MK Coils springs

Submitted: Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 18:52
ThreadID: 12318 Views:1253 Replies:3 FollowUps:1
Gday all

Could someone ples advise me as to my options for fitting coils springs to my MK LWB turbo diesel.

I have fitted reset leaves and want to know what benifits coils would provide as well as any limitations they might bring

Rich

Reply By: Member - John - Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 20:14

Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 20:14
Rich, had the coils fitted to my MK shorty 10 years ago, transformed it. Mate had his LWB done shortly after and he was very happy. Sold the shorty a few years ago, have a GU ute now, with the leaf sprung rear and aux coils fitted, much better ride. Only limitation I found was that the caster needed adjusting, nearly thru me off the road the first time I drove it and the wobbles started. But that was easily fixed. Drove the Simpson and the Canning in my shorty and the ride was great. Had them fitted by Outback Engineering in Lilydale Vic, have there address somewhere if you need it. Can recommend them. If you plan to keep the MK, do it, you will not regret it.

AnswerID: 55689

Reply By: rich00 - Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 22:16

Friday, Apr 23, 2004 at 22:16
Much appreciated John

Just wanted to know did you lose wheel travel and also how much it cost even though it was along time ago

Rich
AnswerID: 55701

Follow Up By: Member - John - Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 18:59

Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 18:59
Rich, didn't lose any wheel travel actually gained, because it lifts the car to where it should be and I think it was about $700-800.

FollowupID: 317633

Reply By: IXP10R - Thursday, Apr 29, 2004 at 22:02

Thursday, Apr 29, 2004 at 22:02
I assume you are talking about converting your leaves to coils not just adding coils in the leaves. I thnk this would be a bit more costly than $700 to $800. It involves cutting welding sourcing the setups engineering etc etc etc. Probably cheaper to sell and by GQ.
Hope it helps
AnswerID: 56634