Rear cargo drawers

Submitted: Thursday, May 20, 2004 at 11:39
ThreadID: 13026 Views:3002 Replies:11 FollowUps:0
Has anyone built there own rear drawers on custom made rollers
any tips for another aspiring home handy man:)

Reply By: Member - Andrew O - Thursday, May 20, 2004 at 12:51

Thursday, May 20, 2004 at 12:51
Peter,
I built a fridge slide using the rollers from a 19inch rack mounted computer server, and use Sabco drawer boxes in a ply wood cabinet (houses the fridge slide too). The boxes can then be stacked outside the car when camping, and are easily accessible in the car.

A sparky mate built his own drawers using 2 plastic angle, with spray grease between them - worked remarkably well and cost 2/5ths of bugger all!

andrew
AnswerID: 59407

Reply By: Black Stump - Thursday, May 20, 2004 at 12:53

Thursday, May 20, 2004 at 12:53
I built my draws on timber slides...1/2 " x 1 ". Was cheap and has worked well. Done plenty of trips including the Simpson.

If you want I can email a pic.

Black Stump
AnswerID: 59408

Reply By: duncs - Thursday, May 20, 2004 at 13:36

Thursday, May 20, 2004 at 13:36
I built a timber shelving system incorporating a Black Widow fridge slide. Gear is placed in plastic stackable tubs in the shelves and I can access from the back of the car or by folding the rear seats for less commonly accessed gear.

All the draws I have seen have an area at the back of the draw that you can't get gear out of without removing something else. That is a pain!! All my gear is one touch after opening the the doors of the shelving system.

I am about to get it builtout of steel and aluminium with some minor mods

The best thing about it is that it suits the gear I carry.

AnswerID: 59413

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, May 20, 2004 at 19:15

Thursday, May 20, 2004 at 19:15
I built a single drawer/fridge slide for our Patrol.
click here to go to our site and follow the links to the modifications section. There's some pics there. If you need any info on it, just leave a follow up here.
AnswerID: 59450

Reply By: Wisey (NSW) - Thursday, May 20, 2004 at 19:28

Thursday, May 20, 2004 at 19:28
Hi Peter,
I'm just building my drawer system in my hilux xcab now. Using rollers, tracks etc from a panel lift garage door system, marine ply for base and stackable plastic drawers, need to make fridge slide and small table to slide out from under floor. I can slide out the whole draw to access all the contents if required. Works well empty, yet to be loaded and tested.

Regards.
AnswerID: 59455

Reply By: rolande- Thursday, May 20, 2004 at 19:29

Thursday, May 20, 2004 at 19:29
After pricing several brands friend of mine built his own for his Prado, had sheetmetal firm fold / weld drawers then fitted himself in frame that he made, used commonly available roller bearings for it all to run. Hard to tell the difference and completed for 1/3 the price
Rolande
AnswerID: 59456

Reply By: Yarn - Thursday, May 20, 2004 at 20:45

Thursday, May 20, 2004 at 20:45
Run a search for "drawers" on this forum, there is some good info there.
Yarn
AnswerID: 59478

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, May 20, 2004 at 22:39

Thursday, May 20, 2004 at 22:39
I have rececently finished making my own draws. Has a built-in 60 l water tank, ARB air compressor, fridge slide and drawer, plus switches for my rear worklight abd a 12V outlet plug. Materials cost (for the drawers, not the accessories) was under $250 and that includes a 100kg roller slide for the draw.

Click on my rig pic (may have to refresh) and see a pic if interested.

AnswerID: 59501

Reply By: GeeVee - Friday, May 21, 2004 at 08:39

Friday, May 21, 2004 at 08:39
I used a pair of heavy duty filing cabinet runners to make my fridge slide. Built my storage system (plywood construction) a number of years ago. Still working fine!

AnswerID: 59515

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, May 21, 2004 at 11:44

Friday, May 21, 2004 at 11:44
Another option for rear storage

Also try the search function here, theres about 29020394029384029384092384029384023948 threads on this in the past!
AnswerID: 59537

Reply By: WarrenM - Friday, May 21, 2004 at 22:36

Friday, May 21, 2004 at 22:36
I am using a 2 drawer filing cabinet for storage and making a slide for fridge out of timber. There are explanations how to make slide in forum
We are covering cabinet and lining them with carpet similar to used for dashmats.
Available cheaply in WA Salvage or Bunnings.
Warren
AnswerID: 59644