Thoughts on the new Toyota Fortuner?

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 03, 2015 at 19:20
ThreadID: 131031 Views:3399 Replies:8 FollowUps:6
I reckon its got a back end that resembles a cows ar##e

But being Toyota it will probably sell, although theres a lot to compete against these days!

Reply By: Krackers7475 - Thursday, Dec 03, 2015 at 19:58

Thursday, Dec 03, 2015 at 19:58
Axle, I went to the dealer to check one of these out .It looks like toyota has gone too far this time ,trying to sell vehicles on the brand name only.
I wanted a wagon with all the good bits that the toyota offered. What I didn't get was a flat floor when the seats were folded up or any tie down points in the luggage area. Also no lumber adjustment in any of the seats.The steering reach adjustment doesn't come out far enough for my liking.
Just a few things but enough for me to continue looking elsewhere.When I voiced my concerns, the dealer quoted $60000 drive away with towbar inc. for the GXL.When I said that will not address my cocerns,they offered the same deal on a GXL prado 2.8 L .
Krackers
AnswerID: 593356

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Thursday, Dec 03, 2015 at 20:57

Thursday, Dec 03, 2015 at 20:57
So it's like you went fishing for tuna but didn't catch one?

FollowupID: 861572

Reply By: alphamale - Thursday, Dec 03, 2015 at 20:12

Thursday, Dec 03, 2015 at 20:12
Axle, test drove the Fortuner back to back with the Prado. Chalk and cheese. Completely different experience. Fortuner felt much smaller and noisier. Better half pointed out that it's all about the "style" with the Fortuner.
AnswerID: 593357

Reply By: The Explorer - Thursday, Dec 03, 2015 at 20:44

Thursday, Dec 03, 2015 at 20:44
Best car ever built

I just ordered 3 in case they all sell out or are discontinued. Should see me through till the "end".

AnswerID: 593358

Follow Up By: axle - Saturday, Dec 05, 2015 at 22:03

Saturday, Dec 05, 2015 at 22:03
Maybe you will be able to use two of them for spare parts, and possibly keep one going some of the time! :)))).
FollowupID: 861644

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Dec 05, 2015 at 22:32

Saturday, Dec 05, 2015 at 22:32
Funny you should mention that - have had a Prado for 12 years ...no problems so far but need one of those rubber stopper things from the back door which activates the door close button. Got torn off on last trip (dont ask). If only I had a spare Prado. It would save me ordering in from spare parts, oh well that's life...:)

FollowupID: 861645

Reply By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Dec 03, 2015 at 22:49

Thursday, Dec 03, 2015 at 22:49
Got to drive one last week. A lot of people not understanding where the Fortuner fits? This is a 4WD wagon suitable for the family as well as a capable off roader and towing machine. Some people don't like the fold up rear seats, no biggie just remove them. It's personal with the Prado having a flat rear but carrying the spare on the back. (Some people don't like that either). This is a built tough true 4WD not like the soft roaders that are similar in size. I like it but have ordered the new Hilux as I need a Ute. I think this fits a market segment and you can expect the usual Toyota reliability and great re-sale value.
AnswerID: 593362

Reply By: gelatr - Thursday, Dec 03, 2015 at 23:24

Thursday, Dec 03, 2015 at 23:24
I've checked one out as a possible replacement for the wife's Rav4 which is great city car but a bit too soft for anything else. I don't mind the size of the Fortuner as a city commuter which would be part of its daily duties. It also seems to be a capable 4wd with reasonable towing capabilities.

I'd put the rear seats in the shed until I replaced it so that's not a biggie for me. I've had a Prado so been there done that. Yep I like them. Fills a niche nicely. Cheers Geoff
AnswerID: 593364

Reply By: The Bantam - Saturday, Dec 05, 2015 at 14:03

Saturday, Dec 05, 2015 at 14:03
seems to be a fairly narrowly marketed vehicle ..... diesel only ..... manual or auto and only 3 trim options .... if it is supoed to be a step up from the RAV, why is it the same price as a Prado.

Why .... just why?

I think Toyota's marketing has laid another egg.

They followed one of the best recieved Corrolas ever with that horrible Euro thing ..... Mazda never sold so many 3s

The current RAV, is a huge step backward from the previous model ...... my wife did not want one and replaced the RAV she loved with a low milage used one rather than buy the new dog. They obvioulsy arent selling because they have had a model run out on RAV ....... they never had any trouble selling every RAV they could import previoulsy.

and now this ..... why.

AnswerID: 593412

Follow Up By: axle - Saturday, Dec 05, 2015 at 21:57

Saturday, Dec 05, 2015 at 21:57
Makes you wonder mate!, My daughter just purchased a new Mazda 3Max hatch back, had the ordeal of going for a test drive with all the vehicles in that catergory, lol ! and learnt one thing, the latest corolla is as rough as guts with parthetic trim compared to Mazda,Pull the fleet sales away, and I don't think Toyo would be the sales leader in that area.

FollowupID: 861643

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Saturday, Dec 05, 2015 at 23:01

Saturday, Dec 05, 2015 at 23:01
I had a quick look around the new Fortuna while in our local Toyota dealership dropping the wife's RAV off for it's 40,000 k service. It did strike me as unusual that there was no petrol model in the lineup. Maybe there is one in the pipeline.
As far as the RAV goes, we reckon it's a great little car. The wife loves it. Only 2 years old and low k's but no problems at all so far.

FollowupID: 861646

Follow Up By: gelatr - Sunday, Dec 06, 2015 at 16:15

Sunday, Dec 06, 2015 at 16:15
I'm not sure why the current RAV is a dog. My wife's 18 month old RAV has been great as was the previous model we owned. I see plenty of them on the road as well so it's hardy been a sales disaster. I'm pretty sure they are due for an update as well.

Cheers Geoff
FollowupID: 861675

Reply By: Les - PK Ranger - Sunday, Dec 06, 2015 at 07:56

Sunday, Dec 06, 2015 at 07:56
The name is just a bit unfortunerate.
AnswerID: 593438

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Dec 06, 2015 at 19:07

Sunday, Dec 06, 2015 at 19:07
Whinge and whinge , its a Hilux with extended roofline and windows , watch and see , word is the Prado is to be discontinued .
AnswerID: 593471