Who Needs MaxTrax

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 15:14
ThreadID: 131447 Views:3458 Replies:8 FollowUps:14

Some of you may have seen this, but it is new to me..

So Who Needs MaxTrax

The only problem, who carries a piece of wood plank with them.

Reply By: Gramps - Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 15:19

Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 15:19
As long as the mud came before the evening fire, OK :)

AnswerID: 595369

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 15:22

Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 15:22
Shepherds, this is just as good, very ingenious, regards, Michael

http://youtu.be/mHyHlLTlP4A

AnswerID: 595370

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 15:24

Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 15:24
And their skirts don't seem to get in the way!!

FollowupID: 864034

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 15:29

Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 15:29
Hi Michael

I kept watching and another one that would be very interesting is the Trac Grabber

trac grabber

Now they look very interesting

FollowupID: 864036

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 23:53

Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 23:53
'
Hi Stephen,

Back in the Cortina days Roz and I went Sunday driving in the Mt Lofty Ranges. Encountered a dead end wet unsealed track and no way could we get up out of there. Had some rope in the boot and laced it around the tyre on each driving wheel. Just drove straight out. Considered myself a tad better than Einstein!

Well if you keep watching your videos, number five did just that. I reckon I was first though.
Video number six is, err, interesting too. lol

FollowupID: 864074

Reply By: Ron N - Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 15:44

Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 15:44
Anyone who has ever had anything to do with bulldozers, knows about the "tying a log to the tracks" trick, to get out of hopeless bogs.

I've got bulldozers out of mud so deep, it covered the floorplates!

When I was contracting with dozers we always kept a good supply of 1/2" steel wire rope on hand, cut to the right length, to slip through the tracks and around a decent size log.

When a dozer sank to the makers name, it was then only a matter of sourcing a suitable tree (whitegum was good and handy, most of the time where I worked), chainsawing it down, cutting it to length (about a metre longer than the tracks were wide) - digging enough of a trench to slide the log in behind the dozer - tying it to the tracks with the cable - and applying steady power!

It was very rare that a log failed to get the dozer out in one go - although a couple of times we needed a couple of logs in a very bad bog.

When the log appeared at the front of the dozer, it was only a matter of swinging a 14lb sledgehammer to cut the cable where it ran over the sharp edge of the grousers.

Sorry - no pictures! I lost them all in a house fire in 1982!

AnswerID: 595373

Reply By: Idler Chris - Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 15:55

Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 15:55
Don't you carry a bit 6 by 4 to keep Fiona in check? lol
What other people think of me is none of my business.
Do unto others what you would have them do unto you.

AnswerID: 595375

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 18:51

Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 18:51
Hi Chris

I do, but she uses it to keep me in check.....lol

FollowupID: 864049

Reply By: Member - Will 76 Series - Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 21:25

Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 21:25
Is there a 4wd out there not sporting a shiny orange, red or pink max track they are the in thing in 4wd accessories and look great on the roof rack.
I still use a snatch strap or winch.
AnswerID: 595386

Follow Up By: Member - Wildmax - Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 23:28

Sunday, Jan 24, 2016 at 23:28
If you haven't got another vehicle then the snatch is no good; and if you haven't got a tree the winch is no good............but my Maxtrax definitely are not shiny !!
FollowupID: 864072

Follow Up By: GREG T11 - Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 21:21

Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 21:21
That is so true in some scenarios. Not long ago I passed a newish 4wd on the way back from the sunny coast, fully kitted out with every conceivable extra. Even the long handle shovel was perfect.

Must have been a shakedown run before school starts .
FollowupID: 864110

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 21:33

Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 21:33
'
And Will, a winch on the front bar with a little colourful red tag as a highlight looks great too.

Do you reckon he should kick the shovel around the paddock for a bit Greg?

FollowupID: 864111

Follow Up By: Member - MARIC - Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 22:13

Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 22:13
Alan, nahh he can bring the new shovel to our farm in the Porongurup's and we can shovel some sheep and cow bleep to sell ;o)) should give it the "real" farm look and smell lol
It is only when you see mosquito land on your testicles that you find another way to solve problems without violence

FollowupID: 864116

Reply By: Ron N - Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 00:19

Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 00:19
The U.S. Field Manual (link below) was compulsory reading for every GI who got licenced to drive any of Uncle Sams wheeled or tracked machines!

It's dated 1962 - but it dates back to before WW2 - and every basic piece of advice in it, is just as relevant today, as it was in the early 1940's! (well, apart from distributors and carburettors!).

The American military manuals are nothing short of first class in their coverage, their clarity of descriptions, and their diagrams.

See pages 46 & 47 - 85 & 86, as well as page 92 - just to see, that nothing is new under the sun!

U.S. Army Field Manual - Vehicle Recovery

AnswerID: 595390

Reply By: Phil B (WA) - Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 09:22

Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 09:22
Interesting and worth keeping in mind.

But not sure how the plank would have gone here, we had water and mud all around us - got caught by a massive downpour - blue skies and within mins a waterfall. My Cruiser was 100 meters further back and totally bogged.

Marooned for three nights.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 595392

Follow Up By: Member - ACD 1 - Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 10:50

Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 10:50
But look how clean those Moleskins are! LOL

Anthony
FollowupID: 864079

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 22:20

Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 22:20
Hi Phil

Yes I know just how easy that can happen. I see you were using MaxTrax. How did you find them. The last time I had a great mud bog, I found them very helpful. Unlike your nice clean friend, my mud recovery cloths were just a t shirt and jocks and nothing else.

I hate mud recoveries with a passion, give me clean dry sand anytime.

FollowupID: 864117

Follow Up By: Phil B (WA) - Tuesday, Jan 26, 2016 at 10:55

Tuesday, Jan 26, 2016 at 10:55
Hi Anthony
You should have seen the moleskins about 30 mins later - lol.

Hi Stephen,
I found the MaxTraks the best around bog mat and I've been asked by suppliers to try all manner of devices some totally hopeless like gritted boards, 'plastic' washboard like boards etc.

There was a severe bog on the CSR (last season I think it was) and after finally getting there behile out the dug down and pulled out their MaxTrak but it didn't look like theirs (had a rope attached or such) Digging more found theirs - they drove off with a spare - lol.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

FollowupID: 864136

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 23:27

Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 23:27
Was looking for some other photos tonight, Stephen, and found this. Maxtrax wouldn't have been much good.........it was taken in April, 1984!

Can't recall exactly, but think they left the 2 vehicles for a couple of days to dry out and drove them straight out.

On this same stretch of road, back in 1974, there were a number of station vehicles bogged. One of the ringers was keen to get out(He'd called into the station to see the manager for a couple of days, and was caught there for 3 months!!!)so he took the station Massey-Ferguson tractor down to remove a couple of blackfellars cars out of a swamp. Bogged the tractor, so he walked home, and he & I took the stock camp truck down, and promptly bogged the truck before we'd even hooked up to the tractor.

Walked home again, and got the bore truck next. A V8 Dodge that had heaps of grunt....... be no worries to pull both the tractor and truck out. Yeah, well, that was the plan, but truck with plenty of grunt = heavy vehicle, and bogged it, probably where these 2 are, in the photo above.

No worries, we said, after walking back to the station again. We'll just get the Cat grader, it's got bogey drive, and goes almost anywhere! All 12 tonne of it! Might have gone anywhere in average years, but 6 weeks into the '74 Wet, the trusty yellow beast got to the edge of the red country, and promptly dropped onto the tandem boxes..........so we walked home again.

AnswerID: 595421

Follow Up By: Gramps - Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 23:34

Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 23:34
Hahaha what was that definition of insanity again :)

FollowupID: 864122

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 23:42

Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 23:42
"No brain, no pain" comes to mind, Gramps. :-))

FollowupID: 864123

Follow Up By: Ron N - Tuesday, Jan 26, 2016 at 10:38

Tuesday, Jan 26, 2016 at 10:38
Gee, you were a bit of a slow learner there, Bob!
A couple of long walks is generally enough to give most people the message! LOL

FollowupID: 864132