Eva cool fridges are excellant

Bought my 95 litre solid plastic with the Eva cool compressor been north and south it never misses and it's a second for a grand.

Reply By: Member - KeithB - Saturday, Oct 17, 2015 at 15:04

Saturday, Oct 17, 2015 at 15:04
Shano
I got the same fridge at the same deal and it's been faultless. It's kept things properly frozen in 38 degree heat. It's easy to clean and is not too heavy. Ten out of ten.
Keith
AnswerID: 591680

Follow Up By: mike39 - Saturday, Oct 17, 2015 at 16:29

Saturday, Oct 17, 2015 at 16:29
Most things work well when new.
I reckon the time to give an unqualified endorsement (in the case of a portable compressor fridge) is when it has achieved 20+ years of blameless performance.
mike

FollowupID: 859714

Follow Up By: Notso - Sunday, Oct 18, 2015 at 07:53

Sunday, Oct 18, 2015 at 07:53
Mine is pretty close, bought my Eva Kool in 2000, it has been faultless now for 15 years. I rang Eva Kool a year or two back and asked em if I should get it serviced. The fella said "is it still working" I said yep. He said, "Leave it alone". It's been used as a freezer it's entire life, has kept food solid frozen in temps up to 50 degrees in the Kimberleys. It has travelled the roughest roads and tracks in Aus.

I would recommend them to all and sundry!
FollowupID: 859724

Follow Up By: gbc - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2015 at 08:55

Tuesday, Oct 20, 2015 at 08:55
Mine too. It doesn't get turned off except for a quick defrost every few months. One of the first evakool's after the supakool. It's been belted and bashed and never misses a beat.
FollowupID: 859791

Follow Up By: garrycol - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2015 at 10:29

Tuesday, Oct 20, 2015 at 10:29
Well I have a 25l Eva Kool that I use for short trips and it is not all that impressive - has been reliable but uses heaps of power, is noisy, insulation is a bit thin and internal temps do fluctuate a bit.

It seems not all models are the same.
FollowupID: 859793

Follow Up By: gbc - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2015 at 11:02

Tuesday, Oct 20, 2015 at 11:02
Nor is the price - judging by the size (do they do a 25?) it won't be an RF or a FM model which are the models you pay money for and get results from. You probably get performance in line with what you paid for it. They do 5 or 6 ranges of fridges and yes, the cheap ones are rebadged chinese ones which they have started doing recently, and it will no doubt erode the brand quality that they built up over many years prior.
FollowupID: 859796

Follow Up By: garrycol - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2015 at 11:18

Tuesday, Oct 20, 2015 at 11:18
Maybe - it was not cheap but it is an Eva Kool - so not all Eva Kools walk on water.
FollowupID: 859798

Follow Up By: Batt's - Thursday, Oct 22, 2015 at 21:55

Thursday, Oct 22, 2015 at 21:55
Mike what an odd thing to say we should not endorse a 12v fridge until it is 20yrs old why is that ? If you're not aware of it technology changes so a 20 yr old fridge will most probably have different electronics etc,etc so realistically it's pointless telling someone looking for a new fridge that they should get the same one you have because it will be different. All you can really do it tell them of your experience with that product and if your happy with it.
FollowupID: 859944

Reply By: Swaggie - Sunday, Oct 18, 2015 at 13:00

Sunday, Oct 18, 2015 at 13:00
Yeah mate had my RF60l for over 8 years, even lent it to mates here and there, it hasn't missed a beat, looking to swap the thermostat to digital.
AnswerID: 591698

Reply By: Johnw72 - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2015 at 13:16

Tuesday, Oct 20, 2015 at 13:16
I also have the RF60L, had it for 2 years and it has been a great unit. I purchased it due to the flexibility of fridge or freezer or both.
AnswerID: 591766

Reply By: Batt's - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2015 at 14:26

Wednesday, Oct 21, 2015 at 14:26
Notso servicing it from my understanding is usually pulling the cover off the motor and cleaning away the dust I use a vacuum cleaner to get most of it and dip cotton buds in water to clean around the fan blades. My RF47 is 11 yrs old still work well just a bit noisier these days and I replaced the fan last year.
AnswerID: 591799