Canberra Caravan Parks

Looking to take the good lady and camper trailer to Canberra for a few nights in Feb. Plan on staying in a Caravan Park for 3 nights before heading out to Wee Jasper and on through the Brindabellas. On checking out the Parks in our Country's Capital they either want telephone numbers for a gravel site or have reviews that are not inspiring.Can any of our learned people on the forum make a recommendation of a clean and comfortable park in Canberra.

Reply By: Harry C - Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 08:33

Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 08:33
EPIC stands for Exhibition Park In Canberra central to everything.
The windscreen is a travelling picture show

AnswerID: 595308

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 08:46

Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 08:46
Harry, have you tried doing a search on EPIC?
Ron, use this link Camping at Exhibition Park in Canberra. Use the links on the RHS for more info, particularly the one "Events at EPIC" to see if they have closed the camp ground for a major event at the propose time. There are plenty of user reports here.

FollowupID: 863955

Follow Up By: Harry C - Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 09:01

Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 09:01
We have stayed there before and found it nice and handy to all the places you could be wanting to visit. (War Museum both Houses of Parliament The Mint Telstra Tower to name a few. And not overly expensive.

Cheers Harry.

FollowupID: 863957

Follow Up By: Member - ACD 1 - Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 10:39

Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 10:39
We stayed at E.P.I.C. when we were in Canberra.

It is definitely a no frills park - it was built for exhibitors to stay at when using the Exhibition Centre. It has good ablutions (old, but very, very clean and plenty of hot water) and a laundry (again very clean with heaps of line space).

As we were doing a lot of touristy things (Mint, Museums, Paliarment Houses and the War Memorial - 3 times because there is so much to see) it suited us to the ground. Of the road and out of the way with heaps of EPIC staff keeping an eye on things.

Also very Quiet at night and central to all things Canberra. It will be our first choice when we go back.

Anthony
FollowupID: 863963

Reply By: Geoff K4 - Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 09:13

Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 09:13
Not sure of the current name but one we have always stayed at was called White Ibis Holiday park.
Pub just down the road on the hill. I think it is not really in ACT it's just over the border.
AnswerID: 595309

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 10:20

Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 10:20
It's now Capital Country Holiday Village. Have a look at the travellers reports What Badger Reports have to say That park and Eaglehawk are both just in NSW See this map of parks in and around the ACT. This map will allow you to select a park convenient to where you will be frequenting in ACT.

FollowupID: 863962

Reply By: Member - John and Lynne - Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 10:43

Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 10:43
We always stay at EPIC (the showground). It is quite close to town, supermarkets etc, reasonably priced and well run with fairly spacious sites. There is an excellent bus service at the gate which saves a lot of hassle parking at key attractions. The Saturday Market is also held at the Showgrounds and is not to be missed!
You cannot book ahead. It is a matter of pulling up at the office by the gate, paying your money and going off to choose a site so it is worth getting there before lunch. First in best dressed. However we have never had a problem getting a comfortable site.
You do need to check whether the campground is open as it closes for some major events.
JohnandLynne
AnswerID: 595315

Reply By: Member - Outback Gazz - Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 11:08

Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 11:08
There's a "free camp" just opposite Old Parliament house - no powered sites but has a lovely green lawn, close to everything and you can have a campire burning even on total fire ban days apparently !

Happy and safe travelling

Gazz
AnswerID: 595318

Follow Up By: Member - tazbaz - Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 11:56

Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 11:56
You would have to be a prime c...t
FollowupID: 863969

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 12:02

Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 12:02
That's a bit harsh mate - obviously you don't have a sense of humour !!!!

Gazz
FollowupID: 863971

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 12:04

Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 12:04
tazbaz has a valid point.

FollowupID: 863972

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 12:14

Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 12:14
Geez - another one without a sense of humour.

What's this once great country coming to ? I must be one of the dying breed of people with a sense of humour !

Gazz
FollowupID: 863975

Follow Up By: Ron A - Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 13:33

Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 13:33
This sounds like a good option. We didn't think there would be any free camps in Canberra. We can live without power and have a portable shower. Does the camp area have flushing or drop toilets? Are pets permitted as we plan on getting around a bit and may take our Rottweiler to guard our gear whilst we are away from camp.
FollowupID: 863980

Follow Up By: Harry C - Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 13:33

Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 13:33
What's a prime c...t ????? is that a term you can use from the high moral ground.

Cheers Harry.

FollowupID: 863981

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 13:57

Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 13:57
G'day Ron

Good to see you saw the funny side to my post ! I was pretty sure that anyone with a modicum of intelligence would know about the tent embassy and I was just trying to put a bit of humour in a waaayyyy too serious world.

I lived in Canberra for 7 years and there is quite a bit to see and do there depending on what you are interested in. Only a couple weeks ago I was there again and for the first time did a tour of the Old Parliament house which I found way more interesting than the tours of the modern version - worth a look I say !

I think, as mentioned - EPIC is probably your best bet re: caravan park.

Enjoy your stay there

Gazz
FollowupID: 863983

Follow Up By: Member - David M (SA) - Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 20:09

Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 20:09
Just the type of response you would expect from an owner / operator.
Dave.
FollowupID: 864006

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 23:01

Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 23:01
G'day Dave

Could you please enlighten everyone with the reasoning behind your comment ?

Gazz
FollowupID: 864009

Follow Up By: Member - David M (SA) - Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 08:45

Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 08:45
G'day Gazz.Comment was in reply to tazbaz. Surprised Mods did not jump on it.
Cheers,Dave.
FollowupID: 864015

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 10:54

Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 10:54
G'day Dave

Not a problem mate - water off a ducks back to me !!

Happy and safe travels

Gazz
FollowupID: 864023

Reply By: Member - Odog - Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 18:54

Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 18:54
Why not try the Queanbeyan council caravan park, next to the river, two minute walk from Coles or woollies, and club and pubs.. Never stayed there my self, but live other side of the Main Street.. 10 minutes from war memorial, Parliament House, national gallery and questacon.. Hey! It's on the best side of Canberra! That will get a few people going, I'm sure! Used to be called struggle town.. Ain't no more! If you like a feed and a beer, all the pubs have been refurbished, and are pretty flash.. Enjoy your stay, with where ever you decide on.. Cheers Odog
Some people want it to happen, some people wish it could happen, others make it happen!

AnswerID: 595340

Reply By: Ron A - Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 20:52

Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 20:52
Thank you all for the suggestions and recommendations. We have taken them as well as many other online reviews on board.

We are thinking along the following lines:-
1. Capital Country Holiday Park
2. Queanbeyan Riverside Park
3. EPIC
4 Free Camp at Parliament House
and have decided that we will not forward book but arrive early enough to check each one out on arrival in Canberra.

Thanks again and we will report back on our final decision.
AnswerID: 595408

Reply By: 999 - Wednesday, Jan 27, 2016 at 15:28

Wednesday, Jan 27, 2016 at 15:28
Ron,

Unless you really want to be in Canberra you cannot go past the Gundaroo Rec ground, 30KM north, PO, cafe, shop, pub and eateries within walking distance. Assume if you have a camper you have a shower etc and toilets are provided, not flash but real cheap, quiet and the locals are very friendly. If you do take my suggestion, happy to talk you through the "Scenic Route" to Wee Jasper and some Brindies tracks that will be of interest.

Gazza
AnswerID: 595499