I've gone to "Glamping" folks

Submitted: Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 07:42
ThreadID: 129895 Views:2921 Replies:6 FollowUps:3
Good morning all.
Well after using the mighty Trak Shak for the past 8 years to,explore some of this great country and, at times struggled with 1/2 an acre of wet canvas, earlier this week I finalised payment for a 2011 built AOR Quantum super camper. As you will note, it is 4 years old and has done some 35k all,over Australia but is in "as new" condition thanks to the previous owners and the service department at AOR,at Caloundra. Quite a few options to make life more comfortable with hot,water at the press of a button, diesel,heating when it is a bit chilly and reverse cycle air con if the weather should be a bit warm. Had it checked at the factory yesterday and was told,that it,is in perfect health with all factory upgrades done at the last full service.
Taking a few days to get home via Nanango (my brother lives here) and then catching up with friends at Inglewood on Monday next week before home on Tuesday.
Hope to use it as I have joined the ranks of the grey nomads a bit over a week ago. See you on the tracks

My apologies for the grammar - fat fingers on. Mini Ipad
John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

Reply By: Member Bushy 04(VIC) - Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 09:03

Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 09:03
Have a great time John and don't forget to smell the roses.
Its a big country so enjoy glamping it,.
Bushy
AnswerID: 588948

Reply By: Member - Robbie S - Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 09:03

Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 09:03
Well done John
We had a Quantum that was fantastic, 2 years ago we decided to upgrade to a "Off Road Lotus Trooper"(a bit more space and comfort). Big mistake!! Although the trooper chassi and suspension built like the proverbial brick dunny, the top is the same as a on Road van. Our fist trip it leaked dust badly after covering up all likely entry points, on returning I spent many hours sealing every likely spot, helped a bit.
The good news we were able to sell and now own a AOR Matrix (s/h but as new). Very happy??
AnswerID: 588949

Reply By: sweetwill - Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 09:37

Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 09:37
Good one John, bet you will miss folding up that half acre of canvas on the next frosty morning, enjoy your new van.
AnswerID: 588952

Reply By: Phil B (WA) - Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 09:56

Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 09:56
Hey John

Some of us would reckon the mighty Trak Shak is Glamping - lol.
Enjoy you newly found luxury.
There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 588956

Reply By: Derek Jones - Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 10:54

Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 10:54
Had a Trak Shak for 12 years. Only 'got rid of it' when the kids left home.

Might be half an acre of canvas but very quick set up/pack downs for overnights stops.
AnswerID: 588960

Follow Up By: Member - John T (Tamworth NSW) - Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 13:04

Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 13:04
Hi Derek
Mate whilst the TS was quick to setup for the overnight stop, while you are still undoing clips to open the suitcase, I'll have the Quantum open, the kitchen out with the kettle on for a cuppa and enjoying a quiet drinkers.
John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

FollowupID: 856787

Follow Up By: gbc - Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 14:13

Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 14:13
We've still got a TS. If you feel the need to reminisce I'll be only too happy to swap for a weekend or three. We are starting to look at hybrids ourselves but might be a couple of years off yet.
FollowupID: 856789

Follow Up By: gbc - Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 14:15

Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 14:15
P.S. ours is a '96 model with 'flash' upgrades like running water. It's been around the country 3 times and carried the tinny up the cape more times than that so it smells like a real one too - convinced?
FollowupID: 856790

Reply By: Kilcowera Station Stay - Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 17:30

Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 17:30
Lucky you John and well done. We have had many very happy Quantum owners here, it seems all the AOR products are very well made and have not heard a bad word about them.........Maybe the price of them! But still if they last and have good resale value you can't go wrong! Cheers Toni
AnswerID: 588978