Sealing grease

Submitted: Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 12:46
ThreadID: 12652 Views:1173 Replies:5 FollowUps:2
Can you use any general purpose grease to seal around your air filter top and bottom where it meets the housing ?

Reply By: Moose - Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 13:59

Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 13:59
G'day Mate
Didn't know you had to. Don't the clips around the edge of the housing and wing nut in the top apply enough pressure to seal things off properly? At least that's for a Toyota LandCruiser. Don't know about others. BTW - always ensure that top nut is on nice and tight. Had a mate who lost his and motor sucked in dust - expensive result.
AnswerID: 57472

Follow Up By: Bros - Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 19:16

Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 19:16
Moose,
Just as an aside from the thread.
Went to the Cape (York) awile back and did a service before i left.
On doing a vehicle check at Seisia after all the dust and corrugation, found the air cleaner wing nut missing. Found the wing nut sitting on a ledge behind the headlight. All that up and down and still sitting there.
Cheers, Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

FollowupID: 319266

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 14:52

Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 14:52
If the foam around the edges is in good cond, then just any marine grease should do..

You want waterproof grease!!!

Its more of a extra guarentee than anything else.
AnswerID: 57478

Reply By: Hedonist - Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 15:05

Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 15:05
As above, but if you insist I would recommend a light silicon grease...

Pete
AnswerID: 57483

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 23:00

Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 23:00
Da missus had me in the kitchen today scrubbing the sealing grease. Damn rotten job, somehow it gets around the side of the extractor.
AnswerID: 57559

Follow Up By: DiesAl - Friday, May 07, 2004 at 07:46

Friday, May 07, 2004 at 07:46
Thanks all, for the replys (even maddog's..... mate ya better not forget mother's day or she'll have ya in there every weekend from now on), yes as truckster said just a bit of an extra guarentee although on 1 occasion even though I thought I had cranked the top nut up nice and tight after a belt through some dusty tracks following another vehicle I found slight tracking of dust between the bottom seal and air filter hence I thought I might try sealing it with grease.

Al
FollowupID: 319356

Reply By: G.T. - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 17:26

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 17:26
Vaseline ? Regards G.T.
AnswerID: 58009