4runner losing power

Submitted: Monday, Oct 19, 2015 at 16:56
ThreadID: 130637 Views:1633 Replies:6 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived
My 1992 4 runner is losing power on hills lately. Has anyone had this problem or could advise what may be the problem please.
Back Expand Un-Read 1 Moderator

Reply By: fredwho - Monday, Oct 19, 2015 at 18:47

Monday, Oct 19, 2015 at 18:47
I had a similar problem with my '99 Hilux and needed a coil in the engine replaced. Sorry I'm not that technical!

AnswerID: 591746

Reply By: Life Member TourBoy, Bundaberg - Monday, Oct 19, 2015 at 19:15

Monday, Oct 19, 2015 at 19:15
Hi Terry, is it petrol or diesel? how many Km on the clock? original engine? filters last replaced? are you using crappy malaysian discount fuel
Cheers,
Dave
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message

AnswerID: 591747

Reply By: Member - Terry E (NSW) - Monday, Oct 19, 2015 at 19:34

Monday, Oct 19, 2015 at 19:34
Many thanks , much appreciated
AnswerID: 591749

Reply By: Member - Terry E (NSW) - Monday, Oct 19, 2015 at 19:42

Monday, Oct 19, 2015 at 19:42
Hi Dave, it is petrol, regularly serviced and both fuel and air filters replaced at regular intervals. It seems to be a problem since I last had the timing belt changed at 290,000. Now coming up to 310,000. It has never been a powerful vehicle ( seems to me the power to weight ratio was not good) It is an automatic V6 and really struggles up hills now. You have to take it out of overdrive and get a good run at a hill now and even then it hunts gears a lot. Many thanks for your inquiry.

Cheers Terry.
AnswerID: 591750

Reply By: Ron N - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2015 at 00:16

Tuesday, Oct 20, 2015 at 00:16
Terry, I'd suggest you need to have the injectors removed and cleaned and serviced.