Waypoints for CSR

Submitted: Wednesday, May 05, 2004 at 13:24
ThreadID: 12629 Views:2619 Replies:4 FollowUps:15
G'day All
I'm in the process of preping for a trip up the Canning Stock Route (hopefully leaving Wiluna early July).

Does anyone happen to have a list of GPS marks for the wells, and any other useful places along the CSR that they would be happy to email/fax/post here. EO used to have a list in the trek-notes section - but I didn't ever print them out, and this list seems to have gone walk-about when the trek-notes were updated.

At one stage there was a plan to put these marks on again - but in the interim - does anyone happen to have these details? (fyi - I use a Magellan Merridian Platinum).

Cheers and Many Thanks

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, May 05, 2004 at 13:27

Wednesday, May 05, 2004 at 13:27
They are all in the system I just have to put them onto the notes using the new mapping engine interface to the waypoints. I wish I had enough time.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

AnswerID: 57301

Follow Up By: Member - Luxoluk - Wednesday, May 05, 2004 at 13:47

Wednesday, May 05, 2004 at 13:47
Sounds good David. Gee I'd really love to see a track/plot file appear also as this would be well received. If anyone can contribute one to this site it'd be a winner. (or have I missed it somewhere??)
FollowupID: 319050

Follow Up By: Troopie - Wednesday, May 05, 2004 at 13:53

Wednesday, May 05, 2004 at 13:53
Hey There David
No dramas or stress. You guys are doing a truly amazing job - so whenever you get to it I'm sure it will be well recieved!

I've been wearing my EO hat and drinking from my EO stubby holder with pride! Will join when I need to buy something of suitable expense.

Speaking of which - depending on how good your mapping stuff is - I might be interested in buying the Magellan/Hema GDT mapping product - but notice you only stock the CD-Rom version.....

Anyhow - looking forward to the CSR data going live. Apologies for being pushy as I know you clearly have plenty on, judging by the late night upgrades, but what is the likely timeline for the CSR data?

Cheers and take it easy!
FollowupID: 319051

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, May 05, 2004 at 13:54

Wednesday, May 05, 2004 at 13:54
The dynamic mapping uses a track plot file and the position of the wells is exaclty as shown in the Dynamic iMapPlot system. So you could hover the mouse over the well and read the lat lon in decimal degrees from the mapping system. I am not sure if the plot file is currently loaded in the Digital Mapping Data section of PointPlace. Have a look at Plotswap under Trip Planning - Digital Mapping Data - PlotSwap.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

FollowupID: 319052

Reply By: Member - Luxoluk - Wednesday, May 05, 2004 at 14:18

Wednesday, May 05, 2004 at 14:18
Thanks David. I have had a look but could not find it. I have also looked previously and assumed one was not yet available. No drama...all in good time. I'm at an early stage of learning here and hopefully I'll be competent enough to record one in 2005. Cheers for now.

AnswerID: 57313

Reply By: Jimbo (WA) - Wednesday, May 05, 2004 at 18:40

Wednesday, May 05, 2004 at 18:40
Troopie,

I have a heap of waypoints that I'm happy to pass on - but unless you have OziExplorer I'm not sure how to do so. I'm just playing around now trying to print the list from OziExlorer, scan into my computer - and then if it's legible I'll zap it to you.

Wait, out!
AnswerID: 57343

Follow Up By: Moneypit - Wednesday, May 05, 2004 at 20:21

Wednesday, May 05, 2004 at 20:21
Jimbo,

If the person wanting it has Oziexplorer then just go into OE and locate the waypoint files [they are named *.wpt and in the Data folder or a sub folder of the Data folder.

The files can be compressed into a zip file and emailed to whoever wants them [it depends on whether you want to give them out I spose I guess].

There is also a Yahoo group for it but its not getting much attention.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Waypoints_Australia/ in which some of the files [NSW and VIC] are ready for OE use straight away.

My email is

duxnutz2003 at yahoo dot com

if you've got some around WA that are worth passing along. I wouldn't mind getting my hands on any others for SA, NSW and VIC for when I go over later this year.

Did that sound to much like a begging letter. Hope not!

Anyone needs any from around Tom Price, Karijini, Karratha, Coral Bay, Hedland and the like drop a line. At this time not many of the tracks off road or tourist spots but a lot of the trips from and to these places and some of the spots in between. All in format for OE

FollowupID: 319090

Follow Up By: Jimbo (WA) - Wednesday, May 05, 2004 at 22:38

Wednesday, May 05, 2004 at 22:38
Dave,

Thanks - but that still doesn't help unless the person has OziExplorer - because the file can't be read by anything but OE.

I don't have much else in WA except the CSR, what are you after and if I have anything useful to you I'll be happy to pass it on. I don't have a problem with sharing this stuff!
FollowupID: 319133

Follow Up By: Moneypit - Wednesday, May 05, 2004 at 23:47

Wednesday, May 05, 2004 at 23:47
Jimbo

I use OE so you could just send the wpt file to the yahoo address up above. Saves the labour intensive data entry required if its only in hardcopy

Its in the long fromat but if you go up and read it it will be revealed. Doing it that way on the forum just stops people getting the address on the porno crawls that end up zapping you with heaps of spam.

Provided the person has OE then they can just upload to the GPS that they have from OE

FollowupID: 319144

Follow Up By: Troopie - Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 09:14

Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 09:14
G'day Moneypit/Dave and Jimbo
Dave - see my other post. Thanks for the ideas - but unfortunately I don't use Ozi. I would be interested in the points for some of the other spots you mentioned - after we have done the Canning we are spending some time in the Kimberly - then making our way to Perth via who knows where at this stage.

Troopie (another Dave)
FollowupID: 319159

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 11:03

Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 11:03
Guys, For exchanging waypoints I'd advise GPSBabel. Then you can convert from one format to another. It's free and easy to use

GPSBabel reads and writes GPS waypoints in a variety of forms. Backends include GPX, Magellan and Garmin serial protocols, Geocaching.com *.loc, GPSMan, Garmin Mapsource *.mps, Magellan Mapsend *.wpt, and many others.

http://sourceforge.net/projects/gpsbabel/

FollowupID: 319174

Follow Up By: Jimbo (WA) - Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 23:18

Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 23:18
Moneypit,

I've just emailed the waypoint files (3) to you.
FollowupID: 319333

Follow Up By: Moneypit - Friday, May 07, 2004 at 01:22

Friday, May 07, 2004 at 01:22
Jimbo,

Works a treat. Very easy to follow the naming 'system' that you have used to make it clear what it is that I am looking at.

Thanks very much.

FollowupID: 319346

Reply By: Jimbo (WA) - Wednesday, May 05, 2004 at 22:51

Wednesday, May 05, 2004 at 22:51
Dave,

send me a message with your fax / email / postal address (whatever you're happy with) and I'll send on my waypoints of the CSR.
AnswerID: 57400

Follow Up By: Troopie - Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 09:09

Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 09:09
G'day Jimbo
Many thanks - that would be much appreciated!!! Unfortunately though - I don't use OziExplorer, I just use the Magellan Discover Aus product. It serves all my purposes - the rest of the time I get by with the hand-held unit.

I guess if you can fax me a hard copy of your waypoints in lat/long or what-ever that would be easiest... I'd prefer not to put my direct email on a Public Forum and I don't have a yahoo acct. So if you could please fax to (02) 6242 1705 and mark it Attn to Dave. If you'd prefer to email - let me know and I'll call or give you my number and we can talk directly...

Cheers and many thanks once again - if I can ever return the favour please don't hesitate to ask!

FollowupID: 319158

Follow Up By: Jimbo (WA) - Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 23:13

Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 23:13
Dave,

I'm sending it to your fax # with my computer fax - if it doesn't work let me know so I can try again.

There should be 5 pages including the coversheet.
FollowupID: 319332

Follow Up By: Troopie - Friday, May 07, 2004 at 09:23

Friday, May 07, 2004 at 09:23
G'day Jimbo
Got the fax - thanks very much - it is greatly appreciated!!! I was thinking of buying the Hema/megallan GDT product - but with the detials in your points - I dont think I'll bother. That will save me about $250! Like I said before - if I can ever return the favour some how please don't hesitate to get in touch!

Where abouts are you in WA - maybe a could buy you a few beers while I'm over there. We are leaving the east around June 25th - spending a week to get to Wiluna - then heading up the Canning for how ever long it takes (~2-3 weeks). After that we are doing the Gibb RR from East to West via Kalumburu. After that it's Broome and Cape Leveque before making our way down the WA coast to Perth - then back arcoss to the east....

Counting down the days now!

FollowupID: 319365

Follow Up By: Troopie - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 15:43

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 15:43
G'day Again Jimbo
Just thought I'd let you know i have gone through a typed in all your way-points for the CSR.... Phew!

Anyhow - once again I just wanted to thank you for so kindly sharing these. I leave in less than two months now so getting very excited!

Kind Regards
FollowupID: 319896

Follow Up By: Jimbo (WA) - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 19:47

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 19:47
Dave,

I'll be doing the CSR again later on (probably Oct) myself, hope you enjoy your trip, and once again - "You're welcome"
FollowupID: 319919