regarding post 12221"toughness - patrol vs cruiser"

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 20, 2004 at 22:29
ThreadID: 12237 Views:1593 Replies:12 FollowUps:17
Apologies to owners of either of these excellent vehicles if anyone was offended by some of the responses or follow-ups. My initial question regarded only 'toughness', as some noted. That happens to be what I am interested in. There is clearly more to a vehicle than just that. I was dissappointed by some negative follow-ups and hope they did not make any owners feel uncomfortable about their purchases. This was never intended and I will endevour to use this site more wisely in the future!

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Tuesday, Apr 20, 2004 at 23:06

Tuesday, Apr 20, 2004 at 23:06
Surely you dont think everyone is thin skinned????

Doesnt anyone on this forum have a sense of humor ;-)

And facts are facts, someone had to put them all in one thread sooner or later.
AnswerID: 55232

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 08:10

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 08:10
Have a look at my rig pic, that will tell my sence of humour.
FollowupID: 317018

Follow Up By: Mrs Diamond - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 13:42

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 13:42
sense of humour dissapeared a few months ago lol
FollowupID: 317077

Follow Up By: Wombat - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 15:06

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 15:06
I think "humour" may have taken wing and flown with the ducks.
FollowupID: 317100

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 00:03

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 00:03
Not to worry cob

You'll note those with serious vehicles didn't bother with the kindy goings on.

.............oops ....... now wait for it ................ ;-D
AnswerID: 55241

Follow Up By: rolande- Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 21:48

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 21:48
Rosco,
Mate purchased one of the last 130 utes in the country, got from Melbourne to Mildura on his way to the Kimberly when a major malfunction occurred in the transfer case - Land Rover picked up ute and gave him a 'cruiser ute to take to Darwin where his repaired vehicle will be shipped. Can happen to the best of you :)
Rolande
FollowupID: 317220

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 22:25

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 22:25
Don't I know it old mate .... but still love a stir ......... ;-))))))))
FollowupID: 317229

Reply By: chenj3 - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 06:52

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 06:52
Horse,

I have seen huge amount of debate on this subject and never seen any conclusive answers. This kind of Cruiser / Patrol only trigger un-necessary debate among either ownerd. I would suggest that if you want know the result you may want to have a test drive by yourself rather than expect a answer from this forum. Please forgive me if my comment offended you.

AnswerID: 55248

Follow Up By: The Horse - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 06:55

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 06:55
a test drive will simply not reveal what I originally asked. People seem to forget the original questions around here,
FollowupID: 317011

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 09:10

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 09:10
And you wont see one where peoples opinions are invovled, you pays ya monies, ya makes ya choice ;-)
FollowupID: 317029

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 06:54

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 06:54
Horse,
Don't let the self opinionated ones bother you mate. They're here to stay! They're at the pub too, and at your smoko shed, the local servo, etc..... everywhere. Whenever I "do-my-homework" on something like this, I always have to sift the biased opinions out of the mix, and this is something you have to do here. It doesn't matter who is wrong/right. There is no wrong/right. There is just opinion. And at the end of the day, your decision will be based on YOUR opinion of the information you are given. My opinions are quite important to me, but may not mean diddly-squat to you. I accept that. Other's should learn to accept it as well. Stick around here mate, it's a great forum, even with the Self Opinionated Few.
AnswerID: 55249

Follow Up By: The Horse - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 06:59

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 06:59
The responses didn't bother me tooo much, I was maybe unnecessarily worried about others as I am new to this site.
FollowupID: 317012

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 08:20

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 08:20
It would be a very boring world if everyones opinion were the same. Site's like this would'nt exist. Just my opinion !!

FollowupID: 317021

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 18:38

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 18:38
yep..... that's quite true, Baz. However, opinions such as the opinion you have opined above are not the opinions I was opinioning about. It's the self-important "my-views-are-right-and-yours-are-rubbish-unless-you-agree-with-my-opinions" opinions that I had in mind when I wrote the above bit. It's OK with me for you to have opinions, as long as it's OK with you for me to have opinions.
Oh..... and I thought of the "Just My Opinion" tag first! (Just kidding mate! Use it and abuse it!)
Just My Opinion
FollowupID: 317164

Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 08:30

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 08:30
Just an update on the toughness thing.....I broke the cardinal rule of driving a part time fourby over Easter in the Vic High Country and thankfully the GU survived unbroken. I made the (sometimes) fatal mistake of leaving the beast in H4 when I came out onto the black top following a drive up to Mt McKay. I had driven the 3-4 Km from the turnoff into Fall Creek before realising my mistake. I wouldn't do this intentionally but I'm satisfied that the engineering of the Patrol is tough alright - tough enough to compensate for my stupid mistake.
Pete
AnswerID: 55258

Follow Up By: Davoe - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 12:24

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 12:24
wasnt unusual for me to have the tojo ute dropped of to me on shift change still in 4wd -------- after 18km of blacktop driving
FollowupID: 317065

Follow Up By: Mrs Diamond - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 13:46

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 13:46
i think a lot have people have done it just wont admit it lol
i remember going from inskip point to rainbow beack and back in h4 it wasnt till i hit the sand and went to select h4 that i realised i thought the hard turning was low tyre pressures lol
FollowupID: 317078

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 18:42

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 18:42
Yep... I bet everyones done it. I have..... twice!!!!! didn't learn the first time obviously!!!!
But, strong drivetrain, No damage..... Whew!
FollowupID: 317165

Reply By: Member - Karl - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 10:17

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 10:17
Having read all of the threads I thought I would put in my 10c worth. Both vehicles are good, however, I believe that there are a number of things to consider and they are:

1. What you really need and can afford (a second hand Cruiser may be better than a new Patrol or visa versa),

2. Which year and model are you after,

3. Do you want petrol or diesel,

4. The individual vehicle - if it is second hand has it been well looked after and if it is new was it assembled on a Monday after a big weekend or on Wednesday (I hope you understand what I mean), and

5. Finally the ablitiy of the driver. No matter how good a vehicle is if the driver is hard on a vehicle or has poor driving skills (both on and off road) it's not going to last.

I own a 91 Series 80 turbo diesel, however, I also like Patrols and when it comes time to sell I will look at either Cruisers or Patrol, it will depend on all of the above with one proviso - I like diesels.

AnswerID: 55272

Reply By: Member - Karl - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 10:18

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 10:18
Having read all of the threads I thought I would put in my 10c worth. Both vehicles are good, however, I believe that there are a number of things to consider and they are:

1. What you really need and can afford (a second hand Cruiser may be better than a new Patrol or visa versa),

2. Which year and model are you after,

3. Do you want petrol or diesel,

4. The individual vehicle - if it is second hand has it been well looked after and if it is new was it assembled on a Monday after a big weekend or on Wednesday (I hope you understand what I mean), and

5. Finally the ablitiy of the driver. No matter how good a vehicle is if the driver is hard on a vehicle or has poor driving skills (both on and off road) it's not going to last.

I own a 91 Series 80 turbo diesel, however, I also like Patrols and when it comes time to sell I will look at either Cruisers or Patrol, it will depend on all of the above with one proviso - I like diesels.

AnswerID: 55273

Follow Up By: Moose - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 13:29

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 13:29
Hey Karl - you said you'd only put in 10c worth but you snuck in 20c worth!
FollowupID: 317074

Follow Up By: Member - Karl - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 18:59

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 18:59
Yeah - these things happen while you are surfing at work. You would think in these days of having time off for anything that they would give you time to surf the net without having to sneak it in. I don't know what this country is coming too.
FollowupID: 317169

Reply By: Davoe - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 10:32

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 10:32
Always good for a spoon stir. like my previos post suggested I havnt been able to directly compare the 2. I am not actually a big fan of the 100s as I think it is to big I am a ute man as they are built tougher and the well body utes at work are over 6inches narrower which is just the thing for those tight goldfields woodline tracks. when i get around to it I will be taking my landcruiser campervan to perth to sell and I intend to replace it with a ute with a canopy. I will probably get a lc ute but i will also be on the lookout for a patrol ute with coil springs so I can compare the 2
AnswerID: 55274

Reply By: Member - Peter (York) - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 12:09

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 12:09
Hi Ho the Horse , No problems mate , I just think we all love a good post topic to have a dig but it is all in good fun and keeps us coming back to the best site on the net , we have to be thick skinned these days or the things the Govt does to us would have us all hidding in the hills ..all the best to you and yours
AnswerID: 55291

Reply By: chrisfrd - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 12:55

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 12:55
It's like the Ford Vs Holden dispute. A bunch of bleep heads fighting over two equallybleephouse products!

Being that I get to drive a 2001 GU as my daily driver and 4x4, a Tojo 4.2 100 series cruiser (Live front-end and aftermarket blower!) and new Rodeo TD for work I can honestly say that they all have good and bad points.

The worst thing for my Patrol is the questionable engine (ZD-30) endurance, the Tojo has that damn wheel underneath the bloody car (the first thing we moved) and the Rodeo has CV joints and a Torsion front-end.

They all do EXACTLY the same in the bush though... You just have to take different lines and drive differently when needed.

Otherwise, it really comes down to getting the best vehicle to suit your tastes and needs.

AnswerID: 55298

Follow Up By: Davoe - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 13:34

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 13:34
Ford and holden equal? since when!
FollowupID: 317075

Follow Up By: chrisfrd - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 14:58

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 14:58
SEE WHAT I MEAN!!!!
FollowupID: 317097

Reply By: Topend - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 15:12

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 15:12
Cruiser or Patrol. Both are great. I have a LC100TD as I tow a large boat. It has the most torque. Other than that they are as good as each other. If I didn't tow a such a large boat I would save myself $20000 and buy a 3.0TD Patrol.

Topend.
AnswerID: 55316

Reply By: basecamp15 - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 20:57

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 20:57
Just a point on your original question horse.
I'm not a mechanic but some mates I know are and they have said specifically that they believe the Nissan Drivetrain is stronger than the cruiser in their experience and it's worth mentioning that some of these blokes have cruisers. Somewhere else in 4WD monthly (I believe it was the ute of the year) they mention the Patrol as being tougher but also said while the cruiser was not as tough, it was good enough.
Hope this sticks to your original theory.
Cheers, Mark.
AnswerID: 55391