Update on blown 3ltr motor

Submitted: Monday, May 10, 2004 at 17:15
ThreadID: 12755 Views:1360 Replies:8 FollowUps:8
I rang the dealer today to see when the Patrol will be ready as when I took it in they said it took 3 weeks to get new engine from Japan but good news we should have it back at the end of the week as Mr Nissan ok'd new motor & they are in the process of fitting it now.

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 17:23

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 17:23
Great news dude!!! Are ya tradin it in then? ;)~!
AnswerID: 58007

Follow Up By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 18:37

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 18:37
Nah i'll wait till the lease is up. It should be ok now I hope
FollowupID: 319768

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 17:43

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 17:43
That must be a relief!!
So what happened to it in the end mate, did it seize or something break, or what?

The newer 3.0L (other than some sensor/EGR valve problems) are pretty good, with the good Nissan running gear it'll be like getting a new car!!
AnswerID: 58011

Follow Up By: uppy - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 18:15

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 18:15
GREAT news ,as jeff said you will have a new truck
regards uppy
...the school bus,still gets us there

FollowupID: 319761

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 18:23

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 18:23
My Cooler arrived today too Upps, working great, it cooled down a warm 6 pack of beer within a couple of hours to 6 degrees. Mind you, its not real hot in the office here, probally about 27c. But still, there is no ice or anything in there yet, draws 4 amps. Not as bad as I though it was going to be. Looks like new on the inside, a little dirty on the outside, but I'm wrapped!
FollowupID: 319765

Follow Up By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 18:38

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 18:38
It blew 2 pistons Anzac W/End
FollowupID: 319769

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 18:41

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 18:41
Jeapers! No wonder it stopped! Scarey, but there was an obvious fault with the earlier motors, I'm sure it's sorted out now with the series III jobbies, and it'll be a ripper. They do have some monster torque!
FollowupID: 319770

Reply By: Happy GU Owner - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 17:50

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 17:50
Bob,

Great to hear the good news regarding Nissan Service and response for your unfortunate situation.

I believe that you will now have a great truck with many years of reliable travels!!

AnswerID: 58014

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 18:16

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 18:16
Thats good mate, touch wood it will be better.

AnswerID: 58022

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 18:48

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 18:48
Good to hear everything is going well. Probably did you a favour in the long run (apart form the hassles of no vehicle for a few weeks and a ruined holiday). End up with a better motor with zero kays on it!!!

At least its good to see the Nissan stand by their vehicles (even if it takes a bit of prodding at times). Haven't had to use it personnaly, but good to know anyway.

AnswerID: 58029

Reply By: fourstall2000 - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 09:08

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 09:08
Bob + Lex,
Glad you had the same success as I did getting a new donk.
Nissan will send you a letter saying that the engine fitted is the correct replacement for your model.
But that is all they will say,trying to get any further information gets a brick wall response.
I am not sure you get a series 3 motor as a result of this,they could be modified series 2 engines.
The only difference I can see is an additional sensor in the oil galleries,and I believe a second oil pickup in the sump.
Still apart from a pressure sensor on the intercooler packing up ,the engine is going great.
If your dealer is more forthcoming on the engine please let us know.
AnswerID: 58123

Follow Up By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 17:10

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 17:10
I was told its the series 3 engine as rebuilding the series 2 is a waste of money since they had to redesign the combustion chamber & pistons to fix the problem. If I get more detail when we get it back I will let you know.
FollowupID: 319903

Follow Up By: Member - AndrewPatrol - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 19:51

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 19:51
G'day fourstall,
What was the symptoms of the dud intercooler sensor?
FollowupID: 319921

Reply By: Member - Andrew O - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 13:29

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 13:29
Hi Bob,
How many K's had you travelled??
AnswerID: 58149

Follow Up By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 17:06

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 17:06
75,000 , more than some less than others from what I have read.
FollowupID: 319901

Reply By: fourstall2000 - Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 09:45

Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 09:45
Andrew patrol,
I have the gregorys manual,inside it shows how to bridge out the test socket terminals, and receive the flashing engine light messages.
By bridging out terminals 1-8 the light flashed 9 long space 5 short.
I compared this to the list provided which identified the sensor.
AnswerID: 58286