solar panel on front of van

I have a Galaxy caravan and wanting to know if it's advisable to fit a solar panel on the front metal awning of the window. The panel is 9.5kg. I like the idea of the awning as it can be used clipped down while traveling and swung out if required. Has anyone done this?
Back Expand Un-Read 1 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2016 at 20:32

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2016 at 20:32
The awning that covers the front window is there to protect the window from stones etc while driving. I think the solar panel may suffer from said stone strikes.
Would the struts and hinges be capable of handling the extra weight, after all I think they would only be designed to support the weight of the awning.
AnswerID: 594556

Reply By: Member - Broodie H3 - Thursday, Jan 07, 2016 at 12:45

Thursday, Jan 07, 2016 at 12:45
Hi Geoff,
I am no expert in the area of solar panels , and I do believe that if you put a glass on a window protector don't you think you may run the risk of a rock or some other foreign object coming off your wheels and damaging your solar panel, because that is what the window protector is there for, now if for a temporary arrangement like remove it while travelling, and affix it while camped up that may have some merit but permanent fixture, I am not so sure.
that is my 20 cents worth, goodluck.
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Position  Send Message

AnswerID: 594579

Reply By: TomH - Thursday, Jan 07, 2016 at 13:11

Thursday, Jan 07, 2016 at 13:11
Not the brightest of ideas to put a glass panel on an awning that is put there to protect another panel of glass. Think about it.
AnswerID: 594580

Reply By: Member - Milton477 - Friday, Jan 08, 2016 at 02:00

Friday, Jan 08, 2016 at 02:00