Off the beaten track - best places to see

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 22, 2004 at 23:55
ThreadID: 12308 Views:2081 Replies:9 FollowUps:10
OK seasoned travellers - we've bought a Bushtracker Caravan. I'd love to hear about the best places you've been in Oz. Where? how did you find out about the place? how did you find how to get there? is it "caravan compatible"? best time of year? There's a lot of Oz i want to see, and don't want to go right past some of the best sights.

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 00:12

Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 00:12
"and don't want to go right past some of the best sights. "

Unless you plan to travel nonstop for 5-15 yrs you wont see everythign in one trip.

Dont even plan to see most on the first time, you will kill yourself, or end up with a National Lampoons Wally World trip kinda holiday..

Where are you would make things little easier to start with.

What car are you towing with too...
AnswerID: 55609

Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 07:22

Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 07:22
If you've got a BushTracker -
1. You must have been rich to start with (hahah - just a joke)
2. Why worry about Caravan Compatible.
3. Don't make a plan - they always fail - just go, wake up and say, which way today - left or right, no stuff it, stay here another couple of days.
4. Do your own thing, don't get hung up on how much fuel, what performance, which tyres
Just go and enjoy the experience.
AnswerID: 55614

Follow Up By: Rod W - Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 09:08

Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 09:08
Right on Ruth.
FollowupID: 317482

Follow Up By: Member - Gajm (VIC) - Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 11:29

Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 11:29
Thats probably some of the best advice I have heard in a long while
FollowupID: 317497

Follow Up By: Diesel 1 - Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 09:12

Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 09:12
G'day Ruth,

You're right on the mark there. Back in '99 the bride & myself left central Qld (Sapphire) for a trip to Darwin and come across the Variety Club Bash in Mt Isa and we figured that it would be a lot of fun to travel with them for a bit. We ended up camped in your caravan park for a week, spent another week on the Cooper near Windorah, a few days on the Darling at Bourke and then continued our run to Darwin via Newcastle.

It was one of the best trips we have ever done because we couldn't give a damn about planning.

Diesel 1
FollowupID: 317578

Follow Up By: motherhen - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 00:20

Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 00:20
Point 1 - Rich - not any more - LOL

Damn, the lotto ticket only won me $20 and my credit card is looking sad - so have to work for a bit b4 we can become true grey nomads.
FollowupID: 317675

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 15:05

Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 15:05
That must be the $20 I didn't win last night - wanted it as a down payment on the step of a Bush Tracker. Only envious. We are doing our jobs so we can become grey nomads also. See you on the track one day (soon, I hope).
FollowupID: 317719

Reply By: Mike - Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 09:54

Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 09:54
1; To quote from the Life of Brian "You lucky, lucky bastard"

2; As has been said above, decide each morning which way you want to go.

3; See 1 above.

Happy trails, Mike.
AnswerID: 55626

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 11:15

Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 11:15
Oh Happy Trails - I've missed you. Are you o.k.? Have you been on a "real" holiday I hope.
FollowupID: 317496

Follow Up By: Mike - Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 15:34

Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 15:34
Hi Ruth. No "real" holidays recently unfortunately. After my last batch of chemo finished in Feb, the specialist said I was well eneogh to go back to work.........shock! Horror!.......... so I got a job. So apart from working at the Grand Prix and Clipsal 500 and a camping trip over Easter, I've been working. Oh well, it brings in the pennies, I suppose.

With the trips we've got planned for the rest of this year, Chris doesn't think she'll have eneough holidays to fit in a trip to Birdsville, but I'm still working on it.

I was only 5 numbers off retiring though last Saturday night, hehehe. I just keep buying those tickets and who knows?

Keep up the good work Mate, enjoyed the flood reports, hope to see you soon.

Happy trails, Mike.
FollowupID: 317526

Reply By: Moose - Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 13:13

Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 13:13
Motherhen - there's a lifetime's worth of great spots to see in this great land of ours. All those that are caravan compatible (and those that aren't) can be found in a myriad of guide books. Go to any good book store and take your pick.
AnswerID: 55642

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 13:28

Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 13:28
I agree with you all. It is refreshing to read a forum that isn't full of

* self made subject matter experts

* anal retentives that must loose years off their life worrying about towball weights, tyres, fuel prices consumption, etc, etc.

I think it was about trip 3 we gave up on even caring about fuel consumption.

We have a road van, Jayco Freedom. We have taken it places it isn't meant to go. Drive carefully, know the limits of your rig, towing vehicle and yourself.

We're planning our next trip from Darwin to the Gold Coast. The only limit to us is time. I can't wait to get back on the road.

Enjoy
FollowupID: 317511

Reply By: TonyT - Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 13:41

Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 13:41
Just do it
AnswerID: 55644

Reply By: Wombat - Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 14:22

Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 14:22
Motherhen,

Good luck to you. I can only give you one piece of advice and it consists of three words; "ASK A LOCAL".
AnswerID: 55652

Reply By: bob - Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 19:45

Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 19:45
I don't know where you are Motherhen, but if you are ever in SA don't miss
Gawler Ranges, Lake Gairdner, Coffin Bay and surrounding area, Flinders Ranges (northern part is better), Innamincka, Coongie, Robe (beach drive), Glenelg River.
Over the border in Vic, I reckon the most remote part of the Murray is north of the Paringa - Mildura road. We call it Lindsay Point near lock 7. In summer add 5-10 deg to est max for Renmark or Mildura! Don't go there straight after rain unless you like driving in modelling clay.
I have just come back from visiting eastern Vic while on Long Service leave; Croajingolong, the Prom, Snowy etc. Sensational country, good caravan parks or remote camping - whatever you want. I came home via Alpine Way, Swan Hill etc. Great drive.
Enjoy yourself in the new van, and safe travelling.
AnswerID: 55682

Reply By: bob - Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 19:45

Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 19:45
I don't know where you are Motherhen, but if you are ever in SA don't miss
Gawler Ranges, Lake Gairdner, Coffin Bay and surrounding area, Flinders Ranges (northern part is better), Innamincka, Coongie, Robe (beach drive), Glenelg River.
Over the border in Vic, I reckon the most remote part of the Murray is north of the Paringa - Mildura road. We call it Lindsay Point near lock 7. In summer add 5-10 deg to est max for Renmark or Mildura! Don't go there straight after rain unless you like driving in modelling clay.
I have just come back from visiting eastern Vic while on Long Service leave; Croajingolong, the Prom, Snowy etc. Sensational country, good caravan parks or remote camping - whatever you want. I came home via Alpine Way, Swan Hill etc. Great drive.
Enjoy yourself in the new van, and safe travelling.
AnswerID: 55683

Reply By: Crackles - Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 23:48

Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 23:48
Gaday Motherhen. Unlike some previous responses I believe that alot more planning needs to be done when you tow a big van. To just wake up and decide each morning "lets go this way" will eventually lead to trouble. As Moose said detailed maps and guide books will get you going but talking to fellow travellers, rangers, tourist imformation centres and of course the locals is where you will find the 'best sights'.
To get you started in Victoria you could try some of my favorite spots. (in no order)
* Wyperfeld Nat Park & Big Desert. Camp @ Wonga camp ground.
* Pineapple flat on the King River. (near Craig's Hut)
* Murray River between Yarrawonga & Echuca.
* Talbotville near Dargo.
* McKillops bridge on the Snowy River.
* Jamieson on the Goulburn river.
* Mt Buffalo & Bright.
* Portland Sand Dunes.
* Whalhalla.
* Grampians.
All these sites you can get an offroad van in & set up a base camp to explore the area.
Cheers Craig.....................
AnswerID: 55712

Follow Up By: Member - Gajm (VIC) - Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 15:18

Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 15:18
Craig i don't think anyone was actualy saying don't have a plan as such. i took Ruths advice as relax, and enjoy the freedom of choices you have, don't become a slave to a shedule and all the things that can make a trip a chore instead of a fantastic experience, it's advice i am going to take up in future as i have been caught with a bloody clock in my head telling me i should have been somewhere by now, and as a result had a very tense trip, my own doing entirely.
FollowupID: 317609

Follow Up By: Crackles - Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 17:33

Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 17:33
The biggest mistake I made in my early touring years was not to plan enough. I find my self going back to areas now I've already been because last time I drove straight past the best sights not knowing they were there. I'm with you though, toss away your watch before you go.
FollowupID: 317627