Rubber piece on GU's inner front wheelarches

Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 15:53
ThreadID: 12259 Views:2201 Replies:9 FollowUps:10
G'day all,
Does anybody know how important the rubber bit's of rubbish are that Nissan put on the inner front wheel arches of the Patrols?
One of mine came loose at Easter (they're held on by a number of plakky buttons) and I took it right off as there was only holding it in place. They look like their only job in life is to stop sand, mud etc from getting into the motor, but when you consider how open the underbelly is, why would you bother?
Any ideas? My only concern is they may be there to act as part of the air flow set up, just like the little plakky air dam under the radiator.

Reply By: Leroy - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 16:02

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 16:02
Those rubber flaps were on my Rodeo as well. They seem to keep out mud that gets flicked around. You should be able to buy the clips that hold the rubber on as I use to replace the odd one every so often on the Rodeo. The Patrol ones are still in place.

Leroy
AnswerID: 55326

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 16:10

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 16:10
Thanks Leroy,
About half of the holes in the rubber bizzo are broken right through to the edge, so I might have to use large mud-flap type washers and bolts to clamp the thing firmly back in place....if it's worth doing at all.
FollowupID: 317117

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 17:00

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 17:00
Roachie, Keep on posting mate I am learning an absolute spitload about GU's, just please help me out and post all ideas together as running out to the driveway and checking something and coming back and finding out something else is sadly keeping me fit! wink wink nudge nidge

AnswerID: 55340

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 17:06

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 17:06
Bonz,
Don't make the same mistake as me; by taking your rubber bits for granted.......old chinese saying: Confuscious say "He who maintains his rubber in good condition, lives to spend money on his 4x4 instead of ankle biters". That might be a bit of a loose translation but it's the best I can do at this time of the day.LOL
FollowupID: 317140

Reply By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 17:37

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 17:37
The one's on mine, sorry ours also came of but they didn't tear so easy to fix. I'd keep them to stop mud & sand from motor. Try washers & self tappers .
AnswerID: 55353

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 17:40

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 17:40
Good idea Bob,
Will do that.
Thanx
FollowupID: 317149

Follow Up By: Member - Rick (S.A.) - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 18:13

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 18:13
roachie

I did the same repairs with self tappers & larger washers.

I figure Nissan put the apron there to stop mess. Thats OK with me, so I keep them intact as I can . When the tear holes get too big to repair, I will probably fashion a replacement from something I buy from Clark Rubber.

FollowupID: 317162

Reply By: Member - Jeffrey - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 18:13

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 18:13
Hi Roachie,
My GU is the same,I used black silicone to glue it back into place,I also use the silicone to remount the rear bumper tailights when they get knocked out as they do.
All The Best In Health And Wealth
Jeffrey (AKA JD)
AnswerID: 55360

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 17:05

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 17:05
Thanks Jeffrey,
I wouldn't have thought of the silicon idea.
FollowupID: 317379

Reply By: SupaMav - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 19:03

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 19:03
I bought some of the plastic "Christmas tree" pugs from SupaCheap and cut myself a new set of rubbers from some cheapie rubber car mats. Then I could use the existing holes withouth drilling any new ones. Also gave me a chance to modifiy them slightly to fit the body lift. Result . . . a little cleaner in the engine bay. The factory put them there, so they must be good for something. Just my opinion
AnswerID: 55370

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 17:07

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 17:07
Thanks mate,
I'll probably go with the self tappers and large washer idea.
FollowupID: 317380

Follow Up By: SupaMav - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 21:30

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 21:30
Just make sure that you do something about the sharp point from the self tapper protruding into the engine bay. Could result in a nasty scratch if you have to work on anything near the inside of the wheel arch.
FollowupID: 317442

Reply By: tim - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 20:43

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 20:43
Those rubber things and plastic pieces are a pain, because at Easter i picked up a stick and it went straight through the plastic piece at the back of the front wheel arch it and left a good hole.
Now i have to work out how to patch it so it doesn't look like crap
cheers Tim
AnswerID: 55389

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 17:08

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 17:08
Tim,
Yeh, that would really p*ss you off wouldn't it; having it go through the plastic like that....I've not heard of that happening b4.
I bet Mr Nissan would want about $50- for a replacement too!!!
FollowupID: 317381

Reply By: Moneypit - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 21:18

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 21:18
Roachie,

Happened to my 100 series before I converted to GUIII last year.

I fixed it using electrical ties. Make sure you use the black ones that are UV protected and then put it through the hole in the placky bit and then through the screw hole. Pull it tight and 'WALLA'. When you get the car real filthy its easy to get them off and clean all round the botton and cheap as chips.

Of course, you could always just stay on the bitumen. I keep getting told thats all my Nissan's good for. Fools................

AnswerID: 55396

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 17:10

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 17:10
Thanks Dave,
I'd be a bit worried about the cable ties cutting through the rubber; no worries on yours??
FollowupID: 317382

Reply By: rolande- Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 21:32

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 21:32
Roachie,
In my former days building cars, the apron fender area you mention is designed to keep all the rocks / mud / sand and other crap from getting into nooks and crannies where it can: 1/ put dints and paint scratches everywhere, and 2/ get into panel joints where it will cause rust. In a normal car, they are steel because they are a stressed member of the chassis. Manufacturers then spend ,000's spraying all sorts of deadener / rust proofing over the panel to stop the damage / rust. As the Patrol has a separate chassis this is all unecessary, (and expensive). To save costs on material/labour we therefore have the piece of rubber, which stops both 1/ and 2/ above at an economical price and is easily replacable when broken or worn out. It does have a use and I would be extremely reluctant to remove it. If you want to see how efficient, (read: cheap), an apron fender can get, look under the front of a new Hilux!
Rolande
AnswerID: 55399

Reply By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 00:32

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 00:32
Hi Roachie,

Same thing happened to my GU - left hand side. I figured it was worth while replacing to stop mud, water, etc splashing onto alternator, power steering pump, etc. I got a price from Nissan dealer - horrendously expensive @ ~ $70 pr for what is simply a piece of rubber sheet.

I purchased some rubber sheet from Clark rubber (~$5), except I purchased material three times as thick as std Nissan fit. The right hand side looked the same, so I removed it and used it as a template to make two new ones. Used a hole punch to make holes for the clips. The existing clips (that remained in place) held the new rubber in place. No issues since.

The left hand side was slighlty different but only for one hole at the base, due need to cut back the sheet a little for a flat fit. Right hand side covers the steering linkage which sticks out a little, so left hand side trimmed in one point to take up the slack.

Hugh
AnswerID: 55432

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 17:11

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 17:11
Hugh,
The heavier rubber sounds like a good idea too, so I guess I'll have to try to get my ass into a Clark Rubber shop, eh?
FollowupID: 317383