birdsville to Mt Isa

Submitted: Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 21:17
ThreadID: 12708 Views:3102 Replies:5 FollowUps:4
I am thinking of doing a trip from the Flinders , Birdsville , Mt Isa , and on up to the Gulf. Lots have been written about road conditions etc of the Birdsville track and areas around , but was wondering about the road up to Bedourie and Boulia ? I guess after the B/Track it will proberbly not get as much traffic. I will be towing the camper and leaveing Wollongong early August for about six weeks. still in the planing stages, I know its a long way off but just after some feedback.
Athol.

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 21:50

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 21:50
Great trip Athol did it in 2001, Birdville, Bedourie, Boulia Mt Isa, Cloncurry,Liechhardt Falls, Burketown, Gregory downs, Cloncurry, Winton, Longreach, Stonehenge, Jundah, Windorah, Inamincka, Home.
All roads easy with your setup in the dry but you are bound to get plenty of corogations and dust. Didnt have time for Karumba and Normanton and Gulflander Railway, But perfect excuse to go back SOON.
PSSST little tip dont tell anybody, Barra fishing off top side of causeway on Nicholson river with lures ( take plenty of spares) on track out to Escott Lodge from Burketown.
AnswerID: 57770

Follow Up By: Member - Athol (NSW) - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 21:56

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 21:56
Thanks Pesty, I was thinking about putting the tinny on the roof/tray racks to do a bit of fishing do you think it would make it ?
FollowupID: 319527

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 22:04

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 22:04
Absolutely if your rig is setup for taking it many rivers you can use it in watch out for them SNAPPIN HANDBAGS.
We took the tinnie and used it at Lake Mooudarra at the Isa, Leicht. River at Leicht. falls, Albert inlet at Burketown, Lake Julias out of the Isa, and could have done heaps more if time wasnt a factor , Is 6 weeks long enough?
FollowupID: 319530

Follow Up By: Member - Athol (NSW) - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 22:13

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 22:13
Time is always a problem isn't it , I can go to seven weeks but the missus would like a week at home after to relax/recouperate after, so can I argue !!!!! But its still in the planing if need be I'll take the short cut through Innaminka and do the B/track another time
FollowupID: 319533

Reply By: sparra - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 21:56

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 21:56
g'day athol,the road from birdsville up to boulia is a well maintained road and usually sees a fair bit of traffic especially in the cooler months. if you like bush camping ,call into kalamurna station on the birdsville track almost opposite mungerrannie pub/roadhouse. cheers sparra.
no good being the richest man in the cemetry

AnswerID: 57775

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 22:13

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 22:13
Great overnight stay at Clayton bore 60 ks up birdsville track from Marree, Showers, artesion spa, and toilets. Beautiful. Flash EO card at Birdsville C/Park for a friendly reception and one of the best cuppachinos in the land!
Was up the track 3 weeks ago and it was perfect but getting a few corrigations I beleive perhaps willem will update you when he is looking around the forum next.
FollowupID: 319534

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 22:36

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 22:36
Athol go to site 12710 above and open andrews web site and near the bottom of his excellent trip report he is having a spa at clayton bore as I was telling you.
AnswerID: 57783

Reply By: Nomad - Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 23:26

Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 23:26
Hey Athol, I thought holidays were to relax and recouperate?????

Am I missing something?????????????

Nomad
AnswerID: 57915

Reply By: Member - Athol (NSW) - Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 23:56

Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 23:56
Thats what I reckon although the boss loves the bush she has different ideas on that. As for me anything away from this night shift has got to be R&R.
AnswerID: 57918