Jerry can issue updat

Submitted: Friday, May 07, 2004 at 16:26
ThreadID: 12680 Views:1433 Replies:9 FollowUps:12
Word has filtered through that the manufacturer of the product Lion Brand has said and I quote as reported to me by a third party involved " It was welding flux left behind in the jerry cans which jammed up the fuel system. We are not prepared to admit to anything other than to say what can you expect if you buy a cheap $39 jerry can".

In good faith the supplier is giving me a new electric fuel pump withoiut charge as they are pretty disgusted by the whole affair and my local bloke is going to wash the jerries out and resupply me with 80 litres of petrol at no cost.

I am satisfied with the result and have at least got some compensation for my day and a half of troubles.

Reply By: Vince NSW - Friday, May 07, 2004 at 16:41

Friday, May 07, 2004 at 16:41
Good on ya willem. One of the problems of today is that people complain about poor products or services, but do not do anything about it. Good to see your local supliers are looking after you.
Vince
AnswerID: 57630

Reply By: Member - StevenL - Friday, May 07, 2004 at 17:09

Friday, May 07, 2004 at 17:09
Good Result Willem.

Even if you do buy cheaper gear it should still be good for the purpose. I usually only pay a bit extra for something that is going to last a bit longer or do the job better. I too would be browned off if equipment was not fit for purpose or was responsible for damage/loss.

I noted you mentioned about the very small label that said "not to be used for fuel/solvents" or words to that effect. Even if you had only used them for water then would the flux have still been flaking off in there? Not good for drinking!

Pleased to see you suffered no actual loss other than time and inconvenience!

Steven
AnswerID: 57633

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, May 07, 2004 at 17:30

Friday, May 07, 2004 at 17:30
Steven,
Must be frustrating for you knowing the new toy is there on the shelf, but you can't get your hands on it. The HR bloke mustn't be a 4 wheel driver!!! LOL If he was he would've faxed or couriered the docs back to you asap.
I'm in the finance game and in the past 2 weeks we've had 2 situations where my clients picked up their new cars from the Nissan/Ford dealer based solely on the strength of a phone call with me confirming that the finance was okay and we'd have the cheque to them with a few days.
We do things different here in the bush.
FollowupID: 319419

Follow Up By: John - Friday, May 07, 2004 at 18:40

Friday, May 07, 2004 at 18:40
Hi Roachie
The detail you provided about picking up the vehicles on nothing more than an OK on the phone is not limited to the bush.

My personal experience with my bankers and the dealer that I have used for many years has operated on much the same way.
I believe it comes down to relationships and doing the right thing.

I usually buy two new cars at the same time and have picked them up without the dealer receiving the money a number of times.

FollowupID: 319425

Follow Up By: Member - StevenL - Friday, May 07, 2004 at 21:43

Friday, May 07, 2004 at 21:43
Thanks for the support guys!

It really is frustrating when you know there is nothing you can do but depend on other people to do thier jobs.

The car is sitting in the Yard at the dealers all ready to go and looks fantastic.

Ah well, I have waited 4 months for it to arrive so I guess another few days won't hurt.

A colleague got a new Commodore SS the other day and had the same hassles. His dealer ended up "loaning" him the car for a few days while the paperwork was completed. My dealer is playing it straight down the line. "When the paperwork is settled you get the car".

I think I prefer my dealers approach because so far I cannot fault them on service, be the situation good or bad. They keep me appraised every step of the way and it seems like this is the way that even bad stuff like warranty claims are handled. Very professional.

Give you an update on Monday!!!

Steven
FollowupID: 319439

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, May 07, 2004 at 21:54

Friday, May 07, 2004 at 21:54
Steven,

The can has an imprint on it stating 'Not suitable for drinking water'. We were'nt quite sure what it was suitable for in that matter :-)

FollowupID: 319443

Follow Up By: Member - StevenL - Friday, May 07, 2004 at 22:08

Friday, May 07, 2004 at 22:08
Willem,

Very interesting, You said in your previous post that:

"Interestingly.. on the label of the Lion Brand JERRY cans it is stated that ' This container must not be used for highly flammable substances '....What is the use of the JERRY can then? "

Today you said that there was an imprint on the can about not for use with drinking water.

I agree with you then "What good are they"!!!!!! The only thing left it seems is washing up water. Suddenly $39 seems a bit pricey!

Steven
FollowupID: 319446

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, May 07, 2004 at 17:37

Friday, May 07, 2004 at 17:37
$39 cheap for a jerry can !!! i wonder where that bloke shops, goodonya Willem one for the good guys.

AnswerID: 57638

Follow Up By: GOB & denny vic member - Friday, May 07, 2004 at 18:55

Friday, May 07, 2004 at 18:55
thanks baz i agree you may buy dearer jerry cans but &39 isnt cheap

FollowupID: 319427

Reply By: Bros - Friday, May 07, 2004 at 17:46

Friday, May 07, 2004 at 17:46
Willem,
This is getting off your current thread, but i would like to know if you have ever broken an axle on your G 60. The reason i asked was that i went on a trip in a friends G 60 up the Starcke track north of Cooktown some years ago and we broke a drivers side front axle. When repairing same we were amazed that an axle so big could actually break. Other than that the G 60 had heaps of power, if a little bit thirsty.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 57642

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, May 07, 2004 at 21:37

Friday, May 07, 2004 at 21:37
Bros,

Never broken anything on the G60. This 1978 model is one of the last batches of G60's as they discontinued them in 1979. This model was a special import into Australia(still CKD, I think) and is Heavy Duty with what I suspect is special drivetrain etc. I have a 5speed Nissan gearbox in it(Marks Conversion). Even with my limited mechanical knowledge I am still able to fix the old thing when necessary. Although a utilitarian vehicle it has given very good service and is very good in rough terrain.

FollowupID: 319437

Follow Up By: rolande- Friday, May 07, 2004 at 22:24

Friday, May 07, 2004 at 22:24
Willem,
So you have one of the luxury models with three wipers across the front?????
Rolande
FollowupID: 319449

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 14:20

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 14:20
Rolande

Dunno about luxury but yes, three wipers across the front. :-) and a padded dash!!!

FollowupID: 319482

Follow Up By: rolande- Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 22:04

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 22:04
and a padded dash.........

When I was young we used to dream of a padded dash, all we had was some red paint on a bit steel.....if we were lucky!

Everything is relative :)

Rolande
FollowupID: 319529

Reply By: Ian Bee - Friday, May 07, 2004 at 19:49

Friday, May 07, 2004 at 19:49
" It was welding flux left behind in the jerry cans which jammed up the fuel system. We are not prepared to admit to anything other than to say what can you expect if you buy a cheap $39 jerry can".

Okay, in the world of Mig & Tig, I wonder if this guy is pulling your leg........ think about it.......

Ian BEE
AnswerID: 57659

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, May 07, 2004 at 21:38

Friday, May 07, 2004 at 21:38
Does it matter?? That is their story and I have been compensated. End of issue.

FollowupID: 319438

Reply By: grutnip - Friday, May 07, 2004 at 20:01

Friday, May 07, 2004 at 20:01
Good to hear that your local bloke has gone the extra mile for you. I have just been having this "customer service" type discussion on another forum and I think that you should repay your local bloke for fixing you up.

link text

I think you should give them a plug, good service deserves it.

DJ
AnswerID: 57660

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, May 07, 2004 at 21:47

Friday, May 07, 2004 at 21:47
Mate, I did not want the local bloke to carry any part of the can but he insisted. I have done quite a bit of business with him over the past year and this is his way of saying thanks to me. I will continue to support him. A plug on this forum for him would have zero effect as he is situated in a back street in an isolated outback town. I prefer not to mention company names other than the brand model I have had a problem with.
FollowupID: 319440

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Friday, May 07, 2004 at 20:39

Friday, May 07, 2004 at 20:39
Pretty grudging acknowledgement Willem I reckon but at least there has been seen to be some value in your custom there. I am pleased you made the fuss of it, I would have though that Lion would have been more interested for their QA for future reference. In my sector of industry I could not afford that sort of thing to continue, whatever the price. I guess all our forumites have taken notice of your LION Brand complaints.

Pleased to see you back home too Willem and safely.
AnswerID: 57667

Reply By: Member - Frank - Friday, May 07, 2004 at 21:57

Friday, May 07, 2004 at 21:57
I agree with 'grutnip's reply spred his name about if we use him we will say he has to do your work first (maybe)

frank
AnswerID: 57683

Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 00:10

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 00:10
$39 is cheap
what about what Wombat got a few select at $20
but i have used mine 5 times no incident (as yet?)

as someone else said MIG?TIG

glad its sorted out
AnswerID: 57697