Test run

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 19:03
ThreadID: 12298 Views:1580 Replies:18 FollowUps:5
Having decided not to go ahead and buy a diesel 4by( mainly for remote outback travel) I have had to reconfigure my fuel requirements.

Heading off tomorrow going east from Peterborough via station tracks to the Darling River, then north to Menindie, Mutawintji,White Cliffs, Camerons Corner, Innaminka, Birdsville and home over a two week journey. 80% dirt roads and tracks. Have loaded the truck with 230 litres of fuel and am carrying a further 140litres in the trailer. This should bring up any issues about the trailer and the load of fuel onboard and if the rig set-up can handle it all. Trailer is only running on slipper springs but I am looking at lifting the springs above the axle and fitting normal springs and shocks at a later date.

Should get around 25/100 consumption on a bad day and 20/100 on a good day. If we take all the days as bad then I will have a range of around 1500km.

Shall report back, no doubt after the trip.

Reply By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 19:06

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 19:06
Enjoy the trip Willem and have a safe one. Keen to hear the report on your return.

cheers,
Sam.
AnswerID: 55548

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 19:15

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 19:15
Have a good one Willem, say hello to Ruth.

AnswerID: 55554

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 19:16

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 19:16
Have a good one digger
AnswerID: 55555

Reply By: cokeaddict - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 19:18

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 19:18
Best of luck mate,
Wish i was following you, I could do with a trip about now. getting itchy fingers, need to excape again soon.
AnswerID: 55557

Reply By: Member - Sparky - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 19:20

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 19:20
Willem
Wish I could come! :(
I always enjoy reading about your trips (with envy).
Have an enjoyable trip...keep safe.
Sparky
AnswerID: 55559

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 19:20

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 19:20
You lucky bugger!!!!

Good on you Willem, wish I was going out there as well....

Have a good trip!
AnswerID: 55560

Follow Up By: Member - Brett H (QLD) - Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 22:57

Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 22:57
That is what I was going to say.
FollowupID: 317562

Reply By: Pete G - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 19:29

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 19:29
Willem,

Safe travels.
Petrol is still the cheapest part of motoring (as my old man used to say) Ten grand or so buys a lot of petrol. Yours will not cost $15 grand to rebuild like mine - ah the joys of technology and you could do yours in the bush using a couple of mums alo saucepans.

How long have you been in Peterborough??. You may know someone I do (I am an ex croweater!!! ex the Riverland).

Mate hope you have a good radio - just turn it up a bit to drown out that gudgeon knock. Still I suppose that is your way of knowing that things are still turning.

Pete G

AnswerID: 55561

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 21:06

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 21:06
Pete,

Cost me $890 to rebuild my old truck engine four years ago. New pistons and all.

Have only been living in Peterborough since '99. Contact me by email thru my website and tell me your friends name. Might just know them.

No radio in the truck. The gudgeon knock is only audible when she's idling.

FollowupID: 317433

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 20:39

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 20:39
have a safe and enjoyable trip willem dont eat to many yabbies
AnswerID: 55567

Reply By: Sparkie - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 20:48

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 20:48
Good luck and enjoy your holiday.

Sparkie
AnswerID: 55571

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 21:20

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 21:20
Thanks for the good wishes everyone. Will try not to eat too many yabbies up north...that is to say if Andrew and Jen and Pesty and Mrs Pesty haven't eaten them all!!!

AnswerID: 55581

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 22:03

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 22:03
Willem have a great trip and its not use that eat all the yabbies is it Andrew, must be someone else since we were there! LOL
FollowupID: 317447

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 23:01

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 23:01
Jeez Willem - I am getting the blame for eating all the Yabbies......Now that is untrue...... I reckon that I ate about 346545 of them but one did fall out of the nets and it was a mature female. By the time you get there she will have given birth and replenished the stocks.

By the way, I have a pair of multigrips in my study and I am crushing you nuts with them and then nibbling on them at this very minute. Such a treat - now about that bottle of prickly pear juice you were going to give us....... do not take it to Ruth!

PS - don't forget the Exploroz card.
FollowupID: 317462

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 23:04

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 23:04
....and have a fantastic trip....... if your trip is half the fun that we had it will be the trip of a lifetime!
FollowupID: 317463

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 21:25

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 21:25
Willem, have a bonza time mate, having read most of your website stories I know you will make it your best to do so.

Will look forward to your return yabbied out and all.
AnswerID: 55583

Reply By: John - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 21:30

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 21:30
Hiya Willem
Be good and if you can't be good, Be good at it my friend.

If you have any problems just give me a ring, I'm looking for any excuse to get out of town and driving to Outback SA to snatch you out would be fun. LOL.

Take care. Talk when you return.

Kind Regards

AnswerID: 55585

Reply By: Mrs Diamond - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 21:46

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 21:46
drive safely
have fun
be safe
enjoy
bugger lol
AnswerID: 55589

Reply By: ianmc - Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 22:16

Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 22:16
Good idea about those springs Willem. I hate em.
Sad to see new & expensive trailers taking on the outback with slippers & underslung.
Would have saved lots if you were in the diesel!
AnswerID: 55599

Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 00:31

Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 00:31
"on the road again"

happy travels
you just cant keep still our hello to all you meet from the forum
AnswerID: 55611

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 09:56

Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 09:56
"Yabbie-da, Yabbie-da, mate Have a good one.

Birdsville is looking good for me for the races this year, then LCMP and Fraser Is.
AnswerID: 55627

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 11:57

Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 11:57
Willem, I'm probably too late....you're probably left already; hope you have a safe and enjoyable trip ol' mate.
AnswerID: 55635

Reply By: TheUndertaker - Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 22:36

Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 22:36
Have a good un, shall await your embellished report upon your safe return to the EO fold ;) lol
AnswerID: 55703