3.0ltr bites the dust
Submitted: Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 11:00
Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney)
Well our w/end at Wollondilly is over, made it as far as Campbelltown & the Nissan started to shudder so I thought it was a flat untill I looked in the rearview mirror & saw all the smoke. So now I wait till Tuesday to take it in to find out if it's the turbo or motor, lucky I got the extended warranty.
Reply By: Jimbo - Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 11:12
Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 11:12
Bob,
How many K's has it done?
Follow Up By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 11:30
Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 11:30
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 11:25
Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 11:25
Gee thats rare....
Follow Up By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 11:35
Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 11:35
Hey Truckster so mister nissan do's nt have an excuse to knock back warranty do you know how to disconnect the dtronic , I have unpluged & pulled it off but I think I have too change the wiring loom around
Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 15:34
Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 15:34
You should be able to unplug the dtronic, and plug your loom straight back into the ecu, about a 10 minute job.
I would then ask the mods to delete this thread so no one knows you had a dtronic fitted, as your warranty will be void if nissan know you had one installed.
And if the smoke was white, along with the vibration, and knock, [oil getting past hole[s] in pistons it will be no gauze filter........]
Follow Up By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 15:50
Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 15:50
Thanks GO , I scratched my head for a while & figured it out & I agree piston gone but time will tell.
Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 19:12
Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 19:12
"Piston broke?"
"Yeah, me too..."
Reply By: Member - AndrewPatrol - Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 13:08
Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 13:08
Why dont you ask the fitter?
Follow Up By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 13:22
Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 13:22
Because they arn't there today & I want to take it to the dealer on tuesday morning
Reply By: Member -ace ( SA ) - Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 14:04
Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 14:04
sorry to read about your patrol Bob, i'm on 71,000 at the moment, also have the extended warranty, but hell, nissan had better do the right thing by you, you would think by now that with all the publicity, and bad publicity at that, nissan would aknowledge to the patrol owners of this engine that there is cause for concern, the motor going is one thing but it's the inconvenience of where , when and the time wasted in all the pis##ng around to get something done, time for them to step up, just like my poor beloved
richmond tigers, not sure who is the worst performer at the moment, hope all goes
well for you both, regards, Adrian.
Reply By: dingdong - Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 14:09
Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 14:09
HI Bob & Lex
You will find that your problem will definately be a blocked gauze filter in where your fuel inlet line enters your injection pump .It is in under a valve that you need to lift out &you will need an O ring pick or similar to hook the filter out then blow out with air & then replace all components you can do it all yourself have heard of people paying big $ to get towed to garage only to find its a 5 minute job .
Cheers dingdong .
Whiskey 746
Follow Up By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 14:27
Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 14:27
I don't think so dingdong. severe vibration , heaps of smoke & knock in motor, not fuel blockage
Reply By: dingdong - Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 14:48
Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 14:48
HI
Trust me am diesil mech have been there wish I was a bit closer I could make a buck out of this. let me know the outcome .
Cheers dingdong .
Follow Up By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 15:17
Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 15:17
I hope your right as I was going to
Birdsville in 2 weeks
Follow Up By: hoffy - Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 15:21
Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 15:21
Dingdong are you sure about the gauze filter on the 3.0l donks? I can't find one on my engine. I have been told that it is only on the 4.2l Patrols.
I could be wrong.
Bob & Lex
Sorry to hear about the Patrol. What year build is your vehicle?
I have a 5/ 2001 build and hoping that it is not one of the duds.
All the best with Mr Nissan
Graeme.
Follow Up By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 15:47
Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 15:47
dingdong, you piped my couriosity as i didn't think the 3ltr had a injector pump as its direct injection so i went & looked as i've been caught in our trucks by same thing & no pump.
hoffy ours is 7/2000 & 75,000 ks
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 13:06
Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 13:06
LMAO top class diesel mechanic ....
Call Nissan Assist, get them to come sort it out
Reply By: dingdong - Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 17:38
Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 17:38
Hi all.
Have just been talking to my local fuel injector & turbo specialist he says what I have said previously is correct all models have this gause filter located as I described what ever model . Later models do have a variable turbo which does fly apart on a regular basis though . When gause filter clogs they smoke like crazy & white smoke at that & miss , knock , rattle & carry on like they are going to blow up . All models have the injection pump whether they have a heap of electronics or computors or what .Also i dont think some of you uder stand the difference between direct injection & unit type injection equipment .
Cheers dingdong.
Whisky 746
Follow Up By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 18:51
Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 18:51
We wil all know the answer next week & I will ask them about the filter & find out where it is.
Reply By: ruts - Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 19:39
Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 19:39
Bob& Lex
Thanks for your reply to my post on caravan parks re
Bourke. I wrote you a note re 3ltr TD on that post. Cheers & good luck.
Reply By: fourstall2000 - Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 19:58
Saturday, Apr 24, 2004 at 19:58
Bob,as my engine blew over Xmas,I can tell you that if the pistons are holed you get copious amounts of BLUE smoke issuing,eventually emptying the sump.
I hope I am wrong but 2000 is the troublesome engine and it is more than likely engine failure.
The good news is that you will get a new donk from Nissan if you claim it.
Follow Up By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 09:04
Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 09:04
Oh I will claim it
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 13:07
Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 13:07
THere was one bloke only that Ive heard of and that was on this board, he somereason DIDNT get a new donk as it was a few weeks out of warranty.. thats justbleepI reckon, but you will be sweet with extended.. Im shocked nissan havent cancelled the extended option !!!
Follow Up By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 13:41
Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 13:41
maybe they figure it covers the labour costs
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 15:09
Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 15:09
Who knows, but hey hope it works for you, Bill for rebuild on one is upwards of $12,000...
FIaFIO
Fix
IT
and
F
It
Off!
Follow Up By: Leroy - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 20:12
Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 20:12
I see no real need to FIaFIO as it will have the new 3.0 motor, loom and ECU. The newer 3.0 hasn't had the same chequered history as the older ones so no real reason to update then. There hasn't been any first hand reports of late model 3.0 motors going south (only the odd hear say). But I will keeping an eye out and may extend the warranty accordingly. I would be interested to hear how you go claiming with the extended warranty but then others that haven't had it have not had a problem.
Leroy
Reply By: uppy - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 00:47
Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 00:47
Hi Bob and Lex . sorry to hear about your Patrol, I dont know much about the 3lts , but i hate hearing about good people having problems .I hope it is only the problem that Danglonge said. All the best.
regards uppy
Follow Up By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 09:04
Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 09:04
Thanks uppy
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 13:09
Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 13:09
PS bob, theres another really cold member of this board, who wont speak up ;) who traded his 3.0 in few weeks ago on a new 100 series Diesel Auto...
He also had to put off planned trips as 1) the 3.0 had blown up, and 2) he didnt feel confident in the car anymore.
Follow Up By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 14:08
Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 14:08
I'd thought off that but I can't afford to fitout a new one
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 16:33
Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 16:33
Secret Squirrel sold ALL his goodies from his 3.0 in club mag, I thnk all he has left is the fuel tanks, sold lockers the works, and then it doesnt hurt so bad when you start again.
I got some evidence photos of his 100 withbleepty
suspension travel here but will show him first before I have a laugh with others :P :P :P
You also can make changes to things you wish you had done differently.
But the purchase price also hurts with no KY ...
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 23:03
Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 23:03
G'day Bob and Lex,
Very sorry to hear that you've been added to the dreaded "list".
I have very close friends with a 7/2000 model 3ltr (auto) and I'm just hoping theirs will be okay as we have a joint trip to
Cape York in September/October.
I wish you all the best with Nissan after sales service. Don't take any sh*t from them.
Reply By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 13:50
Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 13:50
Took the patrol to dealer tihs morning & they said sounds like 2 pistons gone. 3 weeks to get new motor out from japan. Talking to the service manager & he said a mate of his also died on the weekend, they also returned 1 today to a guy who had 200,000 ks up , mr Nissan gave him new motor & he paid labour ( no warranty ) . He said the 3 series motor was redesigned ( pistons & combustion chamber ) & there's no point rebuilding motor as it will just happen again. Cost $14,000 warranty price for motor & if you had to pay it would cost about $20,000 inc labour. They took me to Budget to pick up loaner & the lady behind the counter thought I was there to pick up one of their's that had also died.
Reply By: Peter McGuckian - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2004 at 11:50
Wednesday, Apr 28, 2004 at 11:50
Sounds as if Nissan are certainly doing the right thing with these failures. Also good for those of us with the updated motor that they did make some changes. Enjoy the new motor.
Reply By: IXP10R - Thursday, Apr 29, 2004 at 21:58
Thursday, Apr 29, 2004 at 21:58
Just for the record i have read somewhere in the last twleve months or so that the early 3.0 td motors had oil flow problems due to a sump and pump pickup problem this causes the oil especially at 100klms plus highway driving to falter in the sump and a result of this is motor failure i think there was a major recall too on some build dates. If anyone can clarify that would be great
Follow Up By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 12:34
Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 12:34
The series 2 did not have enough oil in sump so Nissan did a recall to replace the dip stick with different level markings to increase oil capacity in the sump to stop oil surge. All early models should have this done by now.
Reply By: 4by4 - Wednesday, May 05, 2004 at 00:27
Wednesday, May 05, 2004 at 00:27
This is the reason why I'm currently looking into updating to the turbo intercooled diesel 6.
Don't get me wrong the 3.0l is a great motor which is going great for me, and probably will for a long time, but I can't afford a big dollar engine rebuild once I'm out of warranty.
Good luck with the new donk........
Follow Up By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 17:11
Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 17:11
Not an option for us as SWMBO needs auto & we can't afford a yota or rangie & Nissan in there wisdom don't do an auto in the 4.2 or i would trade it in
Follow Up By: 4by4 - Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 17:35
Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 17:35
Now that your getting the latest new motor you won't have any dramas. No reason to change.
How's it going with Nissan, is it just the motor or the turbo as well.
Hhhhmmmmmmm.....new motor....wish I was getting a new motor....I'd keep my GU as well.
Wouldn't it be great if Nissan recalled all the 3.0l and replaced the engines..........
If your interested I'm happy to swap motors.............any chance????.......don't tell me......i know......2 chances.............
Follow Up By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 17:41
Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 17:41
Your dead right 2 chances. The dealer is waiting to hear back from nissan I will ring them tommorow to see whats happening but looks good from what dealer says.
Reply By: Lea - Friday, May 21, 2004 at 22:59
Friday, May 21, 2004 at 22:59
Bob & Lex,
Sorry to hear about your Patrol dramas! We have just run into exactly the same problem.
We were drive @ 100klms p/hr last night, heard a slight rattle, looked in rear vision mirror and smoke was BELLOWING out of the exhaust.
Got the shock of our lives, no prior warning. Temp & oil gauges ok. We have since found out that it was a piston failure.
Ours has done 140,000 June, 2000 model 3.0L TD. We are the second owners we have all of our service history but the previous owners lost theirs. Have you heard of a case like this one where Nissan are replacing engines?
Your assistance would be greatly appreciated.
Keep us posted on how you go with yours!
Thanking you
Jos & Leanne
joslea@bigpond.com.au