Kimberley's in August/September 2005

Submitted: Monday, May 17, 2004 at 20:39
ThreadID: 12951 Views:2429 Replies:12 FollowUps:25
We have just started planning for a Kimberley trip in August and September 2005 but in the back of my mind, I think that it would be better to go earlier in the dry. There are some logistical reasons why it would be difficult to go earlier but they are not insurmountable. I would like to know what peoples experience is of the Kimberley's earlier in the year soon after the wet, say April/May compared with June/July and August/September.

It is possible that we could move the holiday to June/July if people think that it is much better than August/September - what do you reckon?

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, May 17, 2004 at 20:59

Monday, May 17, 2004 at 20:59
Andrew,
So far I have only been to the Kimberly in July/ August. Clear blue skies and about 28c. This is also the peak season but the Kimberly is big enough to cope. If there is a late wet and the area is flooded it does take some time for the water to drop, the land is so flat in places that when it floods the water covers the ground for several kilometres either side of the river.
I was told last week that I will be going to the Kimberly in the end of July to the middle of August 2005, another birthday away from home.
I would say that any time from June to September would be good.

AnswerID: 58986

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Monday, May 17, 2004 at 21:30

Monday, May 17, 2004 at 21:30
Thanks Wayne - after reading a bit you start to think that it might be better to go earlier. Probably will have a tinnie on the roof by then and might be able to have a bit of a fish etc with a bit of luck. Was really Mr Des Lexic who started me thinking that we should go earlier but having never been there it is hard to know...
FollowupID: 320652

Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Monday, May 17, 2004 at 23:59

Monday, May 17, 2004 at 23:59
that an invitation?
i got a tinny and some sweet lures?
AnswerID: 59018

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 08:02

Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 08:02
Yep - bring em along and I might learn something!
FollowupID: 320674

Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 08:55

Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 08:55
not sure what you would learn maybe just patients but more likely frustration?
although beer is an easy cure for that lol.
AnswerID: 59031

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 21:38

Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 21:38
Patients eh? - No thanks!
FollowupID: 320801

Follow Up By: Wombat - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 11:11

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 11:11
I've read some funny comments on EO, Andrew, but I've got to say your response to Toonies faux pas is the first that has had my jaw aching from laughter and tears running down my cheeks.

Laughter really is the best medicine - thanks for the prescription!
FollowupID: 320858

Follow Up By: Member - Toonfish - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 15:41

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 15:41
ROFL
FollowupID: 320909

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 21:21

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 21:21
Glad that you had a good laugh Wombat. Counting down the days I bet. Hope you have a great trip.
FollowupID: 320968

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, May 20, 2004 at 10:23

Thursday, May 20, 2004 at 10:23
Three weeks today - and still soooooooo much to do!
FollowupID: 321033

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 08:56

Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 08:56
We went to the Kimberley in July and saw only about 6 other tourists. That of course was when you were still a wee lad, Andrew. These days I would hate to think what it would be like. May would be a good time if the roads were open or September, just before things start to warm up. It would be a lot drier then, of course but there should be less traffic.

Anyway, the fun is in the planning..........read my article The Far North Kimberley to get an idea.

AnswerID: 59032

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 21:40

Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 21:40
Was a good read Willem - you are a great writer. English was my worst subject at High School - I love how you can paint a picture with your words.

FollowupID: 320802

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 09:16

Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 09:16
Last year freinds did that area and Darwin 6 weeks starting mid July and the silly season was early last yea,r the humidity was quite bad even at that early stage.
No expert but July sounds good.
AnswerID: 59035

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 21:41

Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 21:41
Jen will be excited hearing that it was hot and humid in July! She thought Birdsville was hot in April!
FollowupID: 320803

Reply By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 09:51

Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 09:51
Andrew, Gosh I didn't know I had made that big an impression on you.
Actually at the moment I'm working out our trip for next year too. I'm working on the Pilbara and planning for August September.also. My reasons for this time is being a little more southerly it may be cooler in June July and also the wildflowers will be hopefully out in force at that time. You can construe this information as an invitation if you want.
If you want more info, get back in touch.
AnswerID: 59042

Follow Up By: Graham & Ann - Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 18:54

Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 18:54
For 2005 we will be doing Kimberley area late May/June/July and then on down to the Plibara area for Aug/Sep. Hopefully getting the weather right!! before we hit Perth in Oct.
FollowupID: 320772

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 21:44

Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 21:44
Mr Lexic - you ARE Mr Big Impression.

I will get in touch about your plans - you never know coz our plans are fluid. You know us - we only need a sniff to consider ourselves invited!

Graham and Ann - your set up looks great. Might see you on the road sometime. Evernew make 'good stuff' I reckon.

FollowupID: 320804

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 21:52

Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 21:52
Sniff Sniff Sniff

Anyway, whats wrong with patients. I like playing patience
FollowupID: 320808

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 22:00

Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 22:00
.......more fun than doctors and nurses......

Might have to read up about the Pilbara - not sure what the attractions are there! Maybe a new thread (mistyped thread as threat the first time - Freudian slip??). 3 sniffs and we're in(vited).
FollowupID: 320814

Follow Up By: Jen & Geoff - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 19:53

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 19:53
Des, Notice Andrew didn't mention the fun in doctors and teachers. As kids when times were cruel, and in the name of fun, one had a big stick and the other a big needle. Thats when patience was needed.
Anyway, Andrew will let you know about the Kimberley in spring, sometime December when we get back. G&J
FollowupID: 320942

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 21:05

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 21:05
Geoff and Jen - are you going away to the Kimberley's too. What time are you guys going......been keeping this quiet!! Suppose it helps reduce my yearning to travel. I bar the big needle!

FollowupID: 320963

Follow Up By: Graham & Ann - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 21:13

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 21:13
Andrew & Jen
Agree Evernew make a pretty good van at reasonable price, lots of them travelling the outback, some many years old and still holding together. Overall our setup allows us to travel and do what we want at reasonable price. (although nothings perfect and like most things tow vehicles/van's are always a compromise).
FollowupID: 320966

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 21:20

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 21:20
Jen & Geoff. I would not have dared to play Doctors and Nurses or Teachers when I was growing up. With my luck, I would have got the old Matron wacking me with her big stick.LOL As for that Andrew, now he can be a naughty boy.
FollowupID: 320967

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 21:28

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 21:28
Ahhh yes - the good old days when you were allowed to whack naughty kids with a stick.....

I used to think that hospitals had double doors to allow beds to get through them........ but then I realised that it was for the matrons......fearsome people!! hahahaha
FollowupID: 320970

Reply By: Member - Anne - Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 10:02

Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 10:02
Hi Andrew,

We were in the Kimberley in July and in September last year. The weather was fantastic both times, but the humidity had started by September. We packed up te campertrailer in nearly 40 degree heat, with some humidity so it wasn't fantastic, but that was right at the end of September. Broome has its festivals, races etc in August, so you might think that they think its a good time of year.
We'll be there this August!

Isn't the planning fun
Anne
AnswerID: 59045

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 21:49

Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 21:49
Great to hear about your current trip Anne!! Keep it up! Thanks for reassuring us about the weather - that is how I interpret it! We will have to be back in Melbourne around the end of September so should not be too bad. We should acclimatise by the end of two months.

By the way, are you travelling with a campertrailer now - can't see any mention of it in your info.

FollowupID: 320805

Follow Up By: Member - Anne - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 10:36

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 10:36
Always glad to be of assistance!

Yes we are travelling with the campertrailer, I'll have to amend my member details won't I?

Happy travels
Anne
FollowupID: 320854

Reply By: Lynn2 - Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 10:31

Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 10:31
Andrew & Jen,

North Western Australia is covered with wildflowers in August - very spectacular - We were in the Kimberley in early September, and it was quite hot but there was plenty of water in all the creeks and even waterfalls were flowing.
AnswerID: 59048

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 21:51

Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 21:51
Reassuring to hear that there was some water still. When we went to Cape York in July 2003 it was pretty dry and we thought that it would have been better to see it with a bit more water around. Quite hot sounds not too bad!

FollowupID: 320806

Reply By: Davoe - Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 13:18

Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 13:18
last year I did the kimberlys in late april and some places were still closed such as bells gorge and mitchel falls had just been opened (king edward r 70cm approx) and this was after a quite dry wet there were a fair amount of tourists but certainly not crowded and campsites at mitchel river and manning gorge were plentifull. nights were very hot and still the grr must have been graded because it was a highway and left me wondering what the fuss was about. I guess one of the advantages of going early is you get to see the mitchell falls in reasnable flight instead of the dribble I have seen in some photos
AnswerID: 59068

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 21:52

Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 21:52
I don't mind heat during the day but I go bonkers on those hot and still nights!
FollowupID: 320809

Reply By: Member - Andrew R (VIC) - Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 18:33

Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 18:33
I'll let you know in afew months. hehehehehehehe
AnswerID: 59128

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 21:55

Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 21:55
Hi mate

You left off the bit about how many days to go. It must be getting into the low single figures by now....... too early to say au reviour (or whatever that silly french spelling is)

FollowupID: 320812

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew R (VIC) - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 05:54

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 05:54
Goodaye Andrew,

Yes, you ar correct. Only 4 sleeps to go. Only if I don't knacker myself trying to finish all the work before hand of course.
Its going to be a big week.

see ya
FollowupID: 320835

Reply By: Member - Glenn(VIC) - Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 21:45

Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 21:45
Hi Andrew & Jen,

If my plans come to fruition, and my loing service leave is approved, I too hope to be in the Kimberley region around that time. I was there in 93 and loved the Gibb River Road and all the gorges.

AnswerID: 59172

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 21:53

Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 21:53
Hi Glenn

Keep those fingers crossed - we might see you with a bit of luck!!

FollowupID: 320810

Reply By: Jen & Geoff - Friday, May 21, 2004 at 19:29

Friday, May 21, 2004 at 19:29
G'day Andrew & Jen, We are hoping to get up that way when we visit the kids in Aug/sept this year. If things ease up onthe workfront by then. we don't plan holiday dates we grab them and then buzz off. Been having some weekends away which is stirring up the travel bug no end. It is a shocking thing to have that yearning feeling 24/7. Be good G&J
AnswerID: 59615