Just joined and very happy with what I've seen.

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 18:33
ThreadID: 130760 Views:2281 Replies:11 FollowUps:10
Hi Lad's & Ladies,
Just parted with some pension funds and joined.
After researching a Simpson trip for next year I found great info here, so well done ExplorOz.

OK, a question regarding the Simpson for the experienced thrill seekers;
Background:
I have a FJ Cruiser with MT P3's and plenty of add-on's (weight)
Being a 2014 I have 159L of fuel.
Going from Mt Dare, WAA, Big Red then Birdsville.
I've been around long enough to keep the speed down.

Question:
Given I'm hearing mixed messages re fuel usage can anyone advise of their fuel experiences

Michael M40 (sorry cannot work out how to change that :)

Reply By: Kevin S - Life Member (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 18:39

Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 18:39
I can't answer your Simpson questions Micheal but I can welcome you to ExplorOz and the Forum. Membership is money well spent in my opinion.
Kevin
Kevin
It is important to always maintain a sense of proportion

2019 Mitsubishi Cross

AnswerID: 592230

Reply By: Member - Odog - Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 19:12

Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 19:12
G'day Micheal, welcome to the site, great info and knowledge from a great crowd.. I've heard you should allow double fuel usage in a petrol vehicle, can't remember where I heard it. But I'm sure someone will know from experience true figures..We are planning same trip next year, might see you on the track.. Enjoy.. Cheers Odog
Some people want it to happen, some people wish it could happen, others make it happen!

AnswerID: 592231

Reply By: Member - fawkesp - Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 19:30

Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 19:30
Michael,

My wife and I did the Simpson west to east last July (2014). We have a Land Cruiser 200 diesel and was fitted with a number of options (bull bar, large fuel tank etc) in addition to all the food, water and camping equipment.

Because of our large fuel capacity, we filled up at William Creek and made it easily through to Birdsville, where we filled again (158.5 litres).

We travelled along the French Line, WAA Line, Erabeena Track ( to the Lone Gum), Rig Road, Knolls Track, back to the French Line, then the QAA Line, Big red and on to Birdsville (and a great meal, wonderful shower and comfortable night's sleep in the Birdsville Hotel.

This was a distance of 913 kilometres and we averaged 17.35 litres/100 kilometres or 16.37 mpg.

I appreciate yours is a petrol engine, so I am not too sure how applicable our stats will be.

Peter.
AnswerID: 592233

Reply By: Michael M40 - Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 19:30

Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 19:30
Thanks Kev and I agree, what a great site

AnswerID: 592234

Reply By: Michael M40 - Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 19:32

Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 19:32
AnswerID: 592235

Reply By: Les - PK Ranger - Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 19:44

Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 19:44
April crossing last year, mates petrol '88 Pajero did it fantastically, and mostly same route you intend (we detoured down Erabena to Lone Gum, then Rig / Knolls back to FL), used 117lt.
He took 170lt, and a good idea to do this anyway, you never know what detours or turn arounds you might face.
The other factor is if done at a busy time of year (say mid June to Mid Aug, or race time early Sept) there can be incredible delays at dunes with traffic !!

On that same trip I used 107lt of diesel, so he did pretty well.

3 crossings done this year, and I am getting the hang of that place :)
Last week I filled up Innaminka, did Warburton, Rig, French Line to Dalhousie / 3 O'Clock Ck, then down Pedirka to Oodnadatta, and on to Breakaways / Coober Pedy, fuel to fuel, used 170lt, 1280km or so.
I carried 205lt for that, main LRT, aux boab, and 1 x 20lt as a precaution.

Enjoy it Michael, but be warned, going to the Simmo is very addictive.
AnswerID: 592236

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 21:11

Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 21:11
Welcome Michael. A great site with heaps of info.......if you've got plenty of time to read it all. :-)

I've just been across the Simpson with Les, last week. A Landcruiser v8 ute, fairly lightly loaded, and only about 2K clicks on speedo at the time. From Birdsville down the B'ville Track, then the Warburton Track/Rig Road/French Line to Purnie Bore, the ute used 77L. 603kms on the trip meter. Just need to adjust for the remainder of trip to Mt Dare or Oodnadatta.

Some time back, a bloke posted a video on here about his trip across the desert with his daughter, in an FJ Cruiser. Might be worth doing a search for it......sorry, can't remember his name.

FollowupID: 860361

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 21:49

Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 21:49
This is the one, on the FJ Cruiser forum . . .
Oz FJ crossing the Simpson
FollowupID: 860363

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 19:55

Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 19:55
Hi Michael and welcome.

Our diesel naturally aspirated heavily loaded Troopy goes across on the direct route (French Line) using about 120/130 litres of diesel. Depends on the day and how soft the sand is.

If you want to change your Screen Name then, on the blue bar at page top, click on "Profile", then click on "Edit Account". Scroll down to "Alias/Screen Name" and make your change. Scroll down and click on "Update". All done.

AnswerID: 592237

Follow Up By: dad1340 - Monday, Nov 02, 2015 at 07:27

Monday, Nov 02, 2015 at 07:27
Thanks again Al, the Screen Name change was embarrassingly easy following your advice.

Now 'dad1340' that I use on motorcycling forums 'dad' a nickname given to me by a mate who is 6months younger than I and '1340' the capacity of a motorcycle mine :)

dad1340
FollowupID: 860369

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Monday, Nov 02, 2015 at 07:36

Monday, Nov 02, 2015 at 07:36
Good on you Michael, just out of interest, what was wrong with Michael M40 ?
And why the initial (sorry cannot work out how to change that :) in your original post ?
Seemed like an ok sort of forum name.
FollowupID: 860370

Follow Up By: dad1340 - Monday, Nov 02, 2015 at 16:25

Monday, Nov 02, 2015 at 16:25
All good Allan, yeah the 'Michael M40' the site generated Screen Name, just sounded a bit like an ASIO file number that's all ;) A tad pedantic I suppose.
FollowupID: 860389

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Monday, Nov 02, 2015 at 16:27

Monday, Nov 02, 2015 at 16:27
Ha ha, no probs. Over & out :D
FollowupID: 860390

Reply By: Phil P - Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 19:55

Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 19:55
I did it last year in a heavily loaded 2013 Hilux (3.0L Diesel). Similar route to your plan, carried 76l plus 60l in 3 jerry cans - total of 136, used 116.

AnswerID: 592238

Reply By: Michael M40 - Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 23:00

Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 23:00
Thanks for all the help Lad's,

I think I may be 20 years late though. Seems the Simo is like the Cape these days;
bloody Pitt Street ;)

Anyhow, we are talking 5 easy days to explore with the missus really keen with the Box Brownie.

Thanks again, what a great little site !

AnswerID: 592248

Reply By: Michael M40 - Monday, Nov 02, 2015 at 06:59

Monday, Nov 02, 2015 at 06:59
Thanks Allan,
Mate, among my L/C's was an '86 HJ75 fully fitted out including Roberts front/rear Lockers (if you remember them) totally bullet proof

Thanks for the "Screen name" tip

AnswerID: 592253

Reply By: Sigmund - Monday, Nov 02, 2015 at 08:54

Monday, Nov 02, 2015 at 08:54
There's some more useful info here: http://www.mtdare.com.au/the-australian-outback/vehicle-preparation-in-the-australian-outback
AnswerID: 592258

Follow Up By: dad1340 - Monday, Nov 02, 2015 at 16:31

Monday, Nov 02, 2015 at 16:31
Thanks Sigmund, the Mt Dare site has a wealth of good information.

Out of interest it's up for sale, again. I guess living out there in the middle of January can be hard.

dad1340
FollowupID: 860391

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Monday, Nov 02, 2015 at 17:52

Monday, Nov 02, 2015 at 17:52
That's still up there on the website ?
There are new owners now, nice folk, they did a repair on my Ranger in July with the old manager, during the hand over / learning curve :)
FollowupID: 860392

Follow Up By: Member - DingoBlue(WA) - Monday, Nov 02, 2015 at 19:19

Monday, Nov 02, 2015 at 19:19
I've got a fairly hungry turbo'd 100 series at the moment and prior to that a turbo'd 60 series. Both diesels travelled Simpson, Gunbarrel, Canning Stock Route, Cape York, Gibb River Road, Connie Sue, Anne Beadell and many other tracks.
Each vehicle used a differing amount of fuel and each vehicle in our convoys had differing loads and fuel consumption so it's very difficult to compare apples with pears.
The one constant I've found is that every vehicle used roughly the same amount of fuel on the tracks as it did travelling fully loaded on the bitumen at 110kph.
I use this calculation ( plus a bit) for all of my trips and have never had a problem with being light on for fuel.
It's not very scientific, but it works for me.
Rather a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy!

FollowupID: 860401

Follow Up By: dad1340 - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2015 at 07:21

Tuesday, Nov 03, 2015 at 07:21
Hi DingoBlue,
Like you, I've done most of those tracks including some in your backyard, Kimberley's, Coburg etc but all in Diesels.
In hindsight your guide on fuel consumption (loaded @ 110 = Track consumption) rings true for me from the diesel years but Tojo would not include the V8 Diesel in my current ride, the US designed FJ Cruiser.
The electronic wizardry works well but like all Petrols, loves a drink in soft sand. (e.g. Stockton Sand Hills and Fraser Is., to a lesser extent)
Your spot on with your "not very scientific" approach mate, common sense must kick in given every track changes in characteristic (most of all sand) from trip to trip.
From info gained here I'll run the OME 159L plus 2 X 20's. I reckon that should do it with a bit left over.

Anyhow, if I run out you may have come out and get us. There will be a coldie waiting for you :)

dad1340
FollowupID: 860426