Everyone's mad obsession with kw & nm

Submitted: Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 11:41
ThreadID: 12183 Views:1698 Replies:8 FollowUps:13
Half these pages seem to be filled with people's obsessions with ditronic, turbos, intercoolers etc in a desperate bid to increase power. Do people enjoy racing their diesels against each other? The upgrade industry relies on this mindset. How we all love to call our vehicles 'trucks', yet a base diesel Cruiser (which many bemoan for a lack of grunt) has a power to weight ratio 2 to 3 times better (including torque) than a genuine industry 'light truck' which hauls far greater loads.
Why is everyone in such a hurry? I thought we were supposed to be enjoying ourselves.
Is the truck now more important than the land we use it to see?

Reply By: Roachie - Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 11:55

Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 11:55
Hey bloke,
To me a car is a 4 wheel contraption, pretty low to the ground and which I have trouble getting into and out of (I'm 6' 2" and "only" 49 y/o). It is a vehicle which is okay on black top and good dirt roads, but nothing much rougher than that.

I call my Patrol a "truck" cos I want to....it's dressed up like a truck, has a gearbox which shifts like a truck's does (& weighs about as much as a small car LOL).

I'm not obsessed with Kw or Nm, but I understand why people are. The more of these commodoties available to the driver the better the vehicle's acceleration (that's a safety feature as far as I'm concerned); pulling power (for towing etc) and longevity prospects etc.

Mate, like most things on this forum, if there's something which people are talking about which you think is frivolous or a waste of your time to read etc.....simply steer clear of it....too easy.

AnswerID: 54948

Follow Up By: The Horse - Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 12:09

Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 12:09
don't get me wrong mr roachie,
I'm not upset or irritated at these entries, or people who want to spend their money on these things. I find it quite fascinating. I'm interested in what is making some people tick in this area. I don't subscribe to one way being better than another. If spending money brings some people joy, is there anything really wrong with that?
Horse
FollowupID: 316626

Follow Up By: Member - Mal (Brisbane) - Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 12:59

Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 12:59
Well in future I will describe the performance of my "horseless carriage" in "horsepower" and "pull". Did you know that the power of the average horse is about one third of a horse power. The same people are still making adds today.

Mal.
FollowupID: 316634

Follow Up By: The Horse - Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 13:14

Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 13:14
Mal - you're clearly more than a 'one trick pony'.
FollowupID: 316636

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 13:27

Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 13:27
One part of your question you seemed to have failed to adress is that light trucks as you say, dont normally have bigger tyres, and try and drive 30 deg inclines on mud, rock, sand, etc.

A vehicle liken the 3,.0 prado is very lean down low to meet emmisions we dont have in this country, is there anything wrong with tuning to meet local conditions and rules?

Extra grunt means less time on the wrong side of the road when overtaking, ussually more fuel efficiency in the modified vehicles I have had, more driver freinfly, more confidence inspiring, and more bang for your buck, if you can improve what you have to suit your needs better, then why not?

Which also leaves the answer to your question then, 'because you can" 8-)
FollowupID: 316639

Follow Up By: tessa_51 - Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 15:54

Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 15:54
doesn't really matter how much power you've got if you can't get it to the ground now does it? Remember somebody being "not bogged, only hung-up" but he still had to be pulled out!!

Tessa
FollowupID: 316665

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 17:37

Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 17:37
Hey Mal - I cannot believe that you are only a 'one trick pony' Hoots of laughter. Still hooting.
FollowupID: 316686

Follow Up By: Roachie - Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 17:50

Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 17:50
Tessa,

Who would that have been? Anybody I know?

FollowupID: 316693

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 20:25

Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 20:25
Geez Roachie....you are but a youngster and one inch shorter than me and I am in turn three inches shorter than Mrs Al's Mr Al. But I hear what you say...I have the same problem getting in and out of the Commodore but in my TRUCK...well.....when I sit in the drivers seat I can see over the top of a GQ with a 5" lift kit. It is a breeze sliding out of the seat on to mother earth!!!

I don't even know how much horsepower my old relic has. I know it is 3980cc and has 6 cylinders and idles with a soft gudgeon klonk. Sounds ever so sweetly.

Anyway I can't even get a wheelspin on loose gravel...hahahahaha

FollowupID: 316722

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 13:38

Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 13:38
G'day to The Horse.

I am bit like Roachie only older and taller and more cramped. My truck being a GU that weighs well over three tonnes takes a bit of horsepower to start and stop. I would love a simple method of getting it going without too much cost and cost of resources too.

If i go faster though I end up wrecking something so suspension is the requirement for attention for my comfort. I do think you have a little licence for exaggeration when "half these pages" are in a "desparate bid to increase power", aslo the "......mad obsession...."

Yes, of course a 3" mandrel bent would be great and some more boost in the turbo, but that is for the sand dunes where propulsion can be useful as I know it can sit all day at the SA limit of 110kph. Never for one up-manship......
AnswerID: 54957

Reply By: The Horse - Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 13:55

Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 13:55
Go Offroad - you seem to be implying that off road prowess depends on momentum to get you up most slopes. While this may be true in a few extreme cases, what about steady as she goes through traction/skill and not brute force?
semi trailers ascend and descend ranges in summer that overheat some conventional vehicles - because the trucks are operating within their limits.
Check out power figures and tyre sizes in trucks 5 - 10 tonnes, you may be surprised. These vehicles can work brutally hard and are expected to last far longer than conventional 4wd trucks.
AnswerID: 54960

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 16:41

Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 16:41
You havent done any 4wding in Vic in winter by the sound of that comment......whats cunningham gap 12 deg I think, Adelaide hills, 7 deg, and they are a steep long climb, still not 30 deg + though.

And once snow or rain are introduced, some Vic high country hills need 3rd low with large tyres, and a run up, and not many vehicles will do that standard with 35+ " tyres on.

Then when you mix larger tyres, high country altitude, and steep hills, even more grunt makes things easier to do, and carrying the right gear, as apposed to the lowest gear makes all the difference.
FollowupID: 316670

Reply By: Sparkie - Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 13:57

Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 13:57
My brother owns a 1997 navara 3.2 diesel ute. When we tow our 5.25 meter alum half cabin boat at the first sign of a hill it dies in the arse. we have on numerous occasions pulled over on the side of the road to let people pass. A basic hill and we are doing 60 kph in 4 gear and when the road winds it leaves no space for overtaking so GIMME MORE POWER and I will be not only happier but the car owners behind will thank me also. So if people talk about torque and kilowatts it may be just that they dont want to be the people who hold up traffic.

Torque,Torque,Torque,Kilowatts,Kilowatts,Kilowatts,Sunday drivers need more power;-)

AnswerID: 54962

Follow Up By: The Horse - Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 14:06

Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 14:06
Sparky - I think you probably hit it on the head. I think we all find it stressful holding up a km of traffic even if things are going slow but ok.
I remember reading how the German military used to frequently use their G-Wagen diesels (maybe 60ish kw?) to manoeuvre 20 tonne aircraft. These vehicles were apparently stock for over there. Sure, they weren't towing it up the Bulli pass...but...
FollowupID: 316650

Reply By: Topend - Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 17:22

Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 17:22
I love my Kw and Nm. It allows me to pass a road train without raising my pulse. Even with the boat on.

Topend
AnswerID: 54983

Reply By: Member - Brett H (QLD) - Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 18:44

Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 18:44
Having owned BIG trucks in the past with 14litre turbo cummins engins etc I do confess that I refer to my Troopy as "the car".

AnswerID: 54998

Reply By: Crackles - Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 20:12

Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 20:12
Too true Horse. Everyone should be made to drive a 2.2 diesel hilux for six months to appreciate how good a standard motor is today. Craig............
AnswerID: 55017

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 20:32

Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 20:32
Or a 1980 2 litre diesel Jackaroo....couldn't pull the skin off a rice pudding :-)
FollowupID: 316725

Reply By: The Horse - Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 21:54

Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 21:54
Maybe all this power has made some people woozy. Maybe we'll go the American way in oz and all end up driving 8Litre monster trucks with v10 engines. You know what they say..."the bigger the hat, the smaller the farm".
AnswerID: 55042

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 23:13

Monday, Apr 19, 2004 at 23:13
Sounds good Horse, then ill consider calling my truck a "VIPER" instead.
FollowupID: 316754

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Tuesday, Apr 20, 2004 at 19:27

Tuesday, Apr 20, 2004 at 19:27
Hey Horse, not that there is anything wrong with driving 8lt trucks with V10's if you wish.

My last 4wd before the prado was 7.5 lt...8-)
FollowupID: 316903