Old Troopys very popular

We are moving to a smaller place and amongst other things decided the dear old 1994 HZJ75 troopy, which was set up for remote travel, had to go. I advertised on Exploroz and Gumtree and sold it within 24 hours. Talking to those who enquired it was clear many wanted older vehicles, not just because they were cheaper, but because they are simpler and judged to be more reliable.

Our troopy never let us down on many trips, some into the most remote parts of the world. Even though it had done 376,000km I would have set off the next day to anywhere. I reckon it has several hundred thousand km before any major repair is needed provided it is looked after by the new owner. I serviced it regularly, did 5000km oil changes and replaced anything that looked worn.

Vale troopy
Back Expand Un-Read 2 Moderator

Reply By: Top End Az - Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 19:35

Saturday, Jan 23, 2016 at 19:35
I've always loved the Troopys. Just wish they made them with 4 doors.
AnswerID: 595341

Follow Up By: mountainman - Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 06:14

Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 06:14
AND .coil suspension and be perfect !!!!!
FollowupID: 864012

Follow Up By: Member - Alastair D (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 07:26

Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 07:26
The trouble with having 4 doors is that what is left is not long enough to stretch out when sleeping unless the wheelbase is lengthened a lot. I am surprised that there are not more of the 4 door LC utes with a cabin rear on the road but I suspect the inside dimension is the problem.

The later model troopy did have coil front springs and it certainly made the ride better. They retained the rear leaf springs which I think handle load better than coils.
FollowupID: 864013

Follow Up By: passionfruit - Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 11:52

Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 11:52
If it had a 'gull wing' on the passenger side at the rear it would be the answer to getting access to all your gear from the rear.Glenn.
FollowupID: 864025

Follow Up By: Life Member TourBoy, Bundaberg - Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 15:29

Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 15:29
3 Doors are just as good, better for the family, more room and better off road than the 100 series IFS
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

FollowupID: 864035

Reply By: Life Member-Doug T NSW - Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 08:38

Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 08:38
My 1994 Troopy is about to click over 800,000, still original Diffs and Uni joints, Gearbox was repaired in Mt Isa 2005 , towing 84 tonne didn't help. Transfer Case repaired and overhauled 2006 at Gosnells Toyota in WA, , 2 starter motors replaced, the last one was 3 weeks ago. like it's owner it retired from active work in 2007 but did a short job From Katherine to Adelaide River 14 ?February ?2012, so when you ever get to the Adelaide River Rail Station museum you'll know who helped get the house there....lol

When the old girl finally dies I'll get a normal small car, it will be retired to the farm here at Orange.

AnswerID: 595356

Follow Up By: Member - Alastair D (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 08:53

Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 08:53
I think many troopys like yours and mine have lived interesting lives. I would have liked to keep mine but space did not allow. I hope the new 'young' owner treats it well. He is a surfer type just wanting to get to out of the way beaches and camp in the back. My fear is that he will flog it on the hwy due to the impatience of youth.
FollowupID: 864016

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 11:05

Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 11:05
'
I really could not see myself and Roz exploring the back blocks of Australia in anything other than the Troopy. It is 2002 naturally aspirated and having needed to repair a couple of things remotely I am glad that it has no Engine Management System where a minor fault could leave us marooned.
Of course we pay the price in highway performance but at 80-90kph we get to view the country better.

FollowupID: 864024

Follow Up By: mountainman - Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 12:07

Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 12:07
A 1HDT bolts straight in ;-)
Give you the mumbo to tear up the road and dirt grumbo
awesome power upgrade
FollowupID: 864085

Follow Up By: Life Member TourBoy, Bundaberg - Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 12:25

Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 12:25
Good luck finding a 1HD or 1HD-FTE. All the grenade owners are retrofitting them into their pootrolls.
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

FollowupID: 864091

Follow Up By: mountainman - Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 13:04

Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 13:04
Got the 1HDT sitting in the shed...
wont find a motor by sitting on exploroz all day ;-)
Always see them coming up on gumtree.
plenty of wrecked or rolled 1HD FTE complete wagons going through the auctions, (pickles)
or ex mine utes with stuffed bodies..

bit like finding a h55 gearbox for the right price where MOST OF them, the gearbox shop funds his retirement off one box overhaul...
And only warranties it for 12mnths 20K at the most...
and you turbo it....warranty void....JOKE

just have to do your research :-)
FollowupID: 864093

Reply By: Member - Alastair D (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 17:27

Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 17:27
It seems that like many vehicles the Troopys have a very loyal following.

I have a 2004 HDJ100 which is very comfortable and is definitely the best tow vehicle I have ever owned and it will see me out. We have done some serious 4wd work in it but for a long trip into the remote areas I would take the old troopy any day.

I agree with Allan about the lack of electronics being a big plus even though we pay a penalty in hp and fuel consumption. We also tend to travel along slowly and on the few times we have ever travelled in a group, annoy the hell out of people by stopping to look at plants, animals and strange rocks they have never seen at their furious pace. We rarely have fixed deadlines, even when we were working and had fixed end dates I never liked setting targets for the day. We stopped when the time came, unless it was not suitable.

I suspect that a modern troopy would be a very good compromise between having 2 vehicles like us but it just worked out like that. I now have an expedition vehicle built on an Isuzu NPS300 4wd truck which is nearly finished and will be our home for some of the time until the new house is finished. I am quite sure we will not take it to the sorts of places we went in the troopy. The problem is the ground seems lower down, harder and the hinges don't work like they used too !!!!!

We decided we needed to have some creature comforts otherwise we would not travel. I have got a bit carried a way however - all electric, no gas, lots of solar panels, winch both ends, spare wheel lift and lots of water with a shower & toilet.

AnswerID: 595376

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 19:46

Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 19:46
This is what an old Troopie looks like....

AnswerID: 595406

Follow Up By: ian.g - Tuesday, Jan 26, 2016 at 08:40

Tuesday, Jan 26, 2016 at 08:40
Now that's what a proper old troopie should look like, even got a sun visor.
Cheers Ian
FollowupID: 864127

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Tuesday, Jan 26, 2016 at 08:46

Tuesday, Jan 26, 2016 at 08:46
Everybody, but everybody, had a sun visor back in the 50's and 60's. Great idea.
Thought of putting one on my Troopy but it might put it over the GVM limit. lol
And interfere with the GPS.

FollowupID: 864128

Follow Up By: ian.g - Tuesday, Jan 26, 2016 at 11:33

Tuesday, Jan 26, 2016 at 11:33
The speed the new ones get to would likely tear them off unless you had one of them fancy mesh ones
Cheers Ian
FollowupID: 864139

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Tuesday, Jan 26, 2016 at 12:01

Tuesday, Jan 26, 2016 at 12:01
Yep, had one of those. 1980 from memory. Those of you who owned or had experience with a 2H non turbo diesel and remember them had being a little slow obviously never experienced the wonders of travel in a vehicle weighing around 3 tonnes all up and powered by a H diesel engine. That wonder of engine design was never known as a 1H.
No need to worry about the lack of a 5th overdrive gear. The dear old thing got the gear stick and the left leg of the driver worn out just trying to keep up with a fit cyclist using the 4 gears......LOL.

Actually a set of decent tyres at low pressure and even deep WA beach sand in summer, whilst a steep learning curve, could be conquered.

FollowupID: 864142