Ford Ranger v mazda BT50

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 06, 2015 at 21:59
ThreadID: 131059 Views:5436 Replies:8 FollowUps:4
Been a bit of discussion re these two 4x4s on the forum, can anyone list the actual differences between the two in the top spec diesel models.

cheers Graeme

Reply By: mountainman - Monday, Dec 07, 2015 at 02:46

Monday, Dec 07, 2015 at 02:46
My best mate tried both.
Basically it came down to price for him.
ford...wanting to charge a arm and a leg on the options picked.
Mazda was HEAPS cheaper...he couldnt walk away soo he bought the bt-50
AnswerID: 593487

Reply By: Member - tazbaz - Monday, Dec 07, 2015 at 09:36

Monday, Dec 07, 2015 at 09:36
The Ranger is for men, the BT for girlies - that's the essential difference!
AnswerID: 593494

Follow Up By: Member - mark D18 - Monday, Dec 07, 2015 at 16:52

Monday, Dec 07, 2015 at 16:52
Hey tazbaz
Both are softer 4x4 vehicle's ( and they are all most people require ) So the man vs Girlie thing is a real laugh.
FollowupID: 861728

Reply By: Member - Wildmax - Monday, Dec 07, 2015 at 10:02

Monday, Dec 07, 2015 at 10:02
I doubt the two previous replies are much help to you.....!
Really, the only way to do this comparison thoroughly is to go on line or call in to dealerships and get the full spec sheets for each vehicle, and then take the time go through them line by line to make your comparisons.
Also, there are various comparative reviews published on line which compare the full range of models of dual cab utes, which give you the opinions of motoring writers - some more useful than others.
But really you need to drive the thing in the conditions you are planning to purchase it for - world of difference between towing a small caravan on the bitumen to towing a camper trailer across the Simpson desert.
AnswerID: 593496

Follow Up By: Hoyks - Monday, Dec 07, 2015 at 21:26

Monday, Dec 07, 2015 at 21:26
If my link doesn't work, go to carsales.com and pick the models you want to compare. The internet is a wonder!
The BT50 will have (slightly) firmer suspension, but it can also carry a larger load. One thing that most don't find out until after you buy one is that the service interval for the Ford is 15000km and the Mazda is 10000km

http://www.carsales.com.au/car-research/compare-details.aspx?csn_tn=true
FollowupID: 861740

Reply By: Notso - Monday, Dec 07, 2015 at 10:25

Monday, Dec 07, 2015 at 10:25
The two vehicles are basically mechanically identical. There are minor panel differences and Trim Levels are quite different. The BT50 has always had harsher suspension than the Ranger but I believe the new BT has been changed to be a bit more compliant like the Ranger as far as suspension is concerned.

The ford owners will tell you the Mazdas are not as good as the Ranger and the Mazda owners will tell you the ford is over priced, so Research, Research, Research!
AnswerID: 593498

Reply By: Les - PK Ranger - Monday, Dec 07, 2015 at 12:28

Monday, Dec 07, 2015 at 12:28
But the Mazdas have those butt ugly tail lights and headlights !!
Like Ken and Barbies shaggin wagon !!

(The new Triton tail lights are also going that ugly way.)
AnswerID: 593508

Follow Up By: garrycol - Monday, Dec 07, 2015 at 13:12

Monday, Dec 07, 2015 at 13:12
Have to agree - the Mazda is ugly where the Ford is at least easier on the eyes.

It is amazing how what is basically the same vehicle can look so different.
FollowupID: 861712

Reply By: Gary W7 - Monday, Dec 07, 2015 at 17:10

Monday, Dec 07, 2015 at 17:10
Went for a test drive today in a Freestyle Cab, tray backed auto. Price around $ 43,000- on road with a towbar. Still waiting for a quote from Ford on a Ranger however they can only apparently sell me a manual. Would expect the Ford to be about $5000- dearer even though it is a manual. Both of these vehicles are the poor persons variety and not what your question was all about, however the substantial price difference would hit me in the eye straight up.

Would buy a Toyota but they won't do auto or (I think) a tray back in the SR extra cab with a 2.8 motor
AnswerID: 593520

Reply By: Supersi - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2015 at 04:21

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2015 at 04:21
I owned until July 2015 a PX Ranger Wildtrack, 2013 model. Sold it (didn't need the dual cab, and high km for age) and replaced with a new BT 50 XT cab chassis (MY16), this is the base model, freestyle cab. Both 3.2lltr diesel. Both are/were good vehicles.

My observations;
Wildtrack leather seats uncomfortable, BT 50 seats are great, very comfortable
Suspension, Wildtrack was harsh and I found "skipped" on bumps/corragations, was a real issue for my wife in the passenger seat. Bt50, prior to delivery replaced with ARB suspension which is really good, can't compare to the Ranger as it is so much better.
Headlights, both the Ford and BT50 standard headlights are poor, driving lights help sort that out.
Interior, the Wildtrack had more gadgets, the BT50 is more basic but fine for me
In the spec level I was looking for when purchasing the BT price was the driver in what I perceive are the same vehicle, plus when comparing freestyle cab chassis Ford/Mazda the the BT comes standard with a rear diff lock.
As mentioned before service intervals are 10k on BT vs 15k on the Ranger.
AnswerID: 593540

Reply By: noggins - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2015 at 09:08

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2015 at 09:08
Underneath they're basically the same except the Ranger has a beefed up chassis.( according to the Ranger - BT specs I read some time ago )
Heavier grade steel and a bit more bracing,
The BT flexes a bit more than the Ranger which can be either an advantage or disadvantage depending on what your carrying.

Ron
AnswerID: 593549

Follow Up By: Supersi - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2015 at 21:49

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2015 at 21:49
From my experience/observation from owning both there is no difference in the chassis/flex between BT and ranger, - both from same factory.
FollowupID: 861847