Is the Arthur- Pieman area in Tassie open yet?

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 07, 2015 at 22:40
ThreadID: 130535 Views:2141 Replies:9 FollowUps:4
Trying to find any updates on the closure of these tracks. Does anyone know the outcome if any of the court case?

Reply By: vk1dx - Thursday, Oct 08, 2015 at 09:03

Thursday, Oct 08, 2015 at 09:03
You could you contact staff at Arthur River for advice on track conditions (03 6457 1225) and ask them.

I didn't read all their site but you could scan it at: http://www.parks.tas.gov.au/indeX.aspX?base=20598

Try the Balfour track while you are there. But I recommend going with at least one other car and no trailers. The water was lapping our windscreen. Good solid base to all but one crossing. Be wary of any bypass.Check them thoroughly as they can be worse than the main one.

Balfour Part 1. Water crossings start at about 2:20

AnswerID: 591340

Follow Up By: Life Member - Fred B (ex-NT) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2015 at 17:00

Thursday, Oct 08, 2015 at 17:00
Great video Phil

Fred B
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

FollowupID: 859412

Follow Up By: Member - Christine and Lindsay - Thursday, Oct 08, 2015 at 19:26

Thursday, Oct 08, 2015 at 19:26
I think you need a bigger boat !!!!
Great video.
FollowupID: 859420

Reply By: Life Member - Fred B (ex-NT) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2015 at 16:47

Thursday, Oct 08, 2015 at 16:47
Tassie P&W page:
Tassie Parks

tells all..
Fred B
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 591354

Reply By: Member - John - Thursday, Oct 08, 2015 at 17:40

Thursday, Oct 08, 2015 at 17:40
G'day, found this, not sure if any thing else is more recent? Pieman River Track Closure

AnswerID: 591355

Reply By: Member - Christine and Lindsay - Thursday, Oct 08, 2015 at 19:11

Thursday, Oct 08, 2015 at 19:11
Thanks all. We were hoping for some more recent advice but appreciate the help.
AnswerID: 591357

Reply By: rumpig - Thursday, Oct 08, 2015 at 22:27

Thursday, Oct 08, 2015 at 22:27
You could maybe try contacting the Braddon 4wd club in Tassie and ask to get in contact with Rodney about the subject. We hung out down around there with that club over New Years just gone, and i recall Rodney mentioning the injunction that had happened days earlier.... if my memory serves me correct i believe he may have something to do with the fight to reopen that area (can't remember exact details though). Either way, the guy is a fountain of knowledge on that area and was a fantastic tour guide the day he showed us around the Sandy Cape area.
AnswerID: 591361

Reply By: Member - Christine and Lindsay - Sunday, Oct 11, 2015 at 20:06

Sunday, Oct 11, 2015 at 20:06
Thanks to all of you for your suggestions.
AnswerID: 591467

Reply By: Member - Christine and Lindsay - Monday, Oct 12, 2015 at 18:59

Monday, Oct 12, 2015 at 18:59
Just got an update from 4 wd
Tasmania. The court case is happening now.
AnswerID: 591509

Reply By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2015 at 13:03

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2015 at 13:03
Okay - I'll bite. What court case?

AnswerID: 591544

Reply By: rumpig - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2015 at 14:53

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2015 at 14:53
There is a case before the court trying to gain access to areas that are currently off limits for 4wding, it looked as though we would have access to this area at the end of last year before an injunction happened a few days before Xmas. I don't know the exact specifics of the case and the area they are trying to access, but i believe after speaking to members of the Braddon 4wd club at New Years when we were down there, from memory it's South of Sandy Cape somewhere (happy to be corrected if i'm wrong).
AnswerID: 591548

Follow Up By: rumpig - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2015 at 14:57

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2015 at 14:57
I probably should say i assume that is what the O.P was asking about, as access to Balfour Track and Sandy Cape was no worries back at New Years, so i assumed they were asking about the court case in there original question.
FollowupID: 859573

Follow Up By: Member - Christine and Lindsay - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2015 at 17:08

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2015 at 17:08
Yep exactly that. Had an amazing time down there in 2010 and would love to go back there.
FollowupID: 859579