TD42 oil filters GQ, GU difference

Submitted: Monday, May 03, 2004 at 20:10
ThreadID: 12576 Views:11042 Replies:7 FollowUps:5
G'day all, just wondering what the difference (if any) there is between the Ryco Z115 for the non-turbo TD42 in the GQ and the Z503 used on the turbo TD42T. Apparently they are interchangeable?? I've always used the Z115 in my GQ but it is aftermarket turbo'd and I'cooled so should I be using the Z503?? I've had a quick search for specs etc for the two filters but have not come up with much. Some one out there will no doubt sort me out though!!
Muzza

Reply By: Member - Brett H (QLD) - Monday, May 03, 2004 at 20:34

Monday, May 03, 2004 at 20:34
G'day,
How's the fishin'?
AnswerID: 57070

Follow Up By: Muzza - Monday, May 03, 2004 at 21:35

Monday, May 03, 2004 at 21:35
hate fishin'
FollowupID: 318824

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, May 03, 2004 at 21:02

Monday, May 03, 2004 at 21:02
Stick with the 115s.

I use genuine Nissan ones, at $10each, why wouldnt you!

IMO, steer clear of coopers filters if you want fast oil pressure first thing in the morning, they have no drainback valve in them, which takes a while to get oil pressure up. Story in archives on this ..

YMMV
AnswerID: 57078

Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Monday, May 03, 2004 at 21:02

Monday, May 03, 2004 at 21:02
Muzza,
I used the same filter for my non turbo'd as I did for my Turbo'd TD42 motor, there didn't appear to be any difference, I don't know about the Ryco numbers because I used the genuine Nissan ones which where cheaper would you believe. There is a short and a long filter, mine was the long one, the shorter filter was a later one I think. As far as I'm aware all the oil filter units on the side of the TD42 engine are water cooled so there shouldn't be any diffrence there. If no one gives you a better answer the best port of call would be the spare parts guy at you local Nissan dealer, not Repco or Super Cheap. The diffrence between the two Ryco numers could be the filter mesh size or the internal spill back valve that is if the thread and the external casing look the same. I'm guessing here so if someone goes with a better answer go wth it.
Keep the shiny side up

AnswerID: 57079

Reply By: Muzza - Monday, May 03, 2004 at 21:37

Monday, May 03, 2004 at 21:37
Thanks fella's, might try the genuine Nissan, just that I thought they'd be heaps dearer than $10, but in that case...
Muzza
AnswerID: 57092

Reply By: Wayne from the Pilbara - Tuesday, May 04, 2004 at 00:53

Tuesday, May 04, 2004 at 00:53
On my GU 4.2TD, the filters are a 115 and a 503 or equivalent. They have a different sized thread. I cant fit a 115 on the front filter but it does fit the rear.

Check out the thread size and you'll see what I mean.. just means you have to take them off to prove this. I bought both the same filters thinking it would be the same as my GQ 4.2 and was lucky I had access to another vehicle to go back and swap one over to the correct sized thread. These were Repco's cos Nissan doesnt have a dealership in every town!

The original parts should fit (obviously) but you might find one is bigger in the thread. The original filters had different part numbers.

AnswerID: 57118

Follow Up By: madcow - Tuesday, May 04, 2004 at 11:53

Tuesday, May 04, 2004 at 11:53
Later model 4.2s now have the same oil filter on each point. Makes more sense and are cheaper. $10 each sounds pretty good Bazzle. I paid $18 for each recently from our local dealer. I now use a 3 point filter tool to get them off due to lack of room.

FollowupID: 318891

Reply By: madcow - Tuesday, May 04, 2004 at 11:56

Tuesday, May 04, 2004 at 11:56
Truckster not Bazzle, I need to get my eyes checked
AnswerID: 57152

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, May 04, 2004 at 16:20

Tuesday, May 04, 2004 at 16:20
Helps when the local dealer thinks you work in the industry ;)~ Went in with a mate who WAS workin for local landy dealer once to get bits for his GQ, this was when I first got my GQ, since then always got staff prices.

Get everything at pretty much cost.. Its a sweet deal.. :D I also use genuine airfilters as I get em for nix.
FollowupID: 318920

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, May 04, 2004 at 16:36

Tuesday, May 04, 2004 at 16:36
Has anyone discovered the trick to changing filters without coating the block, steering stuff and diff with oil in a TD42???
AnswerID: 57186

Follow Up By: Muzza - Tuesday, May 04, 2004 at 22:17

Tuesday, May 04, 2004 at 22:17
It's a bit of a fiddle but a woolworths bag usually catches most of the oil. That may seem a bit lame but what else can you do with filters that point downwards?
FollowupID: 318982

Follow Up By: sensei - Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 14:44

Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 14:44
yep, I will be very keen to know the answer to that one truckster, drives me batty the mess it makes.
FollowupID: 319214