cooper tyres

Submitted: Sunday, Apr 18, 2004 at 18:05
ThreadID: 12163 Views:1531 Replies:4 FollowUps:7
Planning ahead for my next set of tyres. I have a Rodeo 3.0 diesel.
I am thinking of Cooper s/ts.Has anyone had these on a Rodeo. and can
give some advice. Or any comments about cooper tyres.
Thanks waiting for your replys.
brian
ps Proberly do 70% offroad

Reply By: Willykj - Sunday, Apr 18, 2004 at 18:19

Sunday, Apr 18, 2004 at 18:19
Hi Brian,

I have a Jackaroo SE & use Coopers. When I upgraded I used Cooper AT's & after a trip to the Kimberley's etc I changed to ST's.

I strongly suggest you go with at least ST's - I have had no problems with them - the AT's were not suitable for hard & rough roads.

Willy
AnswerID: 54833

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 12:39

Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 12:39
Hi Willy, what size st's are you running on the jack ?? How are they in the mud etc.. I had a look at the st the other day as a possible option for the jack. and was quite impressed by the quality. Price was high but you get what you pay for i suppose. I know Jim loves his coopers and sells heaps of them over in Bendigo. Thanks, Brad
FollowupID: 316628

Follow Up By: Willykj - Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 12:50

Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 12:50
Hi Brad,
I'm running 245/75's - against the standard 245/70. I've only done around 10K on them so far but I have been very happy. I do some soft sand work & they are great. Has been through some mud with no problems. I'm going to Cape York later this year which will test them out!
Willy
FollowupID: 316630

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 14:28

Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 14:28
Thanks willy, thats the size i had seen, the only prob is that i will have to buy the spare as well !! ah well a small price to pay for more traction. Cheers, Brad.
FollowupID: 316656

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Tuesday, Apr 20, 2004 at 16:51

Tuesday, Apr 20, 2004 at 16:51
Sorry to be a pain Willy , i had a look in the cooper brochure today and saw that the 245 / 75 / 16 st tyres are available in 2 types , one is a metric passenger type with a load rating of 111s , the other type is a light truck type with a load rating of 120/116n.

Do you know which type you have on your jack ?

Ps. i see the stt tyre is also available in this size in light truck size.. whatta you reckon ??

Thanks buddy.
FollowupID: 316861

Follow Up By: Willykj - Tuesday, Apr 20, 2004 at 17:22

Tuesday, Apr 20, 2004 at 17:22
Hi Brad,
I have the Light Truck type - when I bought mine there wasn't a passeger type in that size as far as I know. It still doesn't show on the Cooper web site.
I wasn't interested in the STT as it would be for much more off road work than I do.
Willy
FollowupID: 316871

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 09:41

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 09:41
fantastic, thanks again Willy..
FollowupID: 317292

Reply By: Leroy - Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 12:04

Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 12:04
Hi Brian,

I had them on my Rodeo as well as another mate and was very happy with the way they were wearing and their performance. I had some chipping on the side lugs which would be expected but none of the chipping on the tread blocks that I have seen on a mates Patrol. Maybe because the Rodeo is a littler vehicle. Also I never had a puncture! Luck maybe....

Leroy
AnswerID: 54949

Reply By: Jeff (Beddo) - Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 13:58

Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 13:58
I've got Cooper ST on my Surf and I did the trip to the Kimberley, Gibb River Rd, Mitchell Falls, Bungles etc and they were great no punctures, some chipping on side lugs but there is a new version of the ST out now which I believe have fixed this issue. I'm happy with them though they are a little noisey on the road but you get that with the lugger tyres.
AnswerID: 54963

Follow Up By: Pluto - Tuesday, Apr 20, 2004 at 06:20

Tuesday, Apr 20, 2004 at 06:20
I experienced the same chipping problem on my Patrol. The bulk of which occured in the Pilbara. I have just replaced my first set of S/Ts with the new S/T-Cs. According to the reseller, they have reinforced the tread blocks and adopted a more chip resistant compound.

Now, if they added more stake resistance in the side wall, they would be the perfect tyre... ;-)
FollowupID: 316763

Reply By: Moose - Tuesday, Apr 20, 2004 at 13:57

Tuesday, Apr 20, 2004 at 13:57
With 70% off road work why aren't you looking at the STT? Brilliant tyre. Lasts well. Relatively quiet on road. Great grip off road. No mileage guarantee though.
AnswerID: 55133