Holiday in snow - where and how

Submitted: Monday, May 03, 2004 at 01:25
ThreadID: 12558 Views:1906 Replies:6 FollowUps:4
We were supposed to venture to the snow last year but things didn' t work right so we're having another bash this year. Money is tight so we're keeping it lean and can't afford all the glitz and glam that others have. Just want to give the kids a good time before they decide their too old to go on holidays with Mum and Dad anymore.

Going from the NW of WA so its a bit of a change for us. Aside from warmer clothes I'm interested in opinions about: -

Is it a bad plan to use the Bushranger camper trailer or will it be OK for a couple of days? We've got quality sleeping bags, portable heaters [blower type] and the like but I have no real idea of how cold cold is once your there. [if that makes sense]

We have to go on to Sydney and other places [relatives] so will only be in the snow fields for 2 or 3 days. Just long enough for the kids to have a bit of fun on snow tubes or toboggans or whatever and be able to say they saw snow. On looking through the snow pages it appears that Mt Selwyn might be a good place for newbies to the snow. Is this a good or bad choice. It seems that it might be a bit cheaper than some of the more 'on the snow fields' type places.

We look like doing the trip between 22.9 and 23.10.04 - Will there still be enough snow around in late September or have I left that too late?

I know 4 weeks is not long to do the trip but the Nullabor and either side we've done many times. We will be getting through there rapidly and intending to get to where we're going in a short time frame. Have a bit of a look on the way back depending on the time available.

Any thoughts please.

Reply By: flappan - Monday, May 03, 2004 at 08:50

Monday, May 03, 2004 at 08:50
Nothing too wrong with Mt Selwyn.

The differences are , it isn't anywhere near as big as Perisha or Thredbo. No accom on the Mountain. Its more family orientated , and prices are better as well.

Its going to be cold where ever you stay. If yiou are using the Camper then , Adaminaby would be an option. Its only about 30 mins or so to Mt Selwyn from there.
AnswerID: 56981

Reply By: Rowdy - Monday, May 03, 2004 at 09:39

Monday, May 03, 2004 at 09:39
G'day Moneypit,
Yer mate, Selwyn is OK, and as a family, in the past, we enjoyed 'Smiggins Hole'.
However, a word of warning - if you can work it - dont go on a weekend.
It can be very, very busy...
Check the forecast, nothing worse then a cold or wet day in the snow.
And , be warned, if your there on a fine sunny day, which really makes it , the sun burn (heaps of reflection of the snow) & the glare (eyes) will get you. Take your sunnies, & sunscreen...
Happy travels,
Rowdy.
AnswerID: 56985

Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Monday, May 03, 2004 at 10:08

Monday, May 03, 2004 at 10:08
sounds like a plan but you wont be able to take your van to nearly every snow field plus it would be too cold/wet with no where to dry you clothes or park in most cases.
as these resorts are managed you have to have on sight accomadation .
although some roads still alow winter access to a few locations.
trick drive in icy conditions with a trailer..
in a recent 4by mag they used a T-van and had trouble up a moderate slope.

either way you will love the snow here.
should be a bumper year had 25-30cm on the weekend too!
AnswerID: 56994

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, May 03, 2004 at 10:25

Monday, May 03, 2004 at 10:25
You dont want to do anything serious in snow, just play, you could go camping at Woods Point Pub, and then do Day trips up to Mt Skene...

Not much in the way of skiiing, but playing and having fun there is, cost of Mt Skene is $0.00 a week...

Sure there'll be a few more trips from the people here up to Skene, Im itchin to get up there again!
AnswerID: 56998

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Monday, May 03, 2004 at 12:17

Monday, May 03, 2004 at 12:17
Bring it on!!!!!!

Bring a shovel :-o
FollowupID: 318764

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, May 03, 2004 at 17:41

Monday, May 03, 2004 at 17:41
I GOT BIGGER TIRES TOO!!!!
and a shovel now
FollowupID: 318789

Follow Up By: Member - Toonfish - Tuesday, May 04, 2004 at 00:54

Tuesday, May 04, 2004 at 00:54
25-30cm dump over the weekend too

gotta get there
FollowupID: 318860

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, May 04, 2004 at 02:14

Tuesday, May 04, 2004 at 02:14
It was gone by sunday night.
FollowupID: 318862

Reply By: Crackles - Monday, May 03, 2004 at 22:52

Monday, May 03, 2004 at 22:52
You are probably leaving your run a little late as in an average year
there often isn't much snow left in late Sept. although enough for a
play.
One suggestion would be to bring your trailer over & camp in Bright
or up the Buckland valley.
Then you have the options of finding snow up on Mt Buffalo & Mt
Hotham or go for a drive on some snow covered tracks from Mt
Selwyn to Mt Sarah. ( Great day trip but no services) Craig.......
AnswerID: 57109

Reply By: brian - Tuesday, May 04, 2004 at 18:46

Tuesday, May 04, 2004 at 18:46
BUCKENDERRA on lake eucambene is an option huge campimg area,facilities,driveable to snow daily,on site cabins as wel.

have a great trip.
AnswerID: 57214