Fuel Prices

Submitted: Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 00:33
ThreadID: 12998 Views:1670 Replies:8 FollowUps:21

The Yanks are in a tizz about petrol prices. According to CNN the price of regular unleaded gasoline has hit US$2.00 a gallon across the nation. By my reckoning using an exchange rate of $1 Oz buys 68 US cents and assuming a gallon is 4.5 litres, that means they are paying about 65 cents a litre while our prices are above AU$1.00 a litre.

Boy life is tough in the states! How will they afford to run all those F350's???

Steven

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 01:08

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 01:08
Well you wont have to worry with the Playdoe, what did the w/end deliver 40 mpg? and did you get it dirty? Cheers mate see you at berri.
AnswerID: 59207

Follow Up By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 17:24

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 17:24
You guys going to Berri to , great see you there .
FollowupID: 320926

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 07:49

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 07:49
I will always remember my old man in the early seventies......."bloody petrol......when it gets to a Dollar a Gallon, I'm selling the car......"

I was then sort of hoping it would get to a Dollar, you see, I was around 15 years old at the time, and the old's used to drive around in a piece of crap Austin A 40, while all my mates dad's had cool cars.

Anyway....... here we are today paying around five dollars a Gallon, I've left home now and the old man the prick drives around in a 351 LTD!!!! Where was he ( and his car ) when I needed him the most???????

AnswerID: 59211

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 08:21

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 08:21
Geez Ian, there's a an Austin A40 nut out there somewhere who'll do a search in google..and see reference to this...and will have a fit with that description..hahaaha...
FollowupID: 320845

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 11:38

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 11:38
and the old's used to drive around in a piece of crap Austin A 40,

Like father like son.....hahahahahahahahahahaha..........
FollowupID: 320863

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 15:03

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 15:03
Geez Ian, i do feel sorry for you, when i was 15 Mums car was a beautiful 76 Ford LTD with the 351 of course, fmx, 4barrel , r&r disks etc..Leather interior and nice twin pipes.. oh yeah baby, what a machine. (sadly it suffered the bad rust under the vinyl roof that they all get, and got the arse, still miss that car :-((((( )
FollowupID: 320902

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 17:12

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 17:12
Bradley...when I was 15 my dad had a 1958 black Dodge Custom Royal....the one with the fins on the rear mudguards, with a push button auto gearbox and a 400cubic inch V8 engine(I think) and bloody hell, could it go !!!!!!!! It also had one of those Liquid Chrystal speedometers which filled the dash with a bright red colour and at 120mph at night with the white posts passing by like a picket fence it was a psychedelic experience................I remember my dad complaining that tyres only lasted 5000 miles......guess who was nicking the car late at night..............how we did not write ourselves off I do not know........but it was fun !!!!!!!!! :-) and I am still here to tell the tale..........

FollowupID: 320923

Follow Up By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 17:26

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 17:26
He ! Watch it my 2nd car was an A40 and when it died I made a profit by chargeing my mates to wreck it for me .
FollowupID: 320927

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 18:04

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 18:04
Hey my second car was an Austin A30, it die when i used it to push start my first car which was a 1953 FJ ute. Petrol was 25cents a gallon. I was very young when i started driving, naughty naughty me.

FollowupID: 320936

Reply By: Nudenut - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 07:58

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 07:58
steven,
would I be throwing a spanner into your calculations if i was to inform you that one (1) US gallon is 3.785 litres as compared to one (1) imperial gallon which is 4.546 litres.

AnswerID: 59212

Follow Up By: Member - StevenL - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 23:56

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 23:56
Thanks for pointing that out goggle-eyes!!!! Sure know how the stuff up a good story! hahahaha
FollowupID: 321005

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 09:29

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 09:29
It was $2.35 a gallon in California when I was there in 2000. But California has always been one of the more expensive states with fuel. I think I paid $1.80 per gallon in Washington State. That was for diesel!! I was driving my brothers Benz 300D. If it is a blanket $2 across the states they will be upset as it equates to about 88c/l in our money.

AnswerID: 59220

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 10:34

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 10:34
willem where do you get 88 cents from?
lets see
US$2 per US gallon
=US$2 per 3.785 litres

or US$0.528 cents per litre. At an exchage rate of cents that equates to Aus $0.776c/l
FollowupID: 320853

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 10:37

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 10:37
and cant i borrow your phone?
FollowupID: 320855

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 11:31

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 11:31
Nutty,

My bush calculations afore looking at the exchange rate which now gives a figure of $76.88..........
So you are wrong as well..............hahahahaha........Anyway I wonder what the fuel price is at Rockhampton Woolies. Probably equivalnet to $2 USgallon

You can borrow my phone as long as I go with it :-)

Bye
FollowupID: 320862

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 11:46

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 11:46
But did you allow for fees incured for exchange???

thats why my figure is a little higher Willem
FollowupID: 320865

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 12:31

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 12:31
SMART ARSE !!!!!!!
FollowupID: 320872

Follow Up By: Member - Ian M (QLD) - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 21:50

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 21:50
Guys
In the US they apply a sales tax (a la GST) to most things but it is never in the advertised price. Varies state to state but I reckon you need to add a few cents a litre. I assume it applies to fuel - seems to apply to everythig else.
Our price is bad - but been to Europe lately? We are close to the best price in the world after North America.
(Sorry if I have posted a similar post earlier - having problems!)

I would rather pay our price and have great places to go with relatively few people! I did say relatively few!

IAN
FollowupID: 320976

Reply By: Kiwi Ray - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 10:26

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 10:26
I wouldlike to know why we pay so much compared to other parts of the world.
The base price as far as I know is set by OPEC so who making the profit? Oil Co or our elected Gov
Ray
AnswerID: 59225

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 11:14

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 11:14
The government(s) state and federal, combined it is approx 55% tax what we pay for fuel.
Going to have to creat a false name and adress to avoid paying the taxs in this country soon!
What ever happened to GST removing the hidden taxs? What ever happened to ol' Johny boy when he said we would not pay taxs on taxs.

Anyone looked at their rego in detail? Stap duty .... then GST on your stamp duty.
That's a tax on a tax my friends.
Why am I still paying income tax when I'm paying GST?
Anyone smoke?, have a beer after work?? tax, tax, tax.
Will it ever end!?
My income does not go up every year with CPI (unlike the pollys), but excise (a friendly word for tax) goes up with CPI several times a year on fuel, ciggarettes and alcohol.
Why does diesel cost more than petrol when it's a bi product in the production of ULP, because it's taxed at a higher rate.
They won't need to ban bull bars or 4wds beause soon no one will be able to afford to go away for a long weekend! (unless you work in politics of course).
Anyway, enough said, I try not to think about it cos it get's me worked up! (did anyone notice?) :-)
FollowupID: 320859

Follow Up By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 12:23

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 12:23
If you think our fuel prices are high - try travelling through Europe. Say for example if you pay $100 to fill up the tank here you can expect to pay 100 pounds to fill up in the Shoe K - that about 3 times as much. And just think - there are ooodles of poms who drive those thirsty V8 landrovers.
FollowupID: 320870

Follow Up By: Davoe - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 12:33

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 12:33
yea but patrol22 unlike us they have nowhere worth going
FollowupID: 320873

Reply By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 17:34

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 17:34
Diesel prices are taxed higher by state Gov because they stopped road tax on us Truckies wich was imposible to enforce. Fuel equaliasion price is worked on the price of unleaded in singapore as explained on ABC news last night & it made no sence to me at all.
AnswerID: 59289

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 19:08

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 19:08
This is the second time i've heard it and it still does'nt make bloody sence, what the bloody hell does fuel prices in bloody Singabloodypore have to bloody do with US, soory got a bit bloody carried abloodyway.

FollowupID: 320939

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 19:29

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 19:29
We pay GST on fuel exise (tax) tell me that is not double dipping.
We export crude and gas and buy in fuel, sorry but we could be independent if we wanted to, we are being ripped off big time .
Gotta go Im getting stirred up
FollowupID: 320940

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, May 20, 2004 at 06:37

Thursday, May 20, 2004 at 06:37
Bloody hell baz take it easy before you bloody well do some damage.
I think the bloody fiuel price in singapore is just a bloody excuse.
It bloody sh-its me to

Of to bloody work now
CyC
FollowupID: 321014

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 21:17

Wednesday, May 19, 2004 at 21:17
Ah Steven to take your mind off the price of the fuel I have added mapping to the fuel prices interface on ExplorOz. You will now see ShowMe in the Map column of the fuel prices system - this links to the new ShowMe interface of our mapping engine.

NOTE: For fuel companies I can also add logos and exact mapping positions for your outlets in our mapping system.

Just wanted someone to tell I have done this. Enjoy
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

AnswerID: 59330

Reply By: Member - Bruce (San Diego) - Thursday, May 20, 2004 at 02:33

Thursday, May 20, 2004 at 02:33
Steven and all........

Current prices in San diego..........

Standard unleaded ranges $2.25 - $2.45 per liter
Premium unleaded $2.45 - $2.60
Diesel (auto use) in the last month it went from $1.80 to $2.50 liter as the government shut down a refinery for environmental reasons.
We can buy diesel for $2.12 per liter for Non Road Use

Everyone is complaining but the environmentalists still want to shut down oil fields, stop any new drilling and close refineries. Also we have special additives for summer months to stop polution.

The Yanks were spoiled too long with cheap prices, I think it will go another 25-35% higher this summer.

Bruce
AnswerID: 59365

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce (San Diego) - Thursday, May 20, 2004 at 07:34

Thursday, May 20, 2004 at 07:34
Sorry those prices are for a US gallon.

Bruce
FollowupID: 321017