The ultimate touring outfit

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 11, 2015 at 11:53
ThreadID: 129948 Views:5201 Replies:8 FollowUps:11
Saw what would be the ultimate touring outfit on the Bruce Hwy today, An Iveco 4WD towing a Bushtracker but on the tray of the Iveco was a nice little two seater helicopter.

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Tuesday, Aug 11, 2015 at 12:19

Tuesday, Aug 11, 2015 at 12:19
Was the numberplate BronwynB ?
AnswerID: 589117

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Tuesday, Aug 11, 2015 at 12:45

Tuesday, Aug 11, 2015 at 12:45
LIKE.

(;=))
FollowupID: 856945

Follow Up By: sweetwill - Tuesday, Aug 11, 2015 at 12:57

Tuesday, Aug 11, 2015 at 12:57
Like.,,,,,
FollowupID: 856947

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Tuesday, Aug 11, 2015 at 13:16

Tuesday, Aug 11, 2015 at 13:16
This was probably my favourite during the BB saga!

FollowupID: 856949

Reply By: Bob R4 - Tuesday, Aug 11, 2015 at 13:31

Tuesday, Aug 11, 2015 at 13:31
Pensioner power[img]
[/img]
AnswerID: 589119

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Tuesday, Aug 11, 2015 at 13:57

Tuesday, Aug 11, 2015 at 13:57
Seems to be a few of those Iveco's getting around now, Bunderdog. Haven't seen one yet with a helicopter on the back. :-). Maybe it was a gyrocopter?

Saw this example at the Big Red Bash. There were 2 Iveco's camped together. One of these was on my short list for a new 4wd. Now deleted.......didn't realise just how big they are. Capable units though, I'm sure.

AnswerID: 589120

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Tuesday, Aug 11, 2015 at 14:28

Tuesday, Aug 11, 2015 at 14:28
G'day Bob,
I reckon these are serious contenders to replace Landcruisers - specially the extended wheel base units - for outback touring.

UPSIDES (as I see them)
* Cost is similar
* GVM 2 t more than upgraded LC
* more cabin room + one more seat
* Same width so no issue like F series have
* Needs upgraded rims & tyres but then again LC would probably get the same in an upgrade
* Given the recent service to a buggered gearbox for an Iveco on the CSR, you'd have to rethink the issue where Toyotas score so well - parts/dealership coverage/seen always in the bush

DOWNSIDES (as I see them)
* Not yet proven bush reliability over 40 years
* overall height
* may be harder to get into cab
* sheer bulk

Have thought long & hard about them for a year now......just dreamin', essentially.

BTW - Have a bopeep at this site http://www.traveltrucks.com.au/

FollowupID: 856952

Follow Up By: Roachie.kadina.sa.au - Tuesday, Aug 11, 2015 at 18:22

Tuesday, Aug 11, 2015 at 18:22
Hmmm...I was curiously "keen" on the look of that buggy...until I looked into its powerplant and associated output: a 3 litre donk producing 140kW and a measly 400nM.

No thanks....!!!

I'll stick with my Silverado: 6.6 litres producing (factory; before the "chip" was fitted) 298kW and 1,037nM

FollowupID: 856956

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Tuesday, Aug 11, 2015 at 20:50

Tuesday, Aug 11, 2015 at 20:50
Roachie,

a mate of mine, highly experienced with many types of trucks, earth moving machinery & vehicles including 4WD's, drove one last year and was surprised at its performance. His issue was more with sitting over the top of the front axle and the potential discomfort.

I've recently been driving two 4wd's: a current Mazda BT 50 & a current Toyota 70 series workmate wagon. They produce almost identical power and torque figures, but they are chalk & cheese in so many other departments they are almost incomparable - until you get then in a slow desert environment like the CSR. The configuration of the 'Yota on the black top is such that it's a dog to drive; under geared, uncomfortable, hard to drive. But in the slower, rougher stuff the 'Yota is capable and good to drive.

The point I'm getting at is that it's about drive-ability not just the data that makes a vehicle and I think that's what you maybe saying with your beastie.

If I had a lazy $150 K I reckon building a outback tourer based on the Daily 4x4 platform would be a hoot - and more useful for that task than a highly modified 200 series or similar.................ahh, the pleasure of dreaming!

FollowupID: 856967

Follow Up By: Roachie.kadina.sa.au - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 05:40

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 05:40
Rick, I agree 100% with all that you have said....

FollowupID: 856972

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 18:27

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 18:27
Good analysis, Rick. Wouldn't dispute anything you've said.

The Daily's sheer bulk, and the difficulty Herself (with 2 new knees) might have getting in and out, will see us opt for a 79 series Landcruiser, with GVM upgrade. That decision might change with a Lotto win, of course. :-)

Roachie,

Your Silverado reminds me of the old "no substitute for cubes", or in your case, Newton-metres. Lots of 'em!!!

FollowupID: 856986

Reply By: ian.g - Tuesday, Aug 11, 2015 at 15:29

Tuesday, Aug 11, 2015 at 15:29
Write up on the Iveco Daily 4X4 in this months (September) 4X4 Australia
AnswerID: 589124

Reply By: Pete Mac - Tuesday, Aug 11, 2015 at 17:50

Tuesday, Aug 11, 2015 at 17:50
Wasn't me, but I've got something similar;

Iveco Daily 4x4 w/ Aerochute on tray, Towing Conqueror Commander

Definitely not in it's natural habitat but only photo at hand.

AnswerID: 589126

Follow Up By: DiscoTourer - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 22:22

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 22:22
Saw a similar combination at Auski roadhouse a month back....was it you ?

Brett....
FollowupID: 856996

Follow Up By: Pete Mac - Thursday, Aug 13, 2015 at 07:32

Thursday, Aug 13, 2015 at 07:32
Yup, that would have been me. Remember seeing a Kavango on the road also.
FollowupID: 857006

Reply By: Rangiephil - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 17:13

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 17:13
Add to the downside very poor brakes.
One of the Landrover forum blokes has one and has gone to the trouble of upgrading the brakes with bigger calipers and discs. There is an engineering firm that is now making a kit.
The poor brakes are only on the 4x4, the 4x2 has good brakes apparently.

They have good support, as a recent post about a transfer case failing on the CSR and the support crew coming out and fixing it. It raises the question of course on how many new vehicles have transfer case problems.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 589148

Follow Up By: DiscoTourer - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 22:28

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 22:28
The CSR seem to have an impact on the Iveco.
Radiators mounts on this one cracked, but they managed to do a temporary fix to continue their trip north to support 4 KTM riders.
Brett...
FollowupID: 856997

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Thursday, Aug 13, 2015 at 01:23

Thursday, Aug 13, 2015 at 01:23
The Iveco certainly looks good on paper.
Pity they are not still building OKAs though. :(

OKA196 Motorhome
AnswerID: 589171

Reply By: Slow one - Thursday, Aug 13, 2015 at 08:53

Thursday, Aug 13, 2015 at 08:53
Owner Driver have done a test in this months edition. Worth the read if you are considering one.
AnswerID: 589177