Wombat Forest today

Submitted: Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 16:49
ThreadID: 12357 Views:1714 Replies:9 FollowUps:31
Hi I want to thank everyone who came along, it was lovely seeing some of you again and meeting others...so to...

Baz [NSW], Kerry, Vanessa & dogs - Honey and Pepper
JohnR & Heather
GOB [steve] and Denny
John, Muddy Girl [Maxine], Andrew, Lauraway and Victoria
Eric, Jiota, Dean and Natalie
Nick, Antigone, Andria and Dillon
RussellS

I don' think I've missed anyone...thanks for a lovely relaxing day, it was great standing around the campfire with you swapping stories and enjoying some serentiy...

Lyn

Reply By: Member - Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 17:43

Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 17:43
Gosh you are home very early, though I guess that the weather was not the best. Hope that your had was not damaged - make sure you sit it near the heater so the straw does not go mouldy. Glad you had a good day with great people.

AnswerID: 55878

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 17:49

Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 17:49
Not that early, we do live local to the forest you know.and weather wasn't too bad..and small children do need baths etc...esp after enjoying the mud....and I hope you're not crushed...but I left my designer straw hat at home..opted for a beanie given the weather conditions..I couldn't bear the thought of that hat becoming ruined....
FollowupID: 317746

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Karen - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 18:00

Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 18:00
Andrew, you didn't show me any pics of Mrs Al with a beanie on did you, only with her straw hat on?

Hey Mrs Al, I hope your beanie matched the rest of your clothes........LOL

Karen
FollowupID: 317747

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 18:19

Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 18:19
hmm...well...the beanie is polar fleece and my windcheater is polar fleece and both are earthy tones...so I suppose they matched....not sure about the japara and the jeans though....oh...and I had black blundstone boots on as well...I dressed for warmth and not fashion...I decided that glamour and drippy forests just don't match...ahahhahahahhaha

Lyn

PS..I left the tartan blankie at home!
FollowupID: 317753

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 18:36

Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 18:36
Is this the tartan blanket you are talking about?

(For those who were not there, this is Maaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa at Little Desert - slightly adjusted so she is not accosted in the streets by her legion of fans).

FollowupID: 317757

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 18:46

Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 18:46
hahahhaha..you bugga!...yes best to remain annoymous....there may be a surge in popularity for tartan blankies...and I'm not sure my mother inlaw can crochet that fast....ahahhahaha...
FollowupID: 317760

Follow Up By: Muddy Girl - Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 18:19

Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 18:19
Hi Andrew,

John was Drinking "COKE" Dammed if I saw the dancing girls!!!!!!

As for Victoria being a chip off the old block
You hit the nail on the head with that comment
She is more like me than I care to admit.

Sorry you didn't get up there. The company & Campfire were great
(seeing I was dumb enough to leave my coat at home)

Muddy Girl

FollowupID: 317881

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 21:37

Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 21:37
Hi ya Muddy

I would love to meet you one day - Jen could do with a bit of Recovery training!

By the way, it doesn't sound like you standing around enjoying the campfire. Doesn't fit with your Legendary status!

FollowupID: 317914

Follow Up By: John - Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 22:53

Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 22:53
Andrew don't encourage MG with comments like legendary it will go to her head.

Line dancing with Mrs Al now that would be a sight. LOL.

As for Jens recovery training have you got a shovel ? as thats always a good start.

FollowupID: 317930

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 18:28

Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 18:28
Sorry I didn't make it, but had an interesting day yesterday out Gembrook way with the Suzuki Club in a rather appropriately named "slip and slide" day.

New tyres went very well. Kia went everywhere the two Hiluxes and two Zooks went and then some......

AnswerID: 55886

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 18:36

Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 18:36
Hi Gary

not to worry, I"m sure there'll be other days...and I can well imagine that yesterday was dubbed "slip and slide" day...ahahhaa
FollowupID: 317756

Reply By: Member Eric - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 18:48

Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 18:48
Hi guys , sorry we didnt get back after Lunch , we wen't past some friends who were camped near by to say hello . Lucky that we did, one of there little ones fell off her bike and did some nasties to her rist , so I staded back to attend with some first aid. After we finished , it was getting to late to get back to you guys , so we just headed home , just walked in the door .

Was happy to meet some more EO members and catch up with the rest of the clan , sorry i didnt spend more time .

regards Eric C & fam.
AnswerID: 55889

Follow Up By: John - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 19:57

Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 19:57
Hi Eric
We were begining to think you stopes at the pub. LOL.

Good to see you again.
Catch you soon.

FollowupID: 317772

Follow Up By: John - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 19:58

Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 19:58
Sorry should be Stopped, (Fat Fingers missed the key)

FollowupID: 317773

Reply By: John - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 19:55

Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 19:55
We made it home, no worries.
Nice to catch up again with a few of the oldies and as said nice to meet some new bodies also.

Thanks to all.

John, Maxine, Andrew, Laurway and Victoria.

AnswerID: 55893

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 20:29

Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 20:29
Gidday John

Troopy is filling fast - the pitter patter of little feet. Did Andrew sit in the back without the computer? Howz Laurway - did she steal anyones hat today?

And Maxine - she would have been in her element in the mud! Did she get to do any recoveries?

FollowupID: 317778

Follow Up By: John - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 20:53

Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 20:53
Hi Guys
So what happened to you today, I did notice you were conspicious by your absence.
You missed some fantastic tracks, great bog holes and more laughs than you could muster, weather was terrific no rain lots of sun just a great day.
(I forgot you also missed the dancing girls and the free booze that Lyn and Al put on.)

As to pitter patter of little feet, "er" not quite I just bought Andrew a set of size 11 Blundstones yesterday so I would say the thunder of bloody big hoof's.
Did not take the lappy but he was quick to hop into Erics truck and watch DVD's on his new Sahara system, now he wants one of them to.

Laurway did ask if you were coming I said you had to much plumbing work to do.
No hat stealing she and Muddy's daughter "Victoria" did fall in the lake and got growled at for getting wet and muddy.
And were told they would be rideing home on the roof rack if they did not dry out by the fire.
Also nobody got a blood nose either.

Poor old Max she was a bit worn out from all the work this week, so she sat by the fire and relaxed.

Nice day, When are we going to catch up with you guys ?

FollowupID: 317783

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 21:05

Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 21:05
We did have a good day, catching up with family etc after our Birdsville trip etc.

Maaaaaaaaaaaa and Al dancing - now that is not an image you would want to dwell on. Free booze too and a nice fire - sounds a pretty good day, though you would not be sure if it was the booze or Maaaaaaaaaaaa's boot scooting that made you feel queesy. (My nose is starting to feel twitchy now!).

Victoria sounds like she is a chip off the old block - Maybe 'Muddy kid'. Would like to catch up sometime so I am sure that Maaaaaa will organise some event before she goes away. I am really lol lol lol 'ing now!!

Cheers to Big Foot, Hatsnatch, Muddy Kid, Muddy Girl and yourself

FollowupID: 317786

Follow Up By: John - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 21:23

Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 21:23
I didn't say Lyn was dancing I said dancing girls.
You should have been there.
I swear there was 20 of them dancing away in the Wombat Forest.
Fair Dinkum would I lie to you.

FollowupID: 317789

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 21:27

Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 21:27
Andrew...just go get an icebag and put it on your nose now....!!

and as to me dancing...you'd be surprised at the moves I'm capabale of...[I won't mention Al, he's not quite as rhythmic as me]...next time there is a gathering..I'll remember to get my hands the Billy Ray Cyrus cd [I'm sure there's only one..ahahha] and you and I can scoot to "Achey breaky heart"...hahahha..better make sure I bring along some Stemetil tabs...just to help with the queasieness...

you know who!
FollowupID: 317791

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 21:29

Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 21:29
Maaaaaaaaaaaaaa - do you know what John was drinking?? And what the heck is Cheeseworld - doesn't ring a bell for me from the Magic Faraway Tree!
FollowupID: 317793

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 21:32

Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 21:32
Andrew...if you don't know what Cheeseworld is then you haven't travelled far enough west along that windy road that runs beside the Ocean.......
FollowupID: 317794

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 21:32

Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 21:32
Lynda

Billy Ray Cyrus...................

I surrender - you win. I can't think of a response.

FollowupID: 317795

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 21:38

Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 21:38
HAHAHHAHA....
FollowupID: 317797

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 22:36

Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 22:36
Just thought I should put in some info on Cheeseworld as Andrew and Jen have asked. Is just off the Princes Highway at Allansford east of Warrnambool and fronts onto the Great Ocean Road. you can have a look at Cheeseworld and the associated site of Warrnambool Cheese and Butter Factory.

One of the fastest growing food companies in Australia. Been making a little news locally for the last year or so.

Our 4by frequently seen in the car park there or over the road.
FollowupID: 317928

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 07:09

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 07:09
And what a great place it is too John....
FollowupID: 317935

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 09:30

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 09:30
nice to have you think that way Al and Lyn. It is a company that tries to be contact friendly with it's suppliers and customers alike but sometimes it does not alway look as good as that.
FollowupID: 317948

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 20:29

Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 20:29
Lyn and Al, thanks for your work in setting up the day, it was a lot of fun - even the muddy kids, rather than Muddy Girl we have heard of before. You were very good remembering all the younger names too as well as the adults. I thought I had that sorted ok.

Heather and I enjoyed it and so pleased to meet with others like Baz and Kerry with Vanessa who had travelled so far for the weekend. Not realising at the time we had messaged on drawer slides a couple of weeks back. Great on the drinks Baz and Kerry - when do you start the other side of the licenced businesses. Realise you won't be home for another day either. Great fireside chats with the spirits to keep us warm at night. Keep the National Parks organised there Kerry.

John and Muddy was great to meet with you too. Mutual acquaintenances from way back and all, John. Not just one!

GOB and Denny too got there nice and early from the far side of town which was great but the Maccas brekkie. LOL

Eric and Jiota for a brief visit and Nick and Antigone as well before lunch with Russell too for a longer visit. Reckon Eric you must have found the Parthenon Cafe pretty warm.

It was very nice to meet you all indeed, but once again Lynda for beeing the caring one and getting it all organised, thank you. We just hope everyone had/has a safe trip home as we did...
AnswerID: 55904

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 20:58

Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 20:58
Hi John and Heather, glad you've made it home safely....and perhaps we'll organise another day when it's warmer......I'll be definitely be heading down to Cheeseworld again...so shall pop in and see you both...

Lynda
FollowupID: 317784

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 21:22

Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 21:22
You and Al, along with the others met today and last night would be very welcome Lyn. We are only 20 minutes away from Cheesworld. Am sure you can enjoy a few there......

See you soon
FollowupID: 317788

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 21:33

Sunday, Apr 25, 2004 at 21:33
goodevening all that makes it unanlmus ? about a great dayit was great to meet you all and will be good to catch up again. baz thanks for that little drop it was lovely
hope it willnot be to long before we can all meet again
steve and denny
AnswerID: 55913

Reply By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 01:52

Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 01:52
Hi Folks
Glad to hear you all had a great day, We could not make it this time
still recovering from the Flinders trip, where we meet 2 members from the forum.
Might bump into some of you at Daylesford next saturday.

AnswerID: 55937

Reply By: Muddy Girl - Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 18:24

Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 18:24
Hi Mrs Al,

For the next get together
Would you like me to bring along my Line Dancing Collection of music and dance sheets.
At least we could teach Andrew properly!!

Muddy Girl
AnswerID: 56044

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 18:33

Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 18:33
I'm sure Andrew would love that Muddy...
FollowupID: 317889

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 07:23

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 07:23
Oh yes - I can't wait. Remember to wear your steel capped working boots when you dance with me! I have a slight Des Lexic problem in the dancing department......speaking of ...... he has been quiet.
FollowupID: 317937

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 07:46

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 07:46
Andrew.,...Des has been away, but he's back now, and I'm sure he'll pop up here soon...
FollowupID: 317939

Reply By: Member - Eskimo - Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 20:50

Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 20:50
it was great to see you all......

well i was there in spirit
AnswerID: 56070

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 20:55

Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 20:55
what kind of spirit is that Richard?
FollowupID: 317908

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 21:05

Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 21:05