Post 12254...a record???

Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 19:43
ThreadID: 12265 Views:1306 Replies:4 FollowUps:21
Would post 12254 be a record 63 replies and follow ups in five hours. A touchy subject perhaps.

Reply By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 19:51

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 19:51
Hi Blackie..it's a beauty that's for sure..but I don't think it's a record yet...I think the record may be held by former member Diamond with his post about members jobs which from memory had about 130 responses.....Good ole Wombie though, he's got it for the last few months though....

AnswerID: 55379

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 20:12

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 20:12
What about 12221
AnswerID: 55382

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 20:45

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 20:45
Pesty What a truck!!!!!!!!!!!!! Are the coils they freds coils.

FollowupID: 317197

Follow Up By: Blackie - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 21:54

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 21:54
Diamonds post took three days to get to 63 posts. Post 12221 fell just a little short of 63 after five hours. What got me about 12254 was the speed that it grew. I don't think it will get much bigger but if you were to throw a log or two on you could probably stir it up .
I 've got to find something better to do with my time.
FollowupID: 317222

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 22:48

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2004 at 22:48
If the forum here used proper software, and had proper page layouts, some of the worthy topics would get a better run, and alot of the people wouldnt feel the need to repost the same thread to keep it on page 1......
FollowupID: 317241

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 06:53

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 06:53
y'know GO_OFFROAD if you were to shell out the fifty $ and join, it may tip the scales enough to get that "proper software"..... that you mentioned. Of course, you don't have to join, you can sit here for free and that's ok as well. And of course there are other forums you could go to which are free and have "proper page layouts" as well.... why don't you use them??? Personally I don't care whether you do or don't, but you seem to have a real knack of going off-topic and moaning about things that obviously aren't to YOUR liking. Even though I get a good laugh out of you, and your sooking, it gets a bit old y'know??
FollowupID: 317269

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 08:41

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 08:41
So your saying if I pay $50, that will change the software to a user friendly version?

And I see your a much better sook by your post than I could ever be, so grow up, and get over it bwian....

Everyone has an opinion, and they may not agree with yours, but that doesnt mean its worth less because I didnt pay $50, or it isnt in line with what you think.
FollowupID: 317287

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 13:47

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 13:47
Yeah GO_OFFROAD Paying $50 is going to change the software... What a stupid bloody question, get real or get off.
FollowupID: 317338

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 15:36

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 15:36
GO_OFFROAD
At no point did I ever say that your money would change the software. The point was that you could;
A) Join the forum and contribute financially to it's growth

B) Stay a visitor and utilise the forum free-of-charge

C) Go elsewhere to a forum who's software and page layout may be more to your particular tastes.

Like I said, I don't care whether you do or don't, and also like I said, the posts of yours that I have read (granted I probably haven't read them all) have managed to wander off-topic just far enough to give you space to vent your opinion. We can all be guilty of doing that but I must say you have managed to take it to a higher level!

And it ain't me that's sooking, I get a good laugh out of your posts.... I got much bigger things to worry about that you, GO_OFFROAD

FollowupID: 317360

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 16:33

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 16:33
I would have to say I object to your obsession with me Brian, as you seem to want to continue to reply, and tell me what I should do....

I am already doing one of the above, and can voice my opinion as I wish, as you can yours, though i would never try to convince you there were alternatives....

And JeffM, I was only asking for clarification of his statement, I wasnt impying anything, but rather than tell me to go, Im sure your free will should allow you to leave any time also if you see something you didnt wish to......
FollowupID: 317365

Follow Up By: Blackie - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 16:35

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 16:35
I'm curious GO-OFFROAD could you direct me to a forum that uses what you regard as better software. I check out a few on a regular basis and most have their faults. I reckon this is one of the better ones even if posts do dissappear due to the popularity of the site.
FollowupID: 317366

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 16:45

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 16:45
G'Day Blackie,
you may note I havent said no software has its issues, though being able to split posts into catagories, like 4wdm, ih8mud etc, allows people to read only the subjects they wish too, and give the forum some structure, without going through every thread in one area, and topics drop off the page so quickly.

And top this off with people sending 2nd and 3rd topics on the same to keep the topic on the first page, I think, shows a need for at least 3 areas to be made available, for tech, travel, and general at least.

General software also helps keep the current topics at the top, if they are moved to the top when replied too, instead of emails for follow ups, but not replies, and a little less advertising, would also make the screen "less busy"

I must say Im also amused byt he constant tilt toward people saying you should pay money to be here, surely that is purely choice, as no one held a gun to anyones head im sure to start this forum free, and / or to stay here and contribute,a s its all about choices, just like wether you choose to saty or go, pay or not pay, reply or not reply.

You do what you do because you choose too.
FollowupID: 317369

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 16:50

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 16:50
GO_OFFROAD, a lot of forums I go to other than this one that have split catagories, everything ends up going into general anyway! You end up not being able to find what you want anyway! I like this forum, and I find it very easy to use, that's why I joined up. It's the only time I've paid to be a member of anyting on the net. Fine if you don't want to pay, use it for free! But if you don't like the forum, there are many many many others out there.
FollowupID: 317370

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 16:55

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 16:55
"I would have to say I object to your obsession with me Brian, as you seem to want to continue to reply, and tell me what I should do...."

Obsession????
ROTFLMFAO!!!

You flatter yourself!
FollowupID: 317371

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 16:58

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 16:58
I dont know which you frequent, but if a moderator doesnt stop selfish people from posting in the wrong sections, then you end up with a forum that is just a bunch of posts on what people want, where they want....I have been on many forums, and still am, as well as email lists in my 10 odd years on the net, and the ones that attract people who cant show some respect, and do what is required, are the ones that attract the least worthy technical content, and have the largest noise to signal ratio.

Now before you put any more words in my mouth, I never said I didnt like the forum, I simply said I felt it could be improved, my opinion, Im welcome to, Im sure you will agree.

Now do we continue to go around in circles here, or would you like to get back on topic?
FollowupID: 317374

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 17:00

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 17:00
FollowUp 12 of 13 posted 22 Apr 2004 at 16:55
Member - Brian (Gold Coast) posted this followup

"I would have to say I object to your obsession with me Brian, as you seem to want to continue to reply, and tell me what I should do...."

Obsession????
ROTFLMFAO!!!

You flatter yourself!

[end quote]

Well your posts speak volumes, without me needing to flatter myself Brian, as I see you responded again, am I pushing my luck attempting to get one more from you......;-))))))))))))))))))))))
FollowupID: 317377

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 17:15

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 17:15
GO_OFFROAD, I believe you were the person that strayed off topic to begin with. I am sure that David and Michelle work very hard in keeping this forum going and as you are now probally aware people that use this forum for what it's designed for will stick up for the hard work they put in. Especially when people express their opinions in a way that is almost insulting to them and their work.

But feel free to express your opinion, it just doesn't mean other people on here have to like it and you just need to accept that mate.

FollowupID: 317384

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 17:27

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 17:27
Wether I strayed or not, was never in dispute, if you read the thread, but it has been held off topic by people questioning the right to an opinion, I already accept there is more opinions than mine, it would be good if you could as well.
FollowupID: 317389

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 17:35

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 17:35
Ummm... Isn't that what I just said?
I'm off now to finish planning my trip away, have fun with it mate, each to their own, whatever gives you your jollies.
FollowupID: 317392

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 18:05

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 18:05
Well its pretty obvious it isnt what you said, though it may be what you meant to say........................................
FollowupID: 317397

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 07:58

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 07:58
My Rig Pic question got the most responses I think. Even surpassed the erstwhile Member Diamond. Got something like 50 replies and 70 something follow-ups. Unfortunately the thread spilled over in to a very heated and nasty debate and David had no choice but to remove it. So that doesn't count, does it?
AnswerID: 55449

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 18:14

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 18:14
ROTFLMFAO! You just can't do it can you GO_OFFROAD, haa haa haa, you just have to have one last comment. Gotta have the last word, alright mate reply to this, Get a life moron. Good night.
AnswerID: 55537

Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 19:50

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 19:50
Sorry Jeff, you lose. You stooped the lowest.
FollowupID: 317418

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 10:56

Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 10:56
Yeah Crackles, I cop low blows on here all the time from morons like that for much less. I probally shouldn't have let him stir me up as that's probally all he was trying to do from the start was waste this sites money by posting something he new would upset people, I will go back to ignoring time wasting bottom licking comments in future.
FollowupID: 317493

Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 22:29

Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 22:29
Yes Jeff it seems that at times when our opinions are being challenged we often don't notice that the other party is just having a bit of a stir, but you must admit it does make the site a whole lot more interesting.
I must say William set me going the other day before I realized.
Cheers Craig..................
FollowupID: 317561