a 4WD. Unburstable - Go Willem.

Bilbo - ex-truck mechanic from wayback
AnswerID: 54740

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 22:15

Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 22:15
Bilbo...yes I had only done 110,000km on the oil. Was prety black though and time for a change.....methinks :-) Must look at the diffs sometime.
FollowupID: 316429

Reply By: ianmc - Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 23:03

Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 23:03
The diffs Willem? They are the round pumpkins in the centre of each axle housing.
On some trucks they seem to slip off centre a bit!! LOL!

Just trying to be helpful!
AnswerID: 54761